You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Think Big or Don't Think At All: World Domination Stems From Lessons In History

in #newsteem5 years ago

I'm hopeful for the future of this platform, which is why I keep accumulating. I don't think it's realistic to expect the cake to be fully baked right away. It's going to be a learning process. I'm not sure what the outcome of the next hard fork will be, but at the very least it will get people thinking about the reward mechanism.

Many people feel powerless and fear reprisal for speaking out. In time I think people will recognize the necessity of building alliances for the purpose of influencing behavior, such as unmitigated bid bot use. Especially the behavior of the established power base who either endorses it or looks the other way.

Sort:  

Have a look at this old post of mine.

A classic, and no less relevant!

Not many seem to see potential in content producers on this blockchain. Investors think their role in all of this is the most important. Developers think it's them who do everything and deserve the most. Content producers seem to come in last, which is silly, in my mind, because of those potential billions that can and most likely will trickle their way into this blockchain, provided the folks working to impede the progress of actual talent around here, stop doing that.

I made several predictions, and I was not wrong.

I've been going on about the lack of paying consumers here, for a long time. If you go to peakD chat, even there I was going on and on about it. I'm always met with some nonsense about how people aren't interested in that but everywhere I look proves them wrong. Now with the NFTs, which I predicted would happen in this post (and it pisses me off that money didn't come to this chain/pisses me off more they were blasting artists with downvotes) ...with NFTs we've established the fact there's interest in supporting content with the hopes of return. Not once has this platform been marketed to consumers, in five years. So when you jokingly said I was aggressive with that dude, just know it stems from years of being shot down when I point out the most obvious problem all while offering a solid solution, several different ways. There's so much potential, I've been pointing it out for years, many different ways, I've been right every step of the way, always one step ahead, but this chain is always playing catch up.

Dude. It's going to drive me batshit crazy.

What you think of as a platform is not how they define it. The content itself is an afterthought. The original purpose of this blockchain (blockchain blogging platform), and its intended purpose for the future (general purpose JSON-based blockchain) have diverged. They'll occasionally throw a bit of red meat to the bloggers to prevent the middle class ones from bailing all at once, but sooner or later HIVE bloggers are going to experience a rug pull, and get pushed out LEO or Creative Coin or whatever IMO. This opinion is based on what I see people saying, and also the type of wrench turning going on.

Why would I want to hold hive after that point? Appreciation and yield? I can get better of both elsewhere, without having to lock up any funds, and without trusting 20 individuals (how many are hobbyists honestly?) to be good stewards of those funds. If you take away the magic, what is left?

One can't even fire up a new tokenized community/online magazine type thing without Hive token working as a base layer. How do you build a community, from nothing? Just show up to Leo one day, start writing jokes that have nothing to do with crypto or finance, then gather more people and start a community for jokes? Doesn't work like that. Need that starting point to build from. Groups can only advance from base layer to second layer.

The content here isn't just blogging either. It's multimedia; everything. Consumers spend a lot of money supporting content in the form of quality combined with personality. To ignore that and say it's worthless, then focus on creating crypto gimmicks (because that's all they know), is squandered potential. Even with the NFT thing taking off, they write it off as a fad and a scam, then form a cult around a new token and hype it to the point of failure, then rinse and repeat.

Takes a lot of time, but to see things one way, eight months ago, to now watching it all unfold, eight months later; time and patience are important.

Many people feel powerless and fear reprisal for speaking out.

That, I never understood. I've been quite outspoken here at times for nearly three years. Maybe it's all in the delivery. Some people do a terrible job of expressing their grievances. I'm not saying I'm perfect but I have seen some folks be insulting, they'll offer up misinformation, lies. They bully and harass other members. Then they get downvoted as a consequence of their own antisocial behavior, then use that as fuel to say they're not allowed to speak; pulling the victim card. Others see the downvotes, but not the actions that led up to it, believe the lies and that's how rumors start.

"Others see the downvotes, but not the actions that led up to it, believe the lies and that's how rumors start."

Part of the problem here is when people are targeted for perpetual downvotes, rather than simply their discrete abuse actions. If you are downvoting the actual act, the reason is probably clear. If you are witnessing an automated downvote campaign against a person, that's something different. Maybe it's justified or maybe it isn't, either way I'm just not sure it's healthy optics. When I see someone attempting to engage in a discussion with no immediate abuse involved, and it is downvoted along with a vague open threat against me or others for attempting to interact with them, we'll that's just plain toxic to look at. As on onlooker, it should be clear to me why these actions are occurring, simply to prevent 'lies and rumors'. At least downvotes from the Cheetah bot provide the possible reasons for the campaign, as well as a clear avenue to seek redress. That should be the minimum standard. The ideal standard would be a transparent evidentiary report describing the 'actions that led up to it'.

I agree. It's annoying having to dig to find out the reasons why some of these folks are auto-downvoted. In a few of the most recent cases, I've seen people intentionally put themselves in that position to be auto-downvoted. Remove the downvotes and they just go back to being abusive. Been here three years. It's almost always the same story. Some people eventually get the hint and start working on being social again. I do agree though, it does look like crap without a reason offered.