UP-VOTING is the biggest mistake that the steemit newbie is making !!! Do not be the new Monkey !!

in #newbie7 years ago (edited)

Well, I know that many of you will react negatively with the post title.

But, from my experience in steemit for the last 2 weeks, I was like crazy manic up-voting here and there for only posts that I like.

the results are my curation is only 0.01 from 12 posts of 3000 posts I have up voted them

WTF. I joined here like you did and I was dreaming by thousands of steems if I just up voting ignoring the steemit rules .

I have lost my voting power and my voting bar needs 5 days to return back full.

MY ADVICE :

TO ALL NEWBIE LIKE ME

Do not be the new Monkey who will just keep pressing the up-voting button and after 12 days the result is 0.

DO NOT UP VOTE MORE THAN 10 VOTES PER DAY.

TRY TO SIMPLY INCREASE YOUR STEEM POWER

POST AND COMMENT BUT DO NOT LOSE YOUR VOTES

DO NOT BE A SPAMMER

I AM ENGINEER AND I FORGOT MY ENGINEERING PRINCIPLES IN FIRST 12 DAYS AS I WAS VERY EXCITED TO MAKE STEEM, AND WHEN I DID NOT GET IT, I SEARCHED THE STEEM FAQS, THE INTERNET, GOOGLE.... AND SIMPLY DO NOT UP VOTE TOO MUCH.

NOW I AM TRYING TO STOP OR MINIMIZE VOTING TILL I BUILD AGAIN MY POWER.

LISTEN TO ME AND DO NOT BE IGNORANT.


Sort:  
That is actually very good advice @red-rose !

I wish someone told me that in the beginning.

I have learnt that:

  • If you vote in the first 30 minutes you give your reward to the author
  • If you vote after about 25 people has voted you dont get much
  • If you vote after someone with lots of SP voted you dont get much neither.

So what i do now is if i see a post i like I vote it for the author, not for the reward.

Sometimes i am lucky and find a post that has between 15 and 25 minutes and less than 25 votes.

If i like it, i take the gamble wait a little and vote for it .


The witnesses are constantly working to make guides and try to help new users so they have the best experience in here.


By the way i think you misunderstood that bot... he is trying to help because recently someone decided to flag users for wrong tags.

Upvoted !

THANK YOU

please can you spread this post in your resteem to your followres . they will see also your comment here.

I would do, but I'm a south american and most of my followers only speak Spanish so they most likely wont understand the post.


You know what would be a great next article, the real job of witnesses in steemit, we did a series in Spanish and paid very well (Most people think it is just mining blocks and there is much more, like helping users and building communities)

I was surprised people didn't knew they had 30 witness votes neither those votes don't cost VP, as is just like a way to support them, so its free to encourage users to vote.

I will make the same post in Spanish by google translator , I am good in this field and i speak little Spanish...
there is a song in Arabic in Spanish style or BR or MX style, I hate that song too much as much as I love the same song bcz it is a good example of cheating ......

done - it is posted in spanish tag in spanish language

I have posted the spanish version of this post.
please resteemit
thank you

@red-rose - So glad you posted this advice because the Steemit "rules of life" here can be confusing. We are encouraged to upvote, comment, follow, be involved, interact, and make friends. But I've wondered about accounts with hundreds, even thousands of posts, comments, "followers" and those whom the account holder is following. Yet the reputation score is quite moderate. So there must be more to this than the numbers. Depending on the primary reason that each member joins the community, it can be more important to get acquainted and to "network" without Steem power or earnings. I've been randomly "wandering about," leaving comments here and there on whatever piques my interest. And I think that as a "newbie," it's probably necessary for most new members to begin that way. Steem power and "influence" are acquired more slowly. So just have fun, be true to your own interests, and above all, be "authentic"! Steem on!

sarahspeaks144, this is absolutely the way to do it. Until you make some influential friends, your posts will get few views and even less reward. There are a few bots that randomly dump a nice little present on you, but you need to be lucky to get that. In the meantime, enjoy the conversations and spread your username around. Eventually you will find people that are interested in what you have to say and you begin to grow. Looking at my own stats., I do best from the comments I leave rather than from the posts I write. After 5 months, I'm just starting to pick up some ground.

