Sprouting Off

in #ocd3 years ago

IMG_1550.jpg

It's that time again! That's right, it's sprout transplanting time! Somewhere back in the Kat archives is a post about how I sprout my tomato and pepper seeds on paper towels and then transplant them into planter cells. I have been starting my tomatoes and peppers this way for a long time now, mainly because I can control my germination rate in a way.

IMG_1544.jpg

Behold my super fancy and technical sprout starting apparatus!

It's nice to know exactly how many tomato and pepper plants I have instead of playing the germination guessing game. Instead, I throw about thirty percent more seeds than I want to actually grow into some damp paper towels in a pie plate, loosely cover the whole pile with some plastic wrap, and chuck the whole thing on top of my fridge. Every couple of days I check to see if the seeds are still moist, and in about seven to ten days I have little sprout friends.

I then go get a seed tray, some soilless potting mix, some masking or painter's tape, a sharpie, a spray-bottle, and most important of all a pencil.

IMG_1546.jpg

Then transplanting time commences.


Today, I listened to the soundtrack to The Umbrella Academy while I transplanted my little soon to be food-bearing friends. Plants may or may not like music, but one thing I know for sure is that Kat's like music and I am fairly certain that if the sprouts are sentient then they totally appreciated my groovy dance moves.

Anyway...The process goes like this.

I carefully peel a sprout from the paper towel:

IMG_1548.jpg

Then, I poke a hole in the soil with my super technical planting tool (the pencil):

IMG_1547.jpg

Next, using the pencil, I gently poke the sprout down into the hole I made.

IMG_1549.jpg

And finally, I give my freshly transplanted sprout a mist of water.

IMG_1551.jpg

Now it's important to note, that for the first couple of days you want to be extra super careful to not let your little transplants dry out. I mist them a a couple of times a day, or sometimes more if the weather or room that they are in is warm. My sprouts are kept on a grow shelf I made myself from an old plastic shelf and some florescent light fixtures that I put grow light bulbs in. By the time my seedlings get too tall for the shelf, it's usually time (and safe) to move them out to the greenhouse anyway.

Now, I don't know if my paper towel sprouting method is the best way in the world to start seeds, but since I have started doing my high heat on the front in to germinate seeds (like tomatoes and peppers) this way, my life has been easier and my heating bill has been less extra. Plus, I just like the method, it makes me feel a bit like a plant surgeon or something. Okay, maybe I am just weird there, but honestly, when it's sprout transplanting time my form rejoices because that means it's spring!


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's currently not too thrilled about having vermiculite stuck in its crevices iPhone.

Sort:  

John Kempf, who has been extremely helpful in my journey as a gardener/farmer, has said the fewer times a seedling is stressed, from transplanting/too little or much water/too hot/cold/not enough feeding/etc the much higher the production you will get from that plant.

So my seeds go in the pot they will grow out in, a large 4" peat pot, and I've figured out the best grow out spots for them and they go there until they get hardened off, and I try to plant them as close to 3 weeks after starting seeds as I can. He says that plants, by and large but not always, shouldn't spend longer than that not in the ground.

I know lots of gardeners who start in tiny cells, and transplant and transplant before finally planting. Always wondered what their production would be if they didn't...

I grown only 8 tomato plants and they make enough tomatoes for a year's supply of sauce, ketchup and soup. I always wondered what people who grow dozens do with all the tomatoes, but maybe they aren't get the full benefit from each plant....

Just my wonderings on growing from seed and the various methods...

Ooh, he sounds like a man of greatness, I love the less is more approach!

Regarding yield, I get all the tomatoes I need (and then some!)from twelve plants, but then again I don’t play the potting on game either, as usually my sprouts go right in the pot they stay in til they are plunked in the ground. I’ve learned the hard way as a youngin that you do not start your seedlings too soon, so I’m super glad to hear that is a cool thing:)

I can tell you what I do with the dozens of tomato plants I grow, half the plants I give away to my friends and family, and the other half I plant and give away the fruit to other friends and family, sometimes to the same ones who over fertilize the plants I gave them and get sad yields. Honestly, I’m a tomato growing nut, I just love raising them, it’s an affliction, but few things make me happier than wandering through my rebar cages of plants that are over my head while pinching off suckers, like I said, a nut😁

I am so glad you shared your wonderings!

You did carefully. A pencil used as a tool.

I also danced while I transplanted, it was fun🙃

Cool, ready to plant. I also apply the same sprouting technique.

Awesome! I just love this technique so much, I’m glad to hear there’s others out there rocking it too.😁

I am absolutely want you included in any apocalypse or extended space travel scenario:):):)

Grrl ... you hare hanDEEEE!!!

Ooh, can you imagine us living on Mars or traversing the stars? Poetry and produce! I’m in!

Haha ... I've got strawberry sprouts; will travel:)

My husband is the one in our household who used to start seeds. I've never tackled it. Looks like quite a project.