Sedate Sunday

in #ocd4 years ago

A Flower Bloom Gazing Promenade, With A Visual Veggie Garnish


IMG_9449 (2).JPG

Sometimes I just need a break from things, a phenomenon I am sure I share with most people. Today, after spending the entire morning recording my very first podcast, I needed a little bit of a brain clearing wander before I went to phase two of my day: a birthday party.

IMG_9447.JPG

There is something restorative about gazing upon a blooming flower. Granted, I have been up to my elbows in flowers over the last few days as I have been harvesting my lavender crop, but sometimes one needs to just stop and stroll through the bellflowers. Or something.

IMG_9453 (2).JPG

Yesterday it was about 90 degrees, the first real summer weather we have experienced. Around the farm many of my plants put on their summer wear and bloomed out in all their finery. It seems that my favorite color has more representation than all the other shades in the color wheel, for I noticed there was bit more purple in the photos that I snapped than all the other colors. I apologize for nothing.

IMG_9452 (2).JPG

On my stroll I discovered the hyssop is almost ready for cutting, yet another thing I need to cut, bundle, and dry.

Later, after the birthday party, I get to come home and hang quite a few more lavender bundles for drying, but as my gullet will be full of tasty party food and lavender is more than a bit soothing, you are not going to hear any angst from me, it is a sedate Sunday after all!

IMG_9456 (2).JPG

And I will totally link the first episode of our podcast, I The Show, when we launch it, in a future blog post. Lots of creation going on around these parts these days, but then again, as a Hiver I suppose I am in more than good company when it comes to being a creative soul:)!

IMG_9454 (2).JPG

Hope you all have had a beyond lovely weekend!!



Veggie Garnish Time!

IMG_9445.JPG

In a few weeks I am going to have the tomato harvest of canning champions!


IMG_9446 (2).JPG

My asparagus box is looking promising! I think a bit of fertilization is on order and perhaps next year I will have the harvest of my roasted asparagus dreams!


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's sedate and never irate iPhone.