Delightful Diversions

in #ocd3 years ago

Careywood Coffee Company


IMG_1488.jpg

Due to it being mud season, one must be flexible in one's schedule. Every Sunday I record a podcast at our house with my most excellent cohost, Brady. However, due to my driveway being, well, a bit impassable to cars, we had to adapt our recording schedule.

That little life diversion set off a course of events yesterday that included many hours of both delightful and somewhat interesting diversions. One of the more elating instances happened when my co-host was derailed by a meeting gone awry (the other attendee was late), so I had a bit of time to burn before he met for our recording sesh.

Fun fact, I rarely buy a coffee. Like, hardly ever. Don't get me wrong, I love, love, love a luscious espresso, americano, or breve, but I have an affinity for being frugal, so I tend to support my local coffee shops by purchasing beans from them and making my own brew. Plus, I don't drink a ton of coffee. But, on occasion I enjoy it as a treat, so with a few extra minutes available, I decided to whip into Careywood Coffee Company in Athol, Idaho.

IMG_1487.jpg

Athol is a tiny town. Well, was, but things are a changing. Athol is home to the Pacific Northwest's largest theme park, Silverwood. It is also home to a lovely little coffee shop. My easily bemused form gets overly excited about unexpected things in unexpected places, so my inner weirdo got really amped when I walked into the generic white shop door set in the side of a standard large metal shop building that currently houses a little market and chiropractor, and like Lucy in Narnia, was transported to a different setting altogether.

IMG_1486.jpg

A charming simplicity radiates from the space, everything is shades of gray, blue, burlap brown, and chalk board black. A complete lack of pretentiousness colors Careywood Coffee Company, you can tell they care about what they do not how they are perceived. The bags of coffee beans sitting on pallets next to a big table that beckons you to sit a while made me feel welcome right down to my still chilled from winter toes.

IMG_1483.jpg

After getting a sense for the space, I was welcomed by the sole barista in the joint, she was just so sweet, but not saccharine I'm just doing it for the customer service gods so. I sensed she was genuinely happy I walked through the door, and as she set about composing my salted caramel breve, I chatted amiably with her while I took in the sights.

IMG_1485.jpg

Everything screamed competent minimalism. The menu was not some overwhelming monstrosity, rather it was a to the point offering of well-crafted delights. The baked goods in the case by the pay-point was full of goodies both gluten-laden and not, all crafted in the artisan style with a focus on composition not mass production.

To my right was a long wooden bar, and at it was a man on the phone. He had a pleasing voice, though at this point I might have been fully entranced by the homey vibes that struck me when I sauntered in. My face broke into a big smile as I noticed the giant moose head on the wall above the chatting man. The moose's job was to oversee the roasting machine below it, that's my theory anyway.

IMG_1482.jpg

My musings were broken by the barista walking over to hand me my coffee. I thanked her and we finished up our interaction the way hundred of thousands of shopkeepers and customers do, with expressions of gratitude and hope your day goes well, well-wishes.
I'm just so thankful that instead of being annoyed by being inconvenienced time-wise that I decided to go on a little adventure instead. Discovery and whimsy are far greater uses of living in the moment than spending my precious time ruminating in anger or annoyance over something that I have no control over anyway.

Plus, the coffee was out of this world amazing!


And on that note, I have seeds to start and pizza to construct, hope you all have a little bit of whimsical adventure today, no matter what Life throws at you😊


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's coffee foam encrusted iPhone.


Sort:  

Y'know, I've never been in that coffee shop! I'm not a regular at those places, either, although I tend to pop in at Brickel Creek once a month or so. I may need to investigate it one of these days.

It is totally worth a visit, that lovely little coffee shop! Can't wait to hear your opinion after the investigation.:)

I love coffee to much and for saving money, I brew coffee at home :D


Anyway, did you know about the FOODIES BEE HIVE community? Link: https://peakd.com/c/hive-120586/created

I recommend you post Food and beverage-related content into this community to get better support.


image.png

Congrats for being OCD Nomination of The Day in this post: https://peakd.com/@ocd/ocd-daily-issue-713



For the information, the communities we're curating right now please check OCD Communities Incubation Program - Update #20. You are welcome to cross-post your posts from that community onto OCD with the peakd.com feature to get more visibility and engagement from the OCD subscribers.

Good morning @anggreklestari!

I love meandering through the Foodies Bee Hive community, there is so much awesomeness there! In the future I will do my best to remember to drop a post in there and support more of the posts than I currently do, you are all awesome!:)

And isn't it just glorious to save money by doing things at home? For some reason it also makes me enjoy anything I get made for me on occasion even more.

Thanks for stopping by and hope you are having a most excellent day!

I look forward to your foodies post.

🌸🌸🌸

Hello @generikat

Coffee Alert.jpg

Good morning @cinnccf!

Thank you so much for your delightful kindness and for creating such an awesome community! I sprinkled a dash of cinnamon on my morning brew in your honor:)

Hello @generikat
Your comment made me smile😊
You're most welcome :)
Please drop by anytime.
Oh btw, your profile pic is awesome!

Oh girl ... save me a seat at the stone table. I love coffee and cafés but these days the rules and regulations ... muzzles ... have me indulging at home. Plus I like a full cream in mine and not ... spit, gag ... half n'half or coffee cream.

I'm so wicked.

LOL! Oh yes, another cream aficionado! If I had a $1 for every time I’ve been told “we have half and half,” when I’ve requested cream, my horde would be hip deep. That poem Pryde was spot on.:)

Wish we could sit at a cafe table and enjoy sipping a brew, our wicked fires sated by cream and creativity ignited by a hearty imbibing of bean brew and fantastic conversatin’.

Til then, I toast my cream and cocoa butter laden mug to you my friend, hope you get to foray into cafe-land once again sooner rather than later!

I feel change on the wind and it smells like dark roast:)