A plant that looks like wool (Eriophorum angustifolium)

Dear Hiveans! In my article today, I would like to introduce you to a very interesting plant in my eyes which bears the name cottongrass (Eriophorum angustifolium) and grows in the northern hemisphere. What is directly noticeable in the pictures, one of the main characteristics of this plant is that the fruits and flowers are provided with hairs that look like wool.

IMG_7751.jpeg

IMG_7749.jpeg

The flowering period is from March to June and the preferred location for growing is in damp areas such as moor meadows or along streams. If the environment is suitable and the place is sunny or partially shaded, this plant will in most cases reach a height of between 30cm and 90cm. It will grow again every year as it survives winter frosts.

IMG_7750.jpeg

IMG_7748.jpeg

Unfortunately, many species of this plant genus are becoming increasingly rare and are under nature protection! The species Eriophorum angustifolium is not directly under protection but is considered endangered in many places.

IMG_7753.jpeg

IMG_7736.jpeg

Another property of this plant is that it has healing properties and for this reason it is a good natural medicine! Mainly the young shoots and the roots of the plant are used mostly against intestinal diseases and the active ingredients include proteins, tannins and bitter substances.

IMG_7737.jpeg

Thanks for watching and have a nice day, I took the photos with my iPhone 12.

Sort:  

@elevator09 Those cotton grass are truly beautiful.I wonder how did u easily took a photos of different plants my friend🤔🤔.

Glad you like my pictures! Have a nice day.

When I was a student at school, a similar fluffy flower was the best occasion for me to stop paying attention while studying! As soon as I found it, I followed it with my gaze, until it disappeared or I fell asleep! Generally very sleepy at school! Haha! What am I writing to you, my God?

Haha, this is a funny story that connects some memories from school especially with this plant. I can understand how to be distracted by such a beautiful flower! Have a nice day! @giorgakis

Eriophorum angustifolium flower is beautiful when wind is very smooth

I completely agree with you! The interaction with the wind looks so perfect. @alianna