A Sliding Start to 2022

in #newyear2 years ago

The new year has started with a horizontal slide even flatter than the markets the last couple days - as we went out onto the lake to enjoy a sliver of sunshine before the snows fall again tomorrow. Smallsteps is starting to get it this year and it was funny to see her competitive streak come out, when a little girl slightly younger than herself was skating far better - she stepped up her game. As an only child, she doesn't get that much opportunity to be led by example, but she seems to hold her own when playing with the older kids in most things too.

image.png

And it was with a group of them we spent last night, where they played while the parents brought in the new year with a lot of melted cheese. We had raclette as well as fondue for the evening, which was a perfect way to end 2021 and welcome in the new year - well, that and a glass or two of wine, as well as a couple whiskey sours.

NY2021-22 (1 of 10).jpg

This year, we didn't buy any fireworks ourselves and unfortunately, the "crazy firework neighbors" were spending it at their summer place. They normally put on a show that rivals the Sydney firework display, but this year we just relied on the randoms from the neighborhood and sparklers for the kids. The kids really don't care that much for fireworks these days it seems, as the adults were more excited. Perhaps tastes are changing.

NY2021-22 (3 of 10).jpg

At least though, Smallsteps (after seeing the other kids) wasn't scared to hold the sparkler!

NY2021-22 (2 of 10).jpg

NY2021-22 (8 of 10).jpg

NY2021-22 (4 of 10).jpg

I didn't get a lot of chance to get pictures, but I grabbed a few while I could because I think it is always nice to have something from the end of the year as a memory.

NY2021-22 (5 of 10).jpg

The only real "spoiler" for the evening was that one of the neighbors invited himself along to the celebrations and he is currently going through a divorce - because of his drinking. He was drinking again despite his son not wanting to come because he knew his dad would not be able to control himself. I feel sorry for a 9 year old who has to consider these kinds of things and at some point, his dad is going to regret his behavior when his children makes the decision to move on.

NY2021-22 (6 of 10).jpg

But all in all, times were good and we spent time together with (mostly) people we want to spend more time with.

NY2021-22 (7 of 10).jpg

Then, to bring in 2022, we headed onto the lake for a skate and a walk. I was skating too, but I am not a very good skater as while I can move okay, I can't stop and have to do spins and arcs to slow down. It is shameful in a country which has ice hockey as a national sport. The biggest problem in practicing a slide stop is - old person fear.

NY2021-22 (9 of 10).jpg

But as said, Smallsteps is getting into the groove (a term I taught her today) and starting to gain a little more speed. Kids normally step around for a while, walking more than skating, until they are confident enough to glide. She is just starting now, but iI think that my wife needs to get on some skates to encourage her more. I have never seen my wife skate.

NY2021-22 (10 of 10).jpg

We also took a bit of a detour off the cleared ice and had some Glögi (mulled wine - non-alcoholic) by the shore and some cookies with the neighbors. Our gift to them for Christmas was a jar full of ingredients separated into layers to make chocolate chip cookies and they made them just before going out onto the ice. Pretty good!

IMG_20220101_135641.jpg

IMG_20220101_135525.jpg

The snow was not overly deep, but you can see here that ice is right underneath and very skateable. Currently, it is 30-40cm (12-15 inches) thick, which is really, really thick for this time of year. Often, it is still impossible to walk on this lake this early, but at the start of December there was a week of very cold -22C (-7F) temperatures that locked the smaller lakes and coves in for the winter. It will soon be possible to walk across the entire lake (or drive) and cook some sausages for a picnic in the middle somewhere. Things to do in Finland.

IMG_20220101_135905.jpg

But, it was nice to see the sun and perhaps it is "a sign" that 2022 might be a little better than 2021, not that I believe in such types of signs. Still, I am hoping for a better one than last year.

IMG_20220101_141005.jpg

IMG_20220101_140736.jpg

So, that is how we spent New Years Eve and the first day of 2022, how about you? Did you get into the mood with a few drinks? Eat some good food? Spend time with those whose company you enjoy?

Whatever you did, I wish you a great start to the year and may your "resolutions" (wishes in my case) come true.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

End of year, got my wifs's car stuck, went and got a Pizza, and a six pack of beer. Had one beer, my wife had half a beer, and no telling when the last four will be drank. Every hour on the hour from 8 PM until 3 AM, the neighbor was lighting off fie works, and then the last of them at 7:30 AM. I rolled over and went back to sleep.

We went from 20F/-7C, to a very brisk and chilly 3F/-16C. They are still expecting some wind on Monday, and still in the single digits 'F'. I have not been outside yet, but I doubt I will be travelling anywhere. During the Christmas week warm up we had a good melt down, and now nothing but Ice under two inches of very light snow.

I think you have a very nice capture shot of smallsteps and the sparkler. The one where she is by herself and made tat big arc with her sparkler, that was a real good capture.

