Sort:  

Yes, Steem Inc has dragged their feet on SMT, but it exists now in the form of Tribes on the Steem-engine. I'm no Alex Jones or Joe Rogan, but I'm demonstrating what can be done with a tribe. The new token has breathed life into my city like nothing else before.

#palnet
#steemleo

When I saw you do that, I knew what I wrote what seems like an eternity ago in STEEM months was coming to fruition. You are not Alex Jones or Joe Rogan. Not even an Alex Rogan or a Joe Jones. Doesn't really matter. What matters is the potential. Proof of concept. Solid.

Looks like I predicted the NFT...

I'm hopeful for the future of this platform, which is why I keep accumulating. I don't think it's realistic to expect the cake to be fully baked right away. It's going to be a learning process. I'm not sure what the outcome of the next hard fork will be, but at the very least it will get people thinking about the reward mechanism.

Many people feel powerless and fear reprisal for speaking out. In time I think people will recognize the necessity of building alliances for the purpose of influencing behavior, such as unmitigated bid bot use. Especially the behavior of the established power base who either endorses it or looks the other way.

Have a look at this old post of mine.

A classic, and no less relevant!

Not many seem to see potential in content producers on this blockchain. Investors think their role in all of this is the most important. Developers think it's them who do everything and deserve the most. Content producers seem to come in last, which is silly, in my mind, because of those potential billions that can and most likely will trickle their way into this blockchain, provided the folks working to impede the progress of actual talent around here, stop doing that.

I made several predictions, and I was not wrong.

I've been going on about the lack of paying consumers here, for a long time. If you go to peakD chat, even there I was going on and on about it. I'm always met with some nonsense about how people aren't interested in that but everywhere I look proves them wrong. Now with the NFTs, which I predicted would happen in this post (and it pisses me off that money didn't come to this chain/pisses me off more they were blasting artists with downvotes) ...with NFTs we've established the fact there's interest in supporting content with the hopes of return. Not once has this platform been marketed to consumers, in five years. So when you jokingly said I was aggressive with that dude, just know it stems from years of being shot down when I point out the most obvious problem all while offering a solid solution, several different ways. There's so much potential, I've been pointing it out for years, many different ways, I've been right every step of the way, always one step ahead, but this chain is always playing catch up.

Dude. It's going to drive me batshit crazy.

What you think of as a platform is not how they define it. The content itself is an afterthought. The original purpose of this blockchain (blockchain blogging platform), and its intended purpose for the future (general purpose JSON-based blockchain) have diverged. They'll occasionally throw a bit of red meat to the bloggers to prevent the middle class ones from bailing all at once, but sooner or later HIVE bloggers are going to experience a rug pull, and get pushed out LEO or Creative Coin or whatever IMO. This opinion is based on what I see people saying, and also the type of wrench turning going on.

Why would I want to hold hive after that point? Appreciation and yield? I can get better of both elsewhere, without having to lock up any funds, and without trusting 20 individuals (how many are hobbyists honestly?) to be good stewards of those funds. If you take away the magic, what is left?

One can't even fire up a new tokenized community/online magazine type thing without Hive token working as a base layer. How do you build a community, from nothing? Just show up to Leo one day, start writing jokes that have nothing to do with crypto or finance, then gather more people and start a community for jokes? Doesn't work like that. Need that starting point to build from. Groups can only advance from base layer to second layer.

The content here isn't just blogging either. It's multimedia; everything. Consumers spend a lot of money supporting content in the form of quality combined with personality. To ignore that and say it's worthless, then focus on creating crypto gimmicks (because that's all they know), is squandered potential. Even with the NFT thing taking off, they write it off as a fad and a scam, then form a cult around a new token and hype it to the point of failure, then rinse and repeat.

Takes a lot of time, but to see things one way, eight months ago, to now watching it all unfold, eight months later; time and patience are important.

Many people feel powerless and fear reprisal for speaking out.

