Beginners guides

in #noob2 years ago

This whole Hive thing seems really cool but I wish there was more help for a nooby like me. I got here via playing splinterlands and I'm fairly up to speed with crypto but still feel a bit lost.

Any useful links or vids would be appreciated.

Sort:  

In what way or about what, do you feel lost? Will do what I can to help but you must ask the right questions. ;)

Thanks for the reply, good film reference too btw 🙂. I find the whole site/sites not very intuitive. It feels clunky to navigate to me.

I had no idea how I was supposed to increase my voting power, even faithful old youtube is very limited on guides for hive. I have since managed to stake a small amount of hive and think that should help me.

I do find it all really interesting.

I wouldn't trust YT. They recently deplatformed a very influential Hive developer @leofinance.

There is a wealth of documentation out there but the question would be what precisely you are trying to accomplish. I have dabbled with the Hive API a lot in the past but it's generally not needed for the end user as there are tools designed to take that burden off your shoulders.

I tend to be the stubborn type and think my autocurator is down as I run it from my own server and eventually it requires restart. You don't have to worry about that mess. Set up idle curation voting on https://hive.vote.

You can also share your fanbase link in your blog like this and invite your regulars to support.

These tools really help and highly recommend your consider voting for @mahdiyari as a witness for maintaining them.

As far as accumulating and powering up Hive, I use Bittrex personally and the @ecency interface to power it up.

Let me know if you need any help or have specific questions

Thanks so much, this is exactly the kind of info I was after.

I did join the rising star curation trail as I play that game a bit too now. After a few days it hadn't voted on anything so not sure if it hadn't worked or I'm just impatient.

Why did youtube remove @leofinance? I'll check that out.

My main reason for posting initially is my voting value is 0% and I thought it would stay there until I do something to kick start it. Now I have staked some hive it should rise I think?

Ill have a look at @ecency

Thanks again for helping


Hey @snowboarderpete, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Oooh thanks, the best tasting beer is free beer. I'm from North Lincolnshire? I assume you're from the Uk too? 🍻 Cheers

Hello @snowboarderpete! This is @chillwithshanna from @ocd (Original Content Decentralized) team. We saw that you already posted your first blog here in Hive! Congratulations and welcome!

The best way to start your journey here in Hive is do an awesome introduction post. You can choose on whatever information you would like to share and be creative as you want to be. You might want to tag who introduced you to hive in your introduction post to thank them. This will help other Hivers get to know you and be comfortable supporting your works here.

It's also best to subscribe to Communities you like and share your blogs there to have a wider range of audience. Or you can check out the Communities Incubation Program.

Also, letting you know since content on the Hive platform is monetized, using other people’s ideas or images could be considered as an offense and which is also viewed in a serious light on the blockchain. Here is a useful collection of resources about how plagiarism and abuse is viewed and handled on Hive.

If you are looking for tips and information as a Hive newbie, click here: Newbie guide. If you have questions, you can hop into Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions. Feel free to tag @lovesniper @chillwithshanna once you have made your awesome introduction post! Happy Blogging!

That,s a big help, Thanks. I'm impressed so far with how quick to respond and helpful people are on here.

Congratulations @snowboarderpete! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day
Our Hive Power Delegations to the February PUM Winners

Maybe this will help https://peakd.com/hive/@steevc/a-guide-to-hive-from-my-experience

Feel free to ask questions.

Where in the UK are you?

!BEER