OCDB #newsteem Guidelines

in #ocd5 years ago

With the new Hardfork there will be a more strict usecase for OCDB.

Similar to autovote's side-effect making authors "lazy" and "farmy" we have noticed this trend a little bit hovering over OCDB users as well, many may even post for the sake of just using OCDB daily and that is not something it was meant for.

With this post we want to address some of the guidelines and rules against which posts you should not use OCDB for, we will add this post to our discord, our website and on the profile page of the @ocdb account to make sure everyone sees it. We will not give out how many warnings we will send out to accounts after having their @ocdb privileges revoked by removing them from the whitelist. In extreme cases we reserve the right to unvote or downvote the bidders using OCDB before removing them from the whitelist. We don't see our whitelisted authors as "customers" like other bid bots do as this project is a non-profit.

With HF21 we also welcome the community to voice their opinion on certain posts by using downvotes and over time with more data we will look into why certain accounts are receiving more downvotes than others and take a deeper look at their activity.

While OCDB does guarantee a profitable vote for your bid, your end payout may not be since #newsteem.

Guidelines

Before I get into each of the points, here is something you should consider. If you remember the post that got you into the whitelist, the one where an OCD curator curated you and highlighted you in the @ocd compilation posts, then think of that same standard for using @ocdb on. If it's a shorter, lower-effort post, then bid accordingly, you don't always have to use the max bid just because it is there - Steemians may downvote you if this is often the case.

  1. We are against bid bot "stacking" unless it is done with very low frequency and the posts are worthy of the "promotion", e.g. announcement posts, important changes, etc. If it's not something in that manner we will regard the frequency of stacking bid bots of the accounts history.
  2. No automated posts, This means no contest posts, since the rules are often similar as many other posts in the past and copy-pasted, happen frequently from the account, etc. But most importantly these are not CONTENT. Imagine someone wants to read posts when looking at @ocdb's voting history.
  3. Farmy, or low effort posts. Farmy goes in the same hand as low effort often. Don't post just to use your daily OCDB bid, it's similar as to getting autovoted, the quality will over time fade because you have a guaranteed profitable vote waiting for you - don't think that way.
  4. No religious posts.
  5. No crypto (shill) posts for certain altcoins, projects, ICO's, IEO's and tokens. The barrier here is a bit lower and will be judged on a case by case basis of the frequency of author. Basically don't use OCDB to validate a claim or make it look like many on Steem agree that "Dogecoin GoldCash is a great investment and you should sell your dog to buy more".
  6. No accusations without solid proof/No controversial posts. Here is a bit the same thing as the one above, don't use @ocdb's vote so it looks like a validation of your claims.
  7. Only english posts for now or native language + english (or with a link to your same post in english) unless @ocd is actively curating that language.

This is not the full list and will be edited over time, I want to make it clear though that @ocdb should be used FOR CONTENT. We will however give out warnings every time we see it being used against the guidelines or controversial so you will have a chance not to misuse it again in case you didn't read the guidelines.


Let me know your thoughts on this and if you have any other pointers you would like to add. As many of you know @ocdb is more of a community "bid bot" where bids are profitable and delegators get all of the rewards while the @ocd team mainly maintaines the whitelist and gives authors a chance to be part of it when we curate them. So it is in everyone's best interest to make sure it is being used for good and now you can use your free downvotes to let us know if you feel some posts are going against the guidelines or are abuse.

@ocd will be starting their regular curation soon and we also have some big news for our onboarding program to share very soon! Stay tuned!


Sort:  

Sounds legit. I agree with all...I'd add more if it was me but I can be a hard-ass at times. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah we'll probably update and evolve it along the way once we see some activity that we don't like and isn't up there yet. :p

Good plan. Gather intel, strategise then deploy.

Good to see you sticking to your principles, but I have seen people going for maximum reward from ocdb before. New Steam may mean revising expectations. I'm hoping it means higher average quality of posts. Earning should be based on effort and value. We're already setting people use their free downvotes on trending posts and I hope this continues. The trending page ought to be a showcase and not just of proof of greed.

I've seen plenty of accounts going for maximum upvotes on some real trash.
At least this upvote account seems to be taking some action to address it?

Well I glad you feel that way as this $123.21 post is worth more like ten bucks, fifteen if you want to stretch it. He went and bidded himself 63.02 percent on this post, this post is proof of greed if I ever saw proof of greed.

I can agree with that to some extent. The big accounts tend to help each other, but if they forget the 'small fry' they may find themselves ruling a ghost town. Trending is likely to be dominated by posts about Steem and that will not attract general users.

So long as they didn't "forget you" then you'll go along. That's hypocrisy at it's finest. So much for expecting you to flag this over valued post.

I've flagged plenty of others, but that's up to me to decide. I definitely won't be upvoting over-valued posts. My own rewards are not that important so feel free to downvote my posts.

These seem like solid guidelines - stake for quality content and authors like it was meant to be.

Posted using Partiko Android

Just wait until you hear what we have in store for the really good and consistent quality authors that use OCDB. ;)

Alright.. I couldn’t skip this one. Do tell.

