You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: First Algonquin Trip with my Girlfriend

in #nature6 years ago

This trip would be great for a youngin' :) Over the years, I've seen quite a few familys out there with young kids. The travel time from start to the island was maybe... 3 hours? give or take. And it's through ontario parks, since algonquin is actually a provincial park. So in the backcountry, you reserve the lake. If there are say 10 spots on the lake, you can go to any one. It's just a way to prevent 20 people trying to camp on a lake with 10 sites. Unless on a May 24 weekend or something like that, I rarely see a lake full. Thanks for reading :)

Sort:  

and haha yes there are bears, although they keep to themselves.. I have never come seen a bear in the 12 or so trips that I've done in the park, but have come across fresh looking tracks. The threat of bears was why my girlfriend wanted to stay on an island haha. They can swim, but this island was pretty far from land.

Thanks for all those info. I have been to Algonquin couple of times , but not to back country. But definitely want to go backcountry. May be for a start , I would like to try a one hour paddle to camp site if there is such an option and stay for a night or two. This will give me an idea on what to expect , how my kido will adapt. And next trip can be a longer one based on that. May be you could help me plan it out for coming summer. Are you on steemit.chat ? Bears- After seeing the movie backcountry its kind of scary :) , but I am not backing out. Also have you done any camping in winter in any of Algonquin parks backcountry/frontcountry ?

Oh yes there are plenty of easy trips like that. You have many options. You could stay on the same lake that you would depart from. It would be safer because if anything went wrong, you are very close to the Ontario Parks staff who work at the permit offices. I am not on chat, but have been meaning too. I’d be more than happy to help you :) Yes the movie backcountry is scary haha. But if you’re doing an easy trip and not going deep into the park, you will be around other campers on different parts of the lake which makes you feel safer. And no I have not winter camped before. I want too. But all of my gear is for the summer. I would need a different tent, sleeping bag, a sled to pull my gear, etc. one day I will do it when I have enough money ha ha !!

I see , thank you. I also have only summer gears, but I badly want to do a winter camping !