Woke Up To The Smell Of Something Burning

It smelled a little like someone burning garbage but it was 2:30 AM. I worried that our upstairs roommate might have thrown a hot ashtray into the garbage before going to bed so I got up to see if I could find the source of the burning odor. It did not get any worse as I neared the stairs, that seemed like a good sign. It got a LOT worse when I got to the porch, and when I stepped outside there was no doubt: Forest fires.

The moon was blood red, even a few stars had taken on the color of flame. The wind was whipping, and carrying on it the strong smell of fire. I turned on the computer and tried to see where the fire was, and there are three fairly near us. I suspect, due to the wind direction, that the Rattlesnake fire was responsible for the smoke we were being covered in.

I managed to get a few more hours sleep although I never sleep well when I can smell something burning. This morning I wandered out to see how the world looked.

Sunrise Through The Smoke
DSCF2692.JPG
All smoky photos taken this morning with Fuji FinePix S8300
(I am going to post some older pics for comparison, they may have been taken with another camera and / or by @fishyculture)

Taken from the other side of the barn about a month ago
vlcsnap-error543.png


The Mountains To The East - Still Visible
DSCF2695.JPG

What they looked like just a few days ago
20180706_212830.jpg


Hitt And Cuddy Mountains Have Gone Into Hiding
DSCF2696.JPG

Same scene last week
20180706_213049.jpg


The Fire Is To The Northwest, The Smoke Is Thick That Direction
DSCF2693.JPG

From this spring, still a bit of snow on Cuddy!
DSCF3101.JPG

I wish everyone in the path of these and all the fires the very best, it is a tough time of year in the west.

THANK YOU for visiting my blog!

Sort:  

I hope that the fires stay a long way from you. Fires are terrible things, unpredictable, burning everything in their paths. Bee close to one forest fire in my life and it is a scary feeling. You smell the fire first, then you can hear it. By the time you see it, it could be too late. Stay safe. Praying for you and yours.

Glad to know you two are well and safe from these fires. Yes - definitely a tough time of the year in the West. Thanks for posting.

I hope that you have a good firebreak around your place. This year - fire season seems to be all year long...

Wow, I just read @fishyculture post about the first as well, these are really terrible I hope you both stay safe away from them.

You photographs are very dramatic, that is quite a major fire - hopefully it stays maintained and away from people.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

You have been defended with a 72.46% upvote!
I was summoned by @c0ff33a.

@longsilver you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!