@happyme, our experiences confirm what I've just learned. Initially, I did not understand the voting system and upvoted every post or comment that resonated with me. Then I read one of the guides for new users which clearly explains that the upvotes of a member with a lower reputation score have no effect whatsoever. Since I am a newbie, my vote may have been a morale booster (hopefully), but essentially added nothing to the account value for that post (or any other post). So I usually don't vote at all anymore. I have been thinking about how to introduce myself in the first blog and hoping that, as a Luddite technophobe, I will understand the Markdown styling guide. And you're right. I too have been inching along purely on the basis of comments and replies. Thank you for your vote and congratulations on picking up Steem! I've just read your exhortation post that we all should strive to become a force for constructive social change and positive interactions in the Steem community in accordance with Dan Larimer's founding philosophy. Completely agree and I'm now following you. God bless you.

Thank-you for that lovely comment, @sarahspeaks144. I'm not sure about that guide remark:

Then I read one of the guides for new users which clearly explains that the upvotes of a member with a lower reputation score have no effect whatsoever.

Although a very new user has very little vote power and because fractional values are cut off at 2 decimal places as shown on steemit.com and steemstage.com, I believe a new user still does provide something less than 1 cent (and thus shows up as zero). I find it is mostly new users that publish these guides as they themselves have just leaned something new and share what they just learned. I published a couple of my own guides at about my 2-week mark after extensive study of this platform.

My recommendation is to USE your allotted 10 votes per day (that is how much you can vote at full power and recover in 24 hours) not to earn curation rewards, but to indicate approval.

The other thing I find is that many new users flock to the few whales in the hopes of getting one of those massive up-votes from them. Think about it... if they gave the hundreds or thousands of followers each a full-power up-vote, how long do you think it would be before their vote-power would be near zero? They are just not able to support everyone at once. So, getting one of those massive up-votes is like winning a lottery; pretty slim.

Instead, I suggest finding a few people that you find interesting and form a relationship with them. Your continued interactions and mutual votes will build and build with your little groups supporting each other. This is what I am attempting to do with my weekly giveaway contests... create a single point where individuals can interact with each other. Eventually, everyone is a winner. As my own SP grows, I can award larger and larger votes. This makes the participants grow and they then provide larger votes to me which enables me to grow more and thus hand out even greater rewards. It's a slow process, but it works.

If you have any specific questions about this platform, I am happy to answer those that I know answers for. There is a lot to learn and I still have many questions of my own.

@happyme - I am blessed by everyone who has the time, generosity, wisdom and knowledge to offer help, and I will certainly come to you with my questions. Here's a good example. Not long ago, I upvoted a post and simultaneously, in the very same split second, the account value decreased by one cent. I felt like I had just spread the flu virus. Days later, I upvoted another post, and the account value increased by $2.54. I was so confused, I stopped voting that day. Essentially, my problem is incomprehension of the block chain, of algorithms, and of all things mathematical. But I suspect that may be a subconscious right brain/ left brain bias. I had never heard of Steemit until a YouTube channel creator directed his subscribers to open accounts. Obediently, we all flocked over and opened accounts. (Well, I suppose some of us did.) But I didn't even use the platform or read the instructions until last week or the week before. My reason for being here is social activism and Christian evangelism. So for me the algorithm quietly hums in the background. Occasionally, I glance at my wallet with delight and surprise to find that it contains anything at all. That's why your post about Dan Larimer and your link to his story so strongly encouraged me. I simply feel that I'm in the right place, even without fully understanding how I got here. Does that make any sense? The next time I can't figure out what it's all about, I know that I can message you and I do appreciate that.

(BTW, I have just used a chat room, steemit.chat, for the first time ever in my rather absurd life because Luddites tend to avoid all social media. The fact that I'm here at all is nothing short of miraculous.)

Well @sarahspeaks144, I am glad you are here and appreciate having made your acquaintance. I too found this site quite by accident and am now hooked. Your explanation makes a lot of sense.

I had to laugh when you explained your shock at giving a negative vote because I had the EXACT same reaction (minus the not voting any more part). It is actually quite easy to explain.

