Traveling Tales-Serene Spaces Edition

in #ocd3 years ago

The Japanese Friendship Garden Of Phoenix


IMG_0821.jpg

Sometimes amongst the hustle and bustle of humanity's noisiest spaces you find little gems of serenity and solitude. Those two S words definitely define the Japanese Friendship Garden Of Phoenix.

IMG_0830.jpg

Set smack dab in the middle of the very loud and busy metropolis that is Phoenix, Arizona, the garden offers a tranquil patch of reflection inducing landscape to stroll and immerse yourself in.

IMG_0835.jpg

I've always been a fan of Japanese gardens, as they are not too busy in the stimuli department. Instead there is a careful cultivation of order and a large amount of thoughtfulness on display in every Japanese garden I've ever strolled through, the Friendship Garden definitely embodied these principles.

IMG_0840.jpg

In the middle of the garden is a large pond that has paths all around it. In the pond are resident ducks, and my favorite, Koi. The large carp were just floating around all chill and existential-like, and I really appreciated their just there presence after spending 14 days with five million people. Just swimming, eating, and eliminating waste sounds like a grand time, doesn't it?

IMG_0837.jpg

As a grower of plants, I truly enjoy the skill and effort that was on display in the garden regarding all of the botanical life present. The carefully trimmed and coaxed trees and shrubs had a glorious presence, subtle yet without being flashy or intrusive. My entire form relaxed the minute I entered the garden and began to contemplate its peaceful bearing.

IMG_0834.jpg

And now, enough writing, for the pictures of the garden speak for themselves, even if it is second hand serenity, I still love it. And if you are ever in downtown Phoenix, do your well-being a favor and stop by the garden for the stroll. You won't regret it!

IMG_0831.jpg


IMG_4583.jpg


IMG_0833.jpg


IMG_0839.jpg


IMG_0838.jpg


IMG_0843.jpg

If you are interested in the fascinating origin and history of the garden, check out the link below:

All the info about the Garden!


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's mostly serene and never inclined to preen iPhone.

Sort:  

Really nice @generikat, cool name too. This would've been a good pin for @pinmapple. Heard of them yeah?

Thank you @dandays!:) I have heard of @pinmapple, and I need to get off my flintlocks and get more involved in that and more of our awesome communities. I swear with the way life is most of the time, it is really easy to learn something and fall into a predictable, repeatable pattern of content creation. Oof, lol!

Of course, my pleasure. Your article is great for pins and fellow travelers, just a friendly reminder that's all. It's real simple, they got it set up real nice over there.

That looks like a larger version of the Japanese Garden in Manito Park. I'm sure I would love it!

I didn't even know there was a Japanese Garden over there! Now I have to take a ramble into WA at some point lol! And I know you would love the Garden in Phoenix, maybe next time you head to AZ you can swing by:)

wow @generikat!! If I'm ever in Phoenix, I definitely need to visit here. 😄

This must seem like an oasis in the middle of Phoenix in the