Hopefully the Market will start to more and add some excitement, looks like I missed my year end guess by a lot, but $1.50 is not to bad,

and no telling when the last four will be drank.

Hopefully, before they spoil!

Here, the fireworks can start at 6pm but by 1am, most are spent - thankfully.

and now nothing but Ice under two inches of very light snow.

Spiked shoe conditions.

looks like I missed my year end guess by a lot, but $1.50 is not to bad,

maybe in a couple days - now people have their taxes done.

Yes spiked shoe season again, at least I know where they are which is good.

I will be, and I am sure a lot of others will be, very happy if Hive grows this year by the same amount as last year, after all 2021 started with 0.010 Hive price basically, and ended at 150 something. That was a good growth year, maybe not as much as people would have liked but still a very good year performance wise.

1.50 to 20 would make for an interesting dynamic here :)

It also seems to me that the tastes of the little ones are changing, maybe before the theme of fireworks and balloons in the air were the best, maybe technology influences here. Still, watching the fireworks, sparklers, etc. will always be a spectacle, the colors so beautiful.

maybe technology influences here.

At least for the slightly older ones, this was the case. MY daughter doesn't really have access to that stuff often though.

This is fun for you. And for me I just hang out with friends and merry together to the fullest

Did you have a good night?

It seems there snows every new year, which is like traditional. However It has been a warm here for a week, which is not usual in fact.

I wish you and your beloved ones a good year ;)

well, in Finland it snows a lot and we are inland, so there is normally more.

I wish you and your beloved ones a good year ;)

Same to you :)

It's obvious you guys enjoyed your holiday, that's great! . Wishing you a fabulous new year

It was a nice evening and day - now, back into the work groove...

It's very beautiful there. I can feel the happy vibes and fresh air way over here in New York State, USA. Lovely.

I improved my downhill skiing by choosing someone better than I and skiing behind them. Smallsteps knows. Very sweet!

One thing I love here, is the air! Oh, and the tap water...

Do you ski often still?

No! It's been years and years! I can't afford to injure myself, so I would be afraid I would do something stupid out there, like try to fly as I used to.

I took my kids to a tiny ski resort back when they were young. I loved it so very much, except for the having to deal with multiple kids on the slopes part.

Greatly done boss and I can see the family are having a good time as well

They all seemed to enjoy it :)

it was nice to see the sun and perhaps it is "a sign" that 2022 might be a little better than 2021

I believe there will be more progress this year than last year.

Happy New year @karazkp

If there was one thing you would want to happen, what would it be?

Hive reaching $10 this year or more which is quite possible to happen.

It is possible - I wouldn't mind :)

Beautiful pictures! Littlesteps is so cute and seeing her ice skating puts a smile on my face :<)
The last time I experienced a Winter with that much ice and snow must have been 1990 or 1991 ( when I was 9 or 10 years young ). Afterwards, Winters became warmer, in The Netherlands.

We had a pretty warm New Year's Eve, here in Portugal, and I enjoyed it in good company, with delicous food, one single glass of white wine ( I hardly drink these days ), loads of nice tea, great conversations, an awesome board game that I never played before - Dixit - and a little bit of fireworks ( because the two teenage boys present couldn't seem to do without ). And then I spent the night in my friend's camper, where I slept better than has been the case in weeks ( no mosquitoes ).
They also lend me a mosquito net ;<)

Feliz ano novo!

Afterwards, Winters became warmer, in The Netherlands.

I was in Amsterdam just before Christmas in 2019 and it "snowed" ever so slightly - it was pretty.

How long have you been in Portugal for now? I have a friend or two around there who are also on Hive and it seems to be an attractive place to spend some time.

Nice to hear that! There is still some snow, every year, but natural ice to skate on has become rare.

I made my way to Portugal, at the start of 2018. In March, I will be here for 4 years.
And it's definitely not the worst place to spend your time ( and that is an understatement ), although I won't say that life is 'easy' here ;<)

Maybe not easy, but rewarding?

Definitely :<)
It's very much worth it. I never regretted my choice.
It gave me the freedom that I longed for for so long ( Portugal + cryptocurrency ).

It also helps to have my twin sister (niece, nephew and brother in law ) living near by :<)

It is quite evident the family are enjoying the feeling of making it to 2022

Welcome to 2022

Woww, what a beautiful way to start the New Year. Seriously, nothing could be better than this. Also, I give you many many happy returns of the new year. Hope you have a great year ahead! :)

This year I think I'm going all year without alcohol because well I really don't need it and the last time I had a little bit I felt like absolute crap.

So I think this next sober year is going to be a pretty easy one because I actually have multiple times went for the entire no drinking thing.

My first thought was I just wasn't going to buy any alcohol but then I thought that was a pretty short-sighted thought.

Why not really challenge myself. I mean I quit drinking before not thinking about it and spending more time living life. Let alone the amount of money I'm going to save by not spending anything on alcohol.

I'm pretty excited!!!!

Well, it is good to have new year resolutions. I really don't do alcohol. Nice content