Sweet Belgium

in #ocd2 years ago

img_20160510_wa0014.jpg
Grand place of Bruxelles

Belgium is a country known for its chocolate but also for its delicious "moules frites" Moulds and chips.

img_20191023_204029.jpg

img_20191017_121706.jpg

This does not prevent a good Belgian from having delicious cheeses, sausages or excellent wines like the very dear French neighbours...

good_food.jpg

img_20191017_173232.jpg

To continue in our culinary, or Belgian gastronomy, I present you some of my favorite beers

la_duvel.jpg

la_tharree.jpg

Do you know what a Trappist beer is? Let me explain in a few words

A Trappist beer is a beer brewed by or under the control of Trappist monks. These Trappist beers are generally top-fermented and must be brewed in accordance with the criteria defined by the International Trappist Association if they are to bear the Authentic Trappist Product (ATP) logo issued by this private association.

Here are two of the ones I always drink when I go to Belgium

la_westmalle.jpg

orval.jpg
Orval is a very special beer and I'll give you an extract of its history...

The main product is Orval, a beer with 6.2% alcohol. It was first produced in 1931 and has a complex and unusual taste, also due to the use of a particular yeast strain: Brettanomyces bruxellensis . The colour is light amber, slightly cloudy, the foam is voluminous and persistent.
Michael Jackson called Orval a "splendid aperitif" and a "world classic". The first is the use of dry hopping (cold hopping), a technique of Anglo-Saxon origin which consists of adding large quantities of hops during the three weeks of maturation. The other is the addition, at the end of the maturation process, of Brettanomyces bruxellensis strains, typical wild yeasts from Belgium. The hops used are Hallertau, Styrian Goldings and Strisselspalt.

In addition to all this gastronomy, I really like the old buildings that we find in the cities in Belgium, I took some pictures while walking in Brussels, the capital of Belgium.

wp_20170310_17_02_42_pro.jpg

wp_20170312_14_59_19_pro.jpg
the "cinquentenaire" is a very important monument in the history of brussels.

img_20160510_wa0010.jpg
the famous Grand Place in Brussels, well known in Belgium and throughout the world

People from all over the world pass through the great square of Brussels, which is really beautiful.

I took some pictures of some places, some places that I found very beautiful like the mont des arts or other small places on my way...

img_20160510_wa0006.jpg

img_20160510_wa0012.jpg

wp_20161216_001.jpg

wp_20170310_15_59_01_pro.jpg
Mont des arts of Bruxelles

I couldn't resist and took a picture of a frozen stone and the station under the snow...
wp_20170101_14_23_29_pro.jpg

wp_20170102_002.jpg
the station

To end on a high note, I would like to post two magical moments that I spent there about 4 or 5 years ago... (time flies...)

wp_20160618_23_37_19_pro.jpg
Belgium was going to play a football match and I was with people I really like and who helped me a lot during my time in Belgium that year.

img_20160514_wa0002_2_.jpg
A friend from Brazil was in Germany at that time and visited us with his flute to make music with us on the "Mont des arts"

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you !! 💚

Nice to see my country in the picture like that! Nice recap!

Thank you ! Where do you live in Belgium ? Maybe I know the place because I live in Belgium some years...

I live near Brugge

. Oooh, I forgot to talk about Bruges... Ah ... I don't know much about Bruges. I know Arlon, Namur and Bxl better

I have been to Namur and the Ardennes a lot, and Brussels is… well different but beautiful. But you should definitely check Bruges out one day…

Congratulations @faowna! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Christmas Challenge - 1000 Hive Power Delegation Winner
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hello! I see you are using the wrong button to cast a vote, I guess not on purpose. Instead of votes you are making downvotes which is not a good practice. Left button is for voting, right for downvoting.

Dear @faowna,

The current HiveBuzz proposal will expire in a few days.

Do you mind supporting our proposal for 2022 so our team can continue its work next year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Thank you. We wish you a Happy New Year!