Hiding things from yourself

in #night6 years ago

DSC00286.JPG

In a previous post I mentioned my sleep walking proclivities. Last night I walked again. My fitness tracker tells me I did a full half mile sometime in the wee hours. If only I did not have a tendency to hide my personal possessions while in this state. It took me over an hour to locate my sunglasses before I could walk the dog. There they were neatly tucked in my sock drawer. I wonder if there is a way to convince myself to leave a note where things are when sleep walking.

Sort:  

Isn't it kinda spooky? I mean where did you go if you walked a half mile?
Maybe some kind of body cam that is motion sensitive would be a good idea?
Or maybe a game camera of some kind?

Tag me with a GPS tracker and maybe I'll find out. lol

ya, know... I was thinking about this, and wonder if some kind of gentle alarm... set to trigger with a motion detector might not be a good idea?

Max sleeps on my bed with me and he gets down for a drink or to lay in front of the fan several times a night - neither of us would get much sleep with a motion detector setting off an alarm. Good thought though. The sleepwalking is something I've done pretty much since I could walk. It's just frustrating that occasionally I hide my personal effects in that state. Last time it was my pants and it took me four days to find them.

I do think with some motion detectors, you can change the sensitivity level to a higher level so that Max doesn't set off the alarm? And, like I said the alarm could be something very gentle, like the sound of 'waves' or something quite rousing like a Marching Band... I'm sure there must be something out there?

Funny comment about losing your pants, and all :)

Lol I'm just thinking of the reactions of the other members of the household hearing a marching band going off several times a night. Better to tag myself with a tracker and at least see where I am going than risk the wrath of the other tenants. When I am in that state I don't wake easily.

I hadn't thought about the 'not easy to wake part'.

I suppose a shock collar is out of the question? :)

Do you perhaps take sleeping pills or has this been a lifelong thing?

Never touch sleeping pills. I've done this since I was a small child.

Oh dear. I'm something of a sleepwalker but I don't do much when I am at it. As a child I would wake up in strange places in the house. As an adult I mainly go to the toilet and back, which I consider a useful skill

I've made omelettes and eaten them in my sleep and once I found myself behind the wheel of my car on the highway a good distance from home.

Wow! The driving part is scary

I'm hoping that is a one time event otherwise I will be locking up my keys before bed.

That would be wise