NFTs and a contest that went nowhere

in #nft3 years ago

I recently attempted to start a new contest giving away NFTs as prizes but got exactly zero takers. I'm slightly miffed since all that was required was a comment to qualify. While I understand that a new account such as this will have difficulty getting traction/attention, I was not expecting a complete lack of results. I'm going to revamp it and try again but first wanted to post and get some other thoughts on it.

fireworks experiment.jpg

I have two main takeaways from this experience, first that there is a limited understanding of NFTs, even within the crypto space, and secondly that there is far less incentive for content consumption on this platform than content creation.

I have had several conversations recently along the lines of 'I don't really understand NFTs'. Part of the reason I started the contest was to increase awareness and understanding of NFTs so this was to be expected. I've made an attempt to explain them but I'm more of an enthusiast than expert. If any of you have come across a good explanation of NFTs, could you point me in that direction? I suspect that it is more a matter of time and repetition before they become better understood but I don't want to pass up a good means of speeding that process up.

As I was thinking about the contest, it occurred to me that practically every contest I'm familiar with on here is based upon you submitting your content and if selected, you win a prize. With my contest and NFTs more generally, the content IS the prize, which is a bit of a different way of looking at things.

Unless you're already sitting on a decent bit of HP, curation rewards don't amount to a hill of beans and aside from that there is little incentive for consumption of content. In large part we're a giant community of content creators, but in order for hive to thrive and us to do well with it we need more than just other creators consuming said content. How do we accomplish this? How do we, for lack of a better word, 'train' people to consume content on hive and utilize dapps and all the fun stuff built off the second layer?

Anyone else tried to start a contest and struggled to get participants? Anyone have suggests aside from offering HIVE as prizes as well?

Sort:  

Good morning Jethro. Am I the only one having issues between ecency and peakd? I'm not getting everyone's content, including yours.

When we started foodfightfriday back in the day, it seemed to take off fairly nicely but there's a lot of chefs on here, seems like everyone eats I guess. Eventually it was the same content producers but we kept going until time got the best of us.

You know you got my support around here, I'm in your corner but I have no clue what NFT's are and my assumption is they're a low valued to no valued type of thing on an already less visited platform. Maybe it's just me.

As far as content producers vs content consumers, I couldn't agree more. There's a lot more producers here than consumers. I'm still here though, I don't plan on going anywhere. Art, on the other hand, I've learned even the gangsters around here who have been posting for years on end don't get the same traction as the majority of content with personal stories.

I've not noticed any issues but I'm using 3 different front ends and just going through replying to comments.

I remember the fff although I could never remember to take photos to participate. I was expecting at least a bit of difficulty since it was something of a different approach but not quite crickets...

Thanks for that, I'm grateful for your support :) NFTs are a second layer thing on this blockchain, the ones I'm familiar with utilize hive engine in some capacity. Their value comes from their uniqueness (hence the nonfungible) and the art/photography they contain. The art that I caught a glimpse of in your video (and posted a while back), you could make NFTs of that and sell them, it's effectively the digital, crypto version of limited edition prints.

I'm just wondering how we draw in those people who are more consumers than creators. Figuring out the ins and outs of crypto and hive can be a challenge, I feel like in order for people to be willing to go through that there has to be an incentive beyond a smattering of curation rewards for just consuming content.

Least you didn't just drop the fucking iPad on the fuckin tile floor from about four feet up!

Dude. I just experienced the worst breakage across all possessed electronic devices during my entire existence.

FUCK!

That calls for a fuck fuck fuck FUCK!

The electronic devices are conspiring against us. . .

Congratulations @hiveart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The new HiveFest⁵ Attendee badge is waiting for you