That, I never understood. I've been quite outspoken here at times for nearly three years. Maybe it's all in the delivery. Some people do a terrible job of expressing their grievances. I'm not saying I'm perfect but I have seen some folks be insulting, they'll offer up misinformation, lies. They bully and harass other members. Then they get downvoted as a consequence of their own antisocial behavior, then use that as fuel to say they're not allowed to speak; pulling the victim card. Others see the downvotes, but not the actions that led up to it, believe the lies and that's how rumors start.

"Others see the downvotes, but not the actions that led up to it, believe the lies and that's how rumors start."

Part of the problem here is when people are targeted for perpetual downvotes, rather than simply their discrete abuse actions. If you are downvoting the actual act, the reason is probably clear. If you are witnessing an automated downvote campaign against a person, that's something different. Maybe it's justified or maybe it isn't, either way I'm just not sure it's healthy optics. When I see someone attempting to engage in a discussion with no immediate abuse involved, and it is downvoted along with a vague open threat against me or others for attempting to interact with them, we'll that's just plain toxic to look at. As on onlooker, it should be clear to me why these actions are occurring, simply to prevent 'lies and rumors'. At least downvotes from the Cheetah bot provide the possible reasons for the campaign, as well as a clear avenue to seek redress. That should be the minimum standard. The ideal standard would be a transparent evidentiary report describing the 'actions that led up to it'.

I agree. It's annoying having to dig to find out the reasons why some of these folks are auto-downvoted. In a few of the most recent cases, I've seen people intentionally put themselves in that position to be auto-downvoted. Remove the downvotes and they just go back to being abusive. Been here three years. It's almost always the same story. Some people eventually get the hint and start working on being social again. I do agree though, it does look like crap without a reason offered.

I appreciate the whole business model that Steemit created. It was a nice idea, in theory. However, I think a lot of people on STEEM get tunnel vision when looking at the current forward face of the platform.

Steem isn't social media.
Steem isn't a place for content creators to get paid.
It's just a string of archaic block information.

I think we'll really start going places when people stop looking at what Steem is today. A lot of people around here have tunnel vision.

Steem is a LEGO set.

We've got some pretty powerful building blocks here that are going completely unutilized. For example, how many dapps are using the memo key?

Do you realize how much work it would take to incorporate encrypted chatrooms directly on chain using custom JSON? It would be SO EASY... I can't believe it hasn't happened yet. No more centralized agents having full access to all our data and profiting off it. Everything encrypted. Suck it, corporations.

No one wants to make shit like this because there is no money in it. That is the crux of Steem; we need a stronger open source community.

Once we have enough altruistic developers that have stake, they'll all try to outdo one another, and everyone wins.

There is money in it. I've been here three years though and not many see the value of an attention economy, so instead of building that chat, they build things that contribute to people being paid to not even be here. Horrendous waste of resources, but they don't care, because a few thousand worth of a token constantly dropping in value is more important to them than being billionaires, and it drives me crazy. So what would help is if more business savvy folks came along to show these kids how to do something right. Don't do it for the money today, do it for the money down the road once the seeds are planted and start growing. The generation of entitlement doesn't understand that. They think apples grow on grocery store shelves.

Yeah I do think there is potential here for those who like to entertain the world. But not sure about this tribalism stuff. I like your analogy though. The establishment will hate concepts like this until they find some way to make money off it OR to control it. Thanks man.

Right now Youtube is pushing out the independents. The independent producers always outnumber the ones who work for the corporations. They're always looking for a new home. The house is built.

Well said! I'm old enough to remember the arrival of .mp3 files and the demise of Napster, but what I love about this place is you can experiment and try things you could never do anywhere else..., that is and get something back... whether it be crap or otherwise.

Before March 2018 I had never wrote a thing, and here I am writing stories of my life, and now fiction. It's not elegant or professional but I enjoy doing it.

If only more would do the same and stop trying to make a quick buck. The place still has potential in my eyes even though StInc are trying to suppress the blogging part of it.

Maybe they like to suppress the blogging part because they don't realize the creatives can reinvent it and turn it into something people want to see. They think it can only be one way, the old way, and since that doesn't work in their eyes, they can't see the picture bigger, or even know what people like us are capable of.

