You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TALENTS AND SKILLS - KNOWING THE DIFFERENCE ON NEEDLEWORKMONDAY

Hello @buckaroo and welcome to #NeedleWorkMonday! I am so glad @corrielaine invited you to join us! I think you’ll have a good time meeting other needleworkers and hopefully you’ll make some great new friendships! We’re all about supporting each other and sharing our passion. We love seeing projects come to life so please do share some process pictures of your work. You don’t have to wait until a project is completed to post! 😃

Okay now that I have welcomed you let me get to what I need to say...I feel like I’ve known you for years just from reading this post. I say that because you remind me of myself...like as of today. I literally cried when reading this...don’t worry they were mainly happy tears. My mom tried to teach my sister and I how to sew when we were younger. We were so young and ignorant and felt sewing was boring and just didn’t realize the beauty and benefits of such a “skill” (I love how you talked about the difference between a skill and a talent). So later on in my adult life she did try to teach me again but I wasn’t well coordinated with the sewing machine and trying to read a pattern (especially when you suck at math like me) was overwhelming so I gave up and went back to my comfort zone...crocheting.

I get sad thinking about all of those years I could have been right under my mother’s wing learning from her but it’s all gone away. I could have been sewing all 5 of my children clothing. But then I read your post today and it just made me smile. To hear that most of the women in your family had a needlework skill but you didn’t learn until your adult life really gave me hope. I’ve been telling the needlework crew that I’m going to do more sewing, I even taught myself and my daughter how to sew a pillow. I just spoke with my mom last week and she said she is cleaning up her sewing room so that my daughter and I can come and learn together. She hasn’t given up on me and I am so grateful for that. I am DETERMINED to learn how to sew and I won’t stop trying until I am comfortable enough to sew on my own without her guidance. I haven’t even told anyone this yet lol!! So I say thank you for sharing this today, you just don’t know how much this just helped me. 😊☺️😢

Okay now onto those AWESOME garments you have made for your son!! I’m like in awe right now. You are so very talented and your work looks like store quality...like I would purchase one of those from you because they look so good! The materials you use look so soft and cozy and I’m sure your son enjoys wearing what his mommy makes. You have inspired me today and you are quite funny too, you made me laugh! Welcome, welcome and welcome!! I’m so glad to meet you and have you sharing with us. 😉

P.S. I’m so sorry for the long novel of a welcome lol! 😜

Sort:  

Happy tears @crosheille! I had to laugh though. I love it when someone can identify with me. Also that I made you laugh. Sometimes I think people don't get my humour. But it kind of just gets into the writing. And yay to me not being the only one who sucks at math!!

I am SEW excited for you. Wonderful that your mom is so keen to help you. And special that your girls can learn at the same time. Your secret is safe with me ;) But please be inspired. It's really not to difficult. Just don't be as ambitious as me and try to sew a wedding dress or something.

Thank you for the welcome. Will catch up whenever I get onto Discord.

Haaaa!! I’m glad you had a laugh too! My husband laughed at me when I told him about you and showed him my long comment lol! He said “you’re gonna run her away with that long comment” lol! So I’m relieved to know you love humor and understand where I was coming from. I always get tickled when I meet others with lots in common.

I really appreciate that encouragement! It means a lot. I am really excited to dig in and get it rollin. Looking forward to sharing some of my classes with you all. 😊

You’re very welcome! Did you join @steemitmamas?

@crosheille my husband would've said the same, with an eye roll. But he was already in bed by the time I was answering you last night. I forgot to compliment you on your crochet skills! Now that is one area I need to focus on. I'm self taught a teeny bit (making lopsided scarves) but I get frustrated as I think my tension is out. And, to be honest, I really battle to read the instructions.

No I haven't joined @steemitmamas. I do follow and often tag them but I think I need to be on Discord? I haven't signed up yet. I fear I already spend to much time as it is my husband will probably send my laptop to computer heaven if I were to start on Discord!

Haaa glad to see I’m not the only one with a husband that likes to “comment” on my madness Lol!!

Awww thank you! Lol “lopsided scarves”! Well you know you can always follow along with me with my crochet series for beginners. I’m breaking down the steps of crocheting and eventually I will teach about pattern reading. 😉

Yes on Discord is where we all get to know each other better! It’s a really fun Mama group! Lol wow something else we have in common. I had to limit my time on Discord and Steemit if I wanted to stay married!! 😂😅 No but seriously my hubs thinks I’m on way too much too so I had to do some compromising to keep the peace. I’m actually glad I did because I needed that discipline. It’s way to easy to get addicted to platforms like this and I’ve got to make sure I’m taking care of home first.

Definitely easy to get addicted! And you don't want to appear rude by not interacting, especially as there are generally so many conversations going and the disappear so quickly. But it is a good area to exercise....and stay happily married

Very true about not wanting to appear rude. It really takes a healthy balance for it all to work.