At the foot of Mehrangarh

in #ocd4 years ago

D1366712905C4D46AF63A66C9E6192E5.jpeg

Once, I was walking down a sloped street in Jodhpur, the famous blue city of India. Below me, a man quickly walked out of a house, turned up the hill, and began walking in my direction. His head was bent down over a bundle in his arms.

From behind him, a chorus of wailing voices followed him out onto the sun-baked street.

As he approached, I realized he was holding an infant. It was mostly swaddled in cloth. The infant’s arm hung down over the man’s arm. It swung limply with the motion of the man’s walk.

It was hot.

When the man passed me, he didn’t look up. He just walked by with his head down.

Quiet sobs caught in his throat.

The doorway he had come out of was black, a rectangle that held no light.

I turned and looked after him one time. His long, stiff legs carried him up the inclined street. Mehrangarh, the ancient fortress, stood high on the hill above him.

Sort:  

This life... full of as much sorrow as there is joy

:( <3

That it is.

I'll have to explore some of India next year :)

If things don’t improve with the nationwide lockdown, it might not be a very good place to visit in a year. Hopefully, the people there will be okay.

Yeah I get that. I've heard many foreigner workers as well as locals are struggling really bad for basics needs rn.

An interesting culture, to be sure. Glad to see you posting 🙂

Congratulations @boxcarblue! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 24000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @lizziesworld!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks for the support. I am glad to see you must have got thru the pandemic!! 😁

Wow. 2 months have flown by since your message. Yes, I’ve survived the pandemic. There really hasn’t been much going on with all of that where I live in Japan.

Just noticed you are active! How’s it going?

Active might be an understatement, but I’ve checked in for a minute at least. All is well over here. How are things with you?

As good as can be I suppose. Glad to see you around again!

Thanks. It’s nice to see so many people still plugging away at it over here.

Hello again! :)
Thank you for peeking in and the support - what a welcome name to see again... Good to read all's good with you and family 👆 Take care, stay safe! 😊

It’s definitely been a while. After Steemit became Hive I couldn’t keep up with all the changes and got left behind. I’m happy to that you’re still taking pictures. Is all well?

Yeah, I do understand... after awhile, it doesn't feel 'relevant' any more...
I kinda almost got left behind after not posting for a year or so, but it does come back once I started. Although am not taking as many pictures as before... :)

All is as good as can be. Am grateful I (and all loved ones) have not suffered too badly through the last two years - can't believe it's two years... And still one after another, unfortunate circumstances carry on testing us - we just had one of the worst floodings here, many lost everything but the clothes on their backs. And the forecast of the monsoon is that more is yet to come... Just another day...
You take care, keep safe - I see there's lots of snow in Japan...

I’m sorry to hear about the flooding. That’s a common problem throughout Japan from year to year and every time I see people on the news shoveling buckets of mud out of their houses, salvaging ruined picture albums, and/or just staring at what is left of their houses my heart goes out to them. I can’t even imagine.

Yes, there is a lot of snow in the mountains right now. I got stuck in a pretty big snow storm last week while skiing. All the snow was great on the mountain slopes, but not so great on the road while driving home.

I’m glad to hear you and your loved ones are managing and look forward to your next post.