The content you see when looking at the screen is held in your computer memory after it is downloaded from wherever it comes from. So when your browser downloaded the page, the value you saw was what the author would have likely earned (what shows is an ESTIMATED VALUE) at the current value of Steem. While you were reading the page and eventually decide to give an up-vote, the price of Steem went down or more funds were drained from the reward pool (or both) and the blockchain did its calculations and decided that the original estimate was no longer valid and revised its estimate. When you clicked that button it sends a signal that changes what the page should display (the up-vote button turns blue). At that time, the browser must fetch the revised information from its source, and guess what? There is a new estimated account value along with the blue button colour! It is quite usual to see a reduction in actual pay-out just before the pay-out comes due because others are draining the reward pool and the total amount to be divided up is less than when the original estimate was made.

As for the big jump in value: If you look at the number of votes cast, you will see that you were NOT the only one to have voted in the time between when the browser downloaded the information and the time you clicked. That voter number will also have jumped up.

I wouldn't consider myself a technology Luddite, but I had a bit of trouble figuring out what to do on steemitchat, so bravo to you for managing it!

@happyme , your explanation of the fluctuating value of a post at the time of voting was so clear that even I understood it. Amazing! Just now I happened to wander across this YouTube interview with Dan and Ned which you may have watched already. If not, I found it helpful in understanding the meaning of this Facebook-meets-Reddit economic platform. Steemit was only six months old when the host, @dollarvigilante, interviewed Dan and Ned. I cannot grasp how @dollarvigilante earned $12,000 within 12 hours on his first post, but the video is interesting. There is a lingering skepticism at the back of my mind that wage-slaves in the fiat currency paradigm simply become the new wage slaves (called minnows) here. And that is necessarily true because anyone who transfers wealth out of fiat world into Steem "influence" assumes the same relative social position in a different kind of economy. If George Soros purchases $100,000 in Steem "influence" which simultaneously purchases a reputation score of 100, then George Soros enjoys the same degree of power on the blockchain that he exercised in the "global village." ( As the minnows slave away for their morsels, dollars and cents. ) I continue to believe that the primary motive for participating here must be non-monetary. If there is any other motive, that motive will succumb to circumvention, bot influence, and get-rich-quick corruption, just as IRL.

Here's another example: When the sudden influx of new accounts slowed and crashed the system, many applicants waited long periods for account approval. To address this issue, one of the whales who is an attorney IRL offered to "help" new users set up their accounts for a fee of $50. The whale had no unique knowledge about account setup and administration nor did the whale do anything for the $50 fee that any new user could not do independently. Nevertheless, "it happens." And that faux service can be added to the infinite number of profit motive schemes and scams that compromise the concept of anarcho-capitalism and the purity of the principle. But what do I know?

Here's the link:

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 88.0% @mikepm74 upgoat, thanks to @red-rose
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @red-rose to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!
For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Hi, @red-rose,

I’m Jack a PSA (Public Service Announcement) bot. This is the first time I’ve seen you use the #steemit tag.

Tags help the community find relevant content.

This tag is meant to be used when posting on topics directly related to Steemit, the website, itself.

We want to warn you, as some curators are immediately downvoting posts when they think irrelevant tags are being used.

Please help the community find relevant content by using the appropriate tags.

I only comment once per tag, happy steeming!

I THINK YOU CAN READ ENGLISH.
READ THE POST , IT IS ALL ABOUT THE STEEMIT
IF YOU SEND ME SUCH A WARNING AGAIN , I WILL CONSIDER YOU THE SPAMMER .
AND I WILL REPORT YOU TO THE STEEMIT COOPERATION.

I HAD POSTED MORE THAN 5 TIMES WITH STEEMIT TAG BEFORE.

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

red-rose - Great advice. I also experienced what u did. I've been on Steemit for 9 days and virtually no curation steem rewards. However, after 2 days I had read not to up-vote too much. Now I do 10 to 20 up-votes.

You are right - there really should be more specific guidelines so people understand how Steemit really works. What to do and what not to do.

Good luck!

thank you for your supportive comment... let's spread this post to all of our followers..... please resteemit again..... thanks