Fraternity Membership Increases Earnings 36%, Drops GPA .25; Beer Off The Hook - (aka) "He Tried This One Trick And Gained 36% Income While Drinking Whatever He Wanted!"

in #news7 years ago

Frats 1.jpg

...join a fraternity. On average, it is apparently that easy. Your GPA will go down, but your earnings will go up!

Frats 2.png

Researches at Union College have released a study indicating what many may already be aware of - social capital is also a real form of capital, it's simply more difficult to quantify.

After correcting for the age, gender, and ethnicity of 3,762 alumni, results showed an increase of approximately 36% in earnings of those who participated in fraternities versus those who did not.

Frats 3.jpg

Rendering this Hollywood outcome, oddly enough, more plausible.

This increased earnings potential came at the cost of roughly .25 to the average respondent's GPA (grade-point average). That comes out to about 1/4th of a letter grade.

Interestingly enough, though alcohol was suspected and controlled for as a possible component of this observed data, according to the researchers, it did not appear to be a significant contributor:

"Alcohol-related behavior does not explain much of the effects of fraternity membership on either the human capital or social capital effects"

Frats 4.jpg

Someone alert Spudz Mckenzie and the Frogs. Budweiser never misses a marketing op.

In fact, the study showed only at most 1/7th, or about 14%, of the GPA drop could be attributed to alcohol. The rest would appear to be due to other aspects of fraternity membership.

This is another real-life example of just how important "networking", or who you know, really is. Social skills are real and matter. In fact, with the current tight labor market in much of the western world, I would say who you know may actually be more important than what you know.

If you'd like to read more about how this applies to Steem, read my article "Steemit, Like Life, Is A Popularity Contest" here.

PAL Logo.gif

Join us at the Minnow Support Project! (click me)
We also have a Radio Station! (click me)
...and a 4800+ user Discord Chat Server! (click me)

Sources:"SOCIAL ANIMAL HOUSE: THE ECONOMIC AND ACADEMIC CONSEQUENCES OF FRATERNITY MEMBERSHIP"
Copyright: Old School, Budweiser

Sort:  

FRANK THE TANK!

One of the great college movies, I first saw that while doing university (college in Australia) as a mature age student and it struck a chord.

Seriously though, we are pretty far removed from being a meritocracy. It is all about who you know and what you can do for others in a great big game of horse trading. It's been that way for quite some time and getting worse. It's a natural result of cronyism amongst our leadership - that's trickle down for you!

"Trickle Down Cronyism" Yep, I just made that up.

"One of the great college movies,"

It's got a special place in my memory, too. Still an enjoyable movie to me, as long as you don't expect too much out of it.

Jeremy Piven is a nice include as the dean.

"Seriously though, we are pretty far removed from being a meritocracy."

I can't argue with you there...I guess, ultimately, that's why I'm here, writing on Steemit.

True, I think it is with all clubs. If you join a club you easily meet now people who may introduce you to other people.

And so the networking effect begins :)

P.S. you are one of my favourite Steemians I dont understand why your earnings sometimes are so low!!

"P.S. you are one of my favourite Steemians I dont understand why your earnings sometimes are so low!!"

Aw, thanks!

It seems to me that engagement on Steemit is pretty low at the moment. I think a lot of people are using auto-voters, and hype has died down since the hard fork and price run-up.

I would like to see some large changes to voting and curation to realign incentives with manual, human curation. However, I haven't seen much support for any of my past suggestions. I haven't exactly seen resistance either; there's more of a general air of apathy, which would again be reflective of the slow period I referenced above.

I think this makes it a tough time to attract new readers and interaction, but I am hoping that persistence will amount to "putting in my dues". I see my followers numbers increase everyday, and they seem to go up faster than I presume my old followers become "dead" (inactive, or stop logging in and voting).

To be honest, this sort of quiet lull is the sort of thing I would expect to see before a sudden jump in price or other big news. I'm confident in Steemit as a platform and I continue to try to free up more money to add to my Steemit wallet.

I have the same feeling. And if a post has a lot of votes, it feels like people are just upvoting because they know that user is popular.

I agree the rewards system should be changed. I know you have been very vocal about this. What were the best solutions you have found? I kinda got lost in all the post (Steemit also needs a page/comment saver).

EDIT: found your post :)

Indeed it is to be expected that after a hype it cools down a bit. However, I have faith in Steemit. Their current reward system, may attract many money-hungry people, but I believe the system has done a good job to keep many people engaged.

Luckily, this is still Beta. A lot of room for improvement :)

"people are just upvoting because they know that user is popular."

Unfortunately, this is exactly what the current curation formula encourages.

"Their current reward system, may attract many money-hungry people, but I believe the system has done a good job to keep many people engaged."

Long-term, this looks very promising to me too. You can tell from my wallet I believe in it.

Haha I certainly can see you managed to accumulate a good amount :)

True, although I bought the vast majority of it on the way down.

Great article as always! You wanna know the best part? "In fact, with the current tight labor market in much of the western world, I would say who you know may actually be more important than what you know." Nowadays, a lot of students are obsessed with high grades. But, what's the point in learning so many things if you don't have an interesting, social life? Knowing people really helps to succeeding in your life. Trust me...!

" Knowing people really helps to succeeding in your life. Trust me...!"

It's also usually a lot more fun than memorizing facts and textbooks. Or, if you are an economics student, tarot readings and tea leaves!

Source: Was economics student.

great one! upvoted and followed

good post friends, continue good luck always.

Wohooo bot is working again :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lexiconical to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!