A self-portrait drawn during terribly interesting times-

in #ocd2 years ago

It was the Winter of 2016.

I was fresh out of the halfway house and hooked up with an old friend. Let's call her Jessi. At the time she was hard into slinging/using meth. She wasn't like that before I got locked up, and I was pretty shocked. Never would have figured.

My wife and I were renting an efficiency in Bismarck at the time. Bedbug-infested. Toilet would always flood. Wife and I slept on a leaking air mattress that had to be re-inflated ever three hours. Cramped, annoying quarters to say the least.

One blizzarding day Jessi stops by, throws her car keys in the distant snowbank and tells me that she needs to stay by my place. This is the same girl I saved from being kidnapped months earlier. That's a story for another day.

Of course I agree, I had the hots for her still.

But with her came all of her problems. My small apartment became an ad-hoc traphouse. Scumbags coming and going unannounced. Crashing on my sofa. Someone even stole my sunglasses. Fucking tweakers...

She was feeding me pot and meth constantly though, so I tolerated it. I'd just stay up and draw for days at a time.

I drew this while sitting on the floor mostly. It took about 200 hours over the course of a couple months.

One evening she brought me some acid and I decided to add color.

I think the end result was worth it-

but I do not miss those times at all. Though these current ones are no better...

Such Vile Processes- A Self-Portrait
Ink and acrylic on bristol board
11x14
2016

vilesmall.jpg

Sort:  

Wow! Such an intricate drawing with a interesting backstory. I guess like most drugs, meth also has an influence on human creativity. Thank you for sharing this, and we can only hope times get better from here on out.

!PGM !PIZZA

I remember my meth days. However I hated cannabis while I was on it. Only for the fact it me me fell guilty about my meth use. Crazy how dope gets ahold of you. Cool drawing!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@choof(1/9) tipped @andersart (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Congratulations @andersart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 29
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2021 - Become an Orca!