Free as a Bird - Accidental Symbolism in At Tiri, Lebanon

in #nature6 years ago

This is one of the strongest photos I've ever managed to capture with my modest skills.

Sitting bored in guard duty in the dusk of Southern-Lebanon, I was randomly pointing my camera towards everything around me, in order to pass time.

Birds generally prefer to live close to our camp, because hunting wasn't allowed in proximity of military bases. I noticed a couple of birds sitting close to my guard post on the barbed wire. I'm not an expert in bird's behaviour, but my impression was one of the birds was performing a mating ritual, by flying imposing patterns around the other bird.

There is something peaceful and encouraging in a bird - symbol for freedom, flying through some barbed wire - symbol for oppression
IMG_2182.JPG

A quick point-and-shoot did the job, and if I'd ever had to develop a photo-portfolio (not generally asked in financial industry), I'm sure this would be the cover photo of it.

Sort:  

This shot is very minimalistic and beautiful! At first I thought the bird was stuck in that wire and felt kinda sad but luckily it wasn't.

" I was randomly pointing my camera towards everything around me, in order to pass time."
I feel like the best photos are usually captured by accident, so keep doing what you do!

Congratulations @velihenrik! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @velihenrik! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!