BOY...Drowning in a Crowd

in #news7 years ago

This story came up on my Facebook feed. And I started watching the video. The longer it went on the more I was at war with myself to stop watching. Sadly I could not turn away, I needed to see someone SAVE that child. I was hoping against hope that it would happen. As the video ended I was heartbroken.

Did I just watch a little boy die?? Why did I keep watching this!!!

As usually happens when I see a video clip on social media, I went on a research mission to find out details. I am very happy to report that the child LIVED, but clearly only by the grace of God.

And NOT at all thanks to all those people around him. Now I am not saying it was their job to save him, but wouldn't it have been great to see someone step it?

I was just at a pool party with my girl today, and I like to believe that I kept a very good eye on her, along with scanning the other kids playing in the pool.

IMG_4668.JPG

Yes some people might call me one of those "Helicopter moms". And you know what I am really ok with that. I find it VERY important to keep my eyes on my child, and make sure she is within view as much as possible. It only take seeing a video like this to reinforce my opinion.

IMG_5072.PNG

If I read correctly, the mother of this 5 year old left him alone so she could go to the sauna with friends. I can't wrap my head around that.

And lastly for ALL those people that were so close but clearly so far from him. I say to us watching it today, remember what you just saw...and when you are out at a pool, be vigilant. Offer help...sure maybe the kid was just playing or that's how he swims, or maybe even does not bother say thanks. But if we can help one child avoid this horribly frightening situation....wouldn't that be wonderful?!?

Stay safe out there.
Xoxox
Josie

Sort:  

Wow. I'm a parent too. Couldnt even watch the video- but thanks for the great post. We should be stronger and need to care for each other

I understand it is VERY hard to watch. And agree we so should care more...it cost nothing and could literally save a life.

Again, a great post that should get more exposure, IMO. I'm a fellow Floridian! Following you now :)

Cool! Following you back, thanks!

thanks for sharing

:( couldn't watch it also
this is an important reminder to ALWAYS watch our kids.
it takes less than a minute to lose them.