LOSE TO WIN; glycolysis a case study

in #nigeria6 years ago

As I was making a return from school with my footwagen along the busy underg road on the hot evening of 08/06/2016 after a stressful day spent najorly on my departmental association (BIOSSA) duty and a little reading, my eyes come across a book on the shelf of a particular bookshop adjacent to 1500 junction. The book is title "LOSE TO WIN". Mere being privilege to sight the title, my heart begin to reflect on it even though I have not read the book before let alone knowing what the book is all about.

As I kept thinking on the title, the question of how is it possible to " Lose to win" arose in my heart, then my heart to go a particular course I was offering them MCB 403 with course title, microbial metabolism and physiology. In this course, there is a cycle there call Glycolysis (which explain the process by which the carbohydrate a man take in is being broken down into Pyruvate) and one of the reason the carbohydrate is being broken down is get energy in form of ATP (either by substrate phosphorylation of Oxidative phosphorylation) and this energy is use to maintain the normal functioning of the body.
pict--glycolysis-pathway-map-glycolysis-overview.png--diagram-flowchart-example.png

photo credit {www.conceptdraw.com/examples/draw-a-diagram-to-illustrate-glycolysis}
But what shock me as I continue in my thinking was the fact that, before the body can generate ATP from the breaking down of the glucose, it has to first invest (LOSE) some ATP to phosphorylate the glucose and I have a second thought of "what of if the body refuses to invest the ATP?" But the response to my thought question was that the body will just exhaust all the ATP it has and will come to a stage it will die (just because it refuses to lose) not knowing the losing will make it win death battle.

This same phenomenon applies to our everyday life, there are times we hold on to some things so dearly that we don't want to lose them nor let them go but letting them go is only a key that unlock better door for us. We can't continue to do same thing same way and expect a change result.

In lieu of this, as we go into 2018, I will like you and I to consider what we need to lose into 2017 to unlock better door in 2018.

Happy new year in advance to you all