THE BEAUTY OF MY MOTHERLAND.

in #nigeria7 years ago

My conception brought my parents a lot of joy and happiness, It showed that they were perfect. I was a wonderful combination of two beautiful people. After labouring for days at the hospital, my mother gave birth to me on a rainy day. If you ask my mother, she had just birthed perfection, something much more beautiful than anything she had ever. I was a symbol of my mother’s glory and my father’s strength. My entire family was ecstatic with joy and my grandfather’s joy knew no bounds. Definitely, his line was not going to be erased from history. At that very moment, I became a star and the whole of my family revolved around me. I was fussed over, I was adored and well cared for. On the eighth day of my birh, I was named “Okikiola”, which translates to English as “The fame of wealth”. I was blessed with salt and honey (“Iyọ” and “oyin” respectively in the Yoruba language) and it was said that “Aye omo yi maa ni adun” (May this child’s life be sweet), bitter kola (“Orogbo” in the Yoruba language) and it was said that “Omo yi maa gbo o” (May this child’s life be long), palmoil (“Epo” in the Yoruba language) and it was said that “Epo ni iroju ọbẹ, aye omo yi maa loju” (Loosely translated as May this child go through life without difficulty”, kolanut (“Obi” in the Yoruba language) and it was said that “Obi lo n bi iku, Obi lo n bi arun, omo yi ko ni ku, arun o ni gbe de” (May this child not die and may he not be conquered by illnesses) and other things. I was blessed with wealth, long life, strength virility and wisdom.
I was brought up to be respectful, tolerant, shrewd, brave honest and kind. Afterall, this is the basic values instilled in children, around Nigeria, irrespective of their tribe. Nigeria is a land of beauty and diversity. Some people might not care much for Nigeria because of what they have heard in the news. But I would only ask such people not to judge a book by its cover. If one were to go by what the news carry these days, one would not want to go anywhere. I’m not blaming the news agencies, as they are only doing what is necessary to stay in business. Moreover, people tend to prefer listening to “tales of doom” or something that allows them to criticize the government, so the news agencies will definitely give them what they want.
If you want are in need of somewhere to invest your money, I would recommend that you visit Nigeria. Oh, so you’ve heard of fraudulent activities being perpetrated by some Nigerians? Tell me what flock wouldn’t have a black sheep. Try out Nigeria and I promise you perfection.
If you ever happen to visit Nigeria, don’t forget to visit the Obudu cattle ranch in National museum in Lagos, Olumo rock in Ogun, Yankari national park, Erin-Ijesha waterfalls in Osun, Idanre hills in Ondo, Ikogosi warmsprings in Ekiti, Ogbunike caves in Enugu, Gurara waterfalls in Niger, the Argungu festival. If you are visiting in December the Calabar festival is totally amazing.

Some Tourist sites in Nigeria![IMG_20170528_123632.jpg]

The National Museum, Lagos.

Source

The Idanre Hills, Ondo.

Source

The Osun-Osogbo Grove

Source

Ogbunike Caves Enugu.

Source

Yankari National Park

Source

We also have a wide range of clubs which you can visit and have the fun of your life.
Have you tried our meals? If you try out our meals, I can promise you that you would not want to ever leave again. The Nigerian Akpu and Ogbono, Amala dudu with Ewedu and Gbegiri soup, Pounded yam and Egusi, Suya, Jollof rice, Fried rice, moinmoin, Beans porridge, Pepper soup, Boiled yams and fried eggs etc will give you a glimpse of heaven

SOME NIGERIAN MEALS

Pounded yam and Egusi


Source

Yam Porridge


Source

Suya

Amala with Ewedu and Gbegiri


Source
My name is Okikiola and I am a Nigerian.
()

A billion thanks to @elyaque for this incredible badge

Sort:  

love the photos

Nice and informative story and beautiful images. Thanks a lot for sharing.

You're welcome

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Illuminatus from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post received a 4.0% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @illuminatus! For more information, click here!

chei!!! that pounded yam and egusi...with that amala....#droolinghere