Not My Intended Post For Today

in #neoxian2 months ago

internet control panel.pngcreated using ms paint

Yeah I did not think this one through too much before throwing it together but I just wanted a quick image for this post.

Any way I was working on something else for today then I realized it would be Thursday when this was posted and I have been attending PYPT uninterrupted for months now and it takes me about an hour to find a good post to share. So here goes.

I had to put aside my research to call my internet company. I was having some difficulties deciphering the different devices connected to my network. That in turn was giving my son more internet time then I wanted him to have.

The time control app was the entire reason I decided to get internet installed again. I had Spectrum a couple times and that was more of a hassle than anything. They wanted to charge me for a router I had returned before I could get them again.

I had no intention of getting internet when this sales guy showed up. I told him I wanted to be able to control the amount of time a device was able to be online and he showed me the app his company (Vexus) uses and I was sold immediately.

I was scheduled for a couple days later and these guys went out of their way to make sure I got it that day. They told me because My neighbors dogs were out (he was at work) and they had to run wires from the alley they might need to wait a couple more days. They made a few calls and got a boom truck to come out and were done in about two hours.

I have to say, this is a really good company. Unlike any company I have had in the past Vexus has a really great system. Instead of making people wait to find out what is going on with outages they send out area alerts when they discover an issue.

Over the last few months I have learned quite a bit about how to better work with this system and last night was another lesson. Connect one device, set up a profile for it then move on to the next device.

The customer service agent also told me that any device not connected for seven days would automatically be dropped from the list of devices. Good to know. At least now I will not need to try and match up mac addresses. 😁🤣🤣😁