WHY DO PEOPLE GET MARRIED?

in #nigeria6 years ago

Yesterday, I was involved in a shocking argument that I felt I was hanging alone out of 4 girls. Someone asked what's the major reason why people get married. I felt the answer was as simple as ABC. So I responded thus: "People get married for companionship"

Pixabay:

They shook their head in negation saying that people get married to bear kids. This answer really baffled me. How can someone go into something as big as married to just bear and rear kids in this century. I felt their thinking was way to myopic for my liking.

I may not know so much about marriage but I know that the No 1 reason why people should get married is for companionship before any other reasons.

People are entitled to believe in whatever they want to but I still believe it is necessary to be rational sometimes. How can I ever believe that bearing kids supersedes companionship in marriage. We argued to a point where I decided that I had to cut it out.

But, I still want to hear from someone out there, really Why do people get married? Maybe I'll be the one to change my ideology about it.

Thanks for stopping by!

@vintageverve

Sort:  

@Vintageverve, thank you for using the naijapidgin tag.

We encourage and support minnows.

Join us on discord: https://discord.gg/5SR8CH4 for more fun and to submit your posts for curation.

You like what we are doing and would like to support us? Join our trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=naijapidgin

Congratulations @vintageverve! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!