Good old Napster and good old Metallica. Napster being gone stopped absolutely nothing, Metallica found their new youth with the latest album though, they are still rocking like crazy. Basically they only screwed themselves when they attacked Napster back in the day, piracy can never die.

They screwed themselves, for a bit, then realized the potential of the technology. People were making tapes and tapping into unscrambled satellite signals long before the internet. Piracy won't die, but these days there are fewer reasons to pirate. Look how well Steam does for gaming. All that is is the old warez site, with the option to pay. People do like to pay.

I remember that post, remember thinking for not the first time they should hire you to do their marketing...I don't know why I didn't comment on it, but I flipped through my blog and found I did resteem it lol.

It reminded me I haven't seen @brandt in awhile, hope he makes a comeback.

they should hire you to do their marketing

I hear that a lot. I'd feel more comfortable having an advisory role. It does get kind of annoying some days, sitting here behind yet another failed attempt at comedy or freaking people out with my art, when I can do more. So I do this stuff, these writings, that more often than not got overlooked for three years. Or maybe some read, but refuse to vote, because it's me... Things are getting better though, now that I can drop my words in a few places and gain some organic visibility. Today I'm not even going to drop this link anywhere, so I can gauge more accurately if the community is behind this sort of thing. Why am I rambling?

I just saw brandt the other day. Stopped in and enjoyed the re-release of Haffanower. I was testing the waters there with that post and it seems there's still not enough interest for something like that.

Now there needs to be a connection between the blockchain and the Alex Jones and Joe Rogans. The connection is called marketing. First they have to know STEEM exists, then they have to know how the blockchain can serve them.

Joe Rogan already knows about the place. Our trending page was shown on his Youtube channel one day. I'm sure they browsed through it and saw the mess. I wrote about that incident a couple of times. We dodged a bullet that day. Two days before the site was shown on his youtube channel during one of his episodes, whales were acting like trolls, arguing and flagging one another. It was embarrassing, but the stuff seen on Joe's podcast was at least somewhat presentable.

I'll have thousands of STEEM, sitting here, waiting for the masses to come and buy more

You sly devil!

Mass demand for Steem (at least in the form of Resource Credits) would run smack into a very limited supply.

One should probably plan for something like that.

Think all that being paid to look away seems to be one reason why a number of people (who have been here long enough anyway) keep bolting to other interfaces (of which we have no shortage now XD).

The being paid to look away part was this platforms biggest blunder.

You nailed it with that Alex Jones example!

.. People will be able to earn more rewards for enjoying Alex Jones content if they hold more of the SMT, much like how we have Steem Power now.

I have been here for 2 years and Indeed I have seen all the drama!!! I still do believe that SMTs will open up limlitless opportunities for this blockchain.

I am already seeing what Steem Engine is doing and I can say that it is a sucess. The sports tribe is having a blast on sportstalk already.

There are limitless possibilities on this blockchain. Let us all wait for HF21 and also the release of SMTs and see what happens ahead!!

Provided people know what to do with those SMTs, yes, they'll be a nice addition. I certainly won't be buying up huge piles of everything that comes onto the scene though.

The sports thing is exactly like the small magazine starting from scratch and flourishing; something I mentioned in the post from eight months ago.

I am excited about the sports thing because I am happy because finally I am a whale there!!!

Your predictions 8 months ago were really spot on..

I am waiting for your post on Trump's tweet about cryptocurrency!!!

I'm Canadian so I don't really pay much attention to that guy. What did he say this time?

He said he is not a fan of Bitcoin and any other Crypto, he had a thread and you can check out his Twitter thread

"Go Big Or Go Home!" Awesome post @nonameslefttouse well deserving of an upvote and resteem! sorry for the fast comment, in a thunderstorm right now!) 😎👍🙋

It's booming here in the sky for me right now as well! I kinda like the show though.

the dawn of a new age, a pithagoras theorem one, i think cryptos had the potential to set a money on values and that's it, new era.

love man, like your post a lot and makes me feel conected.

we're on sintony, as artist that we are, we had the power of do something about this and be the furute.... right now.