Getting next years strawberry plants ready!

in #norway7 years ago

First of all, sorry for not posting in a while! I've been too busy IRL to sit on the computer.
But I will make the time for Steemit in between everything I do!

Here are the wild growing strawberry plants I placed in the start of summer...
20170823_133400.jpg
They did make some berries, but not the type/size/taste I was looking for...
That is why they're going to be replaced with my Danish Corana plants.
If you haven't seen my post on them, check them out by clicking here!

This took me quite a while, but here they are, all chopped up! Ready to become new soil...
20170823_195626.jpg
If you look closely, you can see some horsetail plants. I picked a few to chop them up together with the rest. They contain 3-15% sillica, something that's rather rare in nature.

Here you can see me turning everything into the soil. I've used a 5L bucket of organic chicken-shit pellets also a little dolomite lime. But very little, since strawberries do not like too high PH. The idea is that most of the nitrogen in the chicken-poo will be gone before spring starts. Too much nitrogen will not make me berries... ;)
20170823_200512.jpg

Here are the strawberry runners put in place :) They're already bigger than my runners last year was, so I'm confident next year will bring me loads of berries!
20170823_203002.jpg
A closeup look:
20170823_203012.jpg
I think they'll grow quite big before winter comes..! I'm going to look into ways of protecting them from the cold. If I can manage to make the plant foliage survive the winter, I'll get really early berries next year!

Stay tuned for more @wooly!

Sort:  

This post received a 2.5% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @wooly! For more information, click here!

nice job! have some too and noticed they get more blossom if they're hanging. Not sure why but it works.

Thank you @sebako :) Hanging how? With berries hanging outside pots?
They'll also get more blossoms if there's less nitrogen, and more phosphorus & potassium. With too high nitrogen levels they'll create loads of foliage, and runners... Giving them fertilizers in autumn helps, as the nitrogen vaporizes before spring ;)
I purposely gave them too much nitrogen this year, to get as many plants as possible... Two plants turned to 28 ;)