You'll have to wait a bit to find out. :3

Oh, the way you're talking makes me think it's something juicy!

Sounds good to me!

Nice clear guidelines.

Also a good opportunity to test out my 100% upvote for the first time - now worth $0.11 if the predictive pay-out's been modified.

I'm sure you'll enjoy this comment under steemit's latest HF post...

Capture.PNG

he he :)

I was actually wondering if that was a 'genuine' steemian who'd posted it for a laugh, it does seem a bit too 'perfect' to be an actual bid-bot complainee!

either way, it's funny :)

My Upvote is worth nearly .07 cents now.

I'm at .007 :-) I thought it was a fully penny before but I guess not.

Uau! Love the new rules. Finally... if everyone is going to have this attitude and comply with it after the HF21, this is going to be a great success HF I can tell you that. I'm still rumbling around all the frenzy that happened last night when I as sleeping, but it looks like a "no big deal" to me. This time I can say the fork was more or less closer to what I was already expecting.

Gladly these validations exist.

Also, a very nice observation... I see a lot more 100% upvotes from big players than before. That is a great thing for new users!

I don't use Bid-bots but with these guidelines OCDB looks attractive. I don't know if my posts are great but at least they're all original so maybe I'll give it a go.

It has a whitelist and unfortunately for now the only way to get on there is by being curated by @ocd and the curation team there. Keep creating great original content though and they'll find you sooner or later. :)

That's the plan!

Now that's good motivation to keep on improving our content.

Pretty fair one. Always ready to make Steem a better place. And these guidelines are drafted accordingly.....no shitpost entertained

Thanks @acidyo for keeping up the standards for #newsteem!

I'm so excited and I cannot hide it, I'm about to downvote abuse and I think I'll like it woo hoo hoo :))

Posted using Partiko Android

One can't go wrong with modified music or movie quotes.
Because you're bad, you're bad come on. You know you're bad, you're bad come on, you know. You know you're bad, you're bad come on, you know. And the whole world has to answer right now, just to tell you once again, who's bad.

My upvote is worth 0 cents, but I just had to tell you how that tickled me... my soul is giving you a WHALE-sized upvote, although I cannot manifest that in the real world yet...

:D Thanks! Much appreciated as it's the thought that counts.

So I can't promote my Steem Cash fork but If I whale you up over there, could you reconsider it?

:^)

jk

whale me up first and I'll think about it :p

Great to see such a quick answer/adaption on HF21 with OCDB guidelines... !!!

Those are reasonable guidelines, completely agree. I have a question of another kind. I have real problems with SteemConnect and I’m trying to avoid it if I can. Here is an example of one of the problems:

OCB-2019-08-29_145811.jpg

I would like to join the community, but I wonder can it be done without the need to use SteemConnect?

Is there a possibility to nominate yourself here, with the posts like these:

https://steemit.com/informationwar/@lighteye/trade-war-the-law-of-unintended-consequences

https://steemit.com/informationwar/@lighteye/g7-summit-fox-in-a-henhouse

https://steemit.com/informationwar/@lighteye/ufo-s-and-the-cost-of-imperial-paranoia

https://steemit.com/informationwar/@lighteye/brexit-cutting-the-gordian-knot

…and avoid SteemConnect altogether?

Did u try the link from the discord server? #ocdb-faq

Don't really know of any other ways to delegate right now, maybe steemworld.org or vessel.

You can ask tipu..

@tipu I want to delegate 50 SP to @ocdb

And momentarily they should reply with a link for delegation.

@tipu I want to delegate 50 SP to @ocdb

Then you can use the Steem Keychain extension and turn on 'keychainfy' in the settings and it should intercept any SteemConnect links..

Hi @kharma.scribbles! Special squad of highly trained hamsters prepared this delegation link for you:
steemconnect 50.0 SP delegation to @ocdb.

That's a good set of guidelines. Lately OCDB was getting abused is what I felt, but guess with the changes people will become mindful of using it. Thank you

Great to find places keeping true to fresh good quality content only, appreciate the time and effort put into keeping it this way.

This is a great list to remember. I have been guilty of using @ocdb also for the occasional low effort posts, but it's nice to have clear, fair guidelines that make sense!

This is actually good news. The stricter the guidelines, the better for the community. :)

I'm glad OCD is making a comeback. :) I remember in the past, there was a tag #ocd-resteem... Do OCD curators check that tag? Thank you and more power. :)

Thanks for the guidelines, @acidyo. Good stuff! We all need a bit of refreshing now and then about posting good content.

Starting to see some instant impact of hf21 on the trending feed and hope more of the community comes together and realise that the trending feed can be made great again!

Glad to seen you're taking a stance on it as well with these new stricter guidelines to discourage lazier posts once whitelisted authors "made it in to the club" so to speak.

I like to think that the authors you curated still maintain a high level of quality and are worthy of using the bot though. I've seen some familiar names in that list who I've supported as well so will be keeping my delegation to you for now and am thinking about even upping it.

We'll see what the next few weeks brings as things begin to settle.

Posted using Partiko Android

Only english posts for now...

SPANISH SPANISH SPANISH!!! lmao come on,Spanish is the second language more use on the Steem Blockchain, let the spanish speaking people have some OCD Love!!

p.d.: i volunteer to help with curation if need it on the spanish department
p.d.d.: i will keep asking for spanish curation until you give us spanish curation just fyi you have been warn!!! lol

We will try to bring in languages as soon as voting power/price allows for it.

I like the sound of Dogecoin gold cash... But I don't have a dog... Will you take a cat?

No, Cat is a scam!

Dogs have a bloated blocksize relative to cats and rely too much on known trusted actors... Over time, this 'loyalty' leads to unwavering and unquestioned trust of these familiar nodes which leads to a further centralising of their behaviour.

Cats have a much nimbler zero-care proof of ownership protocol which means all transactions with them are quicker and more importantly trustless. Familiar nodes are established by are easily discarded as warranted by the situation.

Dogs eat cats, not the other way round. It's that easy to decide.

Heeeheeeehheeeee

Dogs TRY to eat cats at their peril ... unless said cat has been declawed

bengal-tiger_thumb.JPG

Dog_Poodle-Standard_Mobile.jpg

Ahahahahaha. Nicely done!

I don't know how my Sam would do with the Tiger and all the trees, but he was bred for big cats on the Savannah... Rhodesian Ridgeback..

I hope you did some misspelling and that you are talking about Catscan (Dutch Hardcore Techno producer) because stating that cats are scam, is just... so wrong. Meow! I'm throwing tons of lure enhanced with acid and a superduper poké ball at you. Deal with that.

Meow?

Shsh... (I have no idea how to write that but writing it anyway like that.)

No luring!

thanks for this info...@acidyo this will big help among steemians friends...Upvoted

I like the new system, but what is quality to someone might not be quality to someone else

Seems reasonable and fair! Looking forward to seeing what is in store. Thinking I’ll throw a bit more delegation towards you guys if you have sone tasty stuff in store as well! Keep kicking ass and thanks for all you guys do to help better this dump!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I WOULD just have graduated the program and THEN see this ... I now do not have a delegation from OCD, having a smidge over 500 SP on my own now. Would I still be eligible to use @ocdb?

The discord link is unresponsive. It looks like you linked this post instead of the discord link

Oh, my bad, here is a limitless one: https://discord.gg/dFSm59E

hi friend your post is very appreciate and i agree this. I am vote weakness so please send 1 steem after I return your steem
My post link

https://steemit.com/india/@avinashsingh/movement-against-plastic-to-improve-our-environment

Awesome. Thanks for the update.

Thanks for the post.

Glad to see you guys have a plan moving forward ❤️ personally I have no intention of using paid votes any longer hoping the culture change will make the difference 🙌 #NewSteem

PS, off topic, you made my nephews day thank you for that 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

It's interesting to know more about these "bid bot" that are big news these days.

You got a 63.02% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @acidyo!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current min bid is 2 SBD and max bid is 12 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Good explanatory guidelines, it is time to use ocbd in the new steem, in case I do not reach the limit of 20 steem in a post I will take ocbd as a plan B, I am happy to remain on the ocdb whitelist, I will soon start using again This nonprofit bot for good. greetings friend 🤗

What if I have OCD for using ocd?

You probably have OCD from the beginning if that's the case.

Thanks for a good explanation for the content quality ocdb is seeking to upvote!

By the way, do entries to @originalworks or cateredcontent sponsored contests fall under "shilling" space as specified in 5?

Sounds awesome :)

Thanks for the updated guidelines @acidyo, it seems that HF21 can really turn the tide for #newsteem!

Thanks for share guidelines

Posted using Partiko Android

to delegate a bit, to @ocd or @ocdb? tkx

Posted using Partiko Android

@ocdb for daily returns :)

Maybe it’s been addressed before but has anyone ever considered no self purchases from @odcb? Private purchases are already accepted, nobody ever complains about receiving a vote from a genuine supporter, and it would detour abuse.

This post has been resteemed!
Good luck!

Why not outlaw bidbots completely? If that is the direction taken it would be a more solid statement and easier to control.

It's not, people will turn to selling votes "behind the scenes" instead.

Which they could do with these rules too. But thanks for answering. Great to see all the efforts trying to promote quality posts.

Yeah but it's less work right now than just delegating to a bid bot, along with keeping things "secret", and if only kept between a few accounts, say 10 daily it is easier to spot - much like the votetraders.

Fair enough. I am only just reading about what OCDB is but I like the whitelist approach. Typical me to have my head up my arse making art and not keeping up with what's happening in the community.

Voted for the witness. Cheers!

Excellent news, I expected nothing less from you. I hope everything goes better with the fork and I can get better organic profits. I don't understand who puts money in post trash... The little I post is precisely because I prefer to maintain a certain quality in my writings...

I have some fear that the former "flags" today downvotes, will be used to demonetize post for ideology but not for its quality.

Is there any protocol use of the downvote? Or is it left to the discretion of the users? Because when it was a red flag, the meaning was understood as denouncing inappropriate content or content that fulfills the rules and this sense was now lost (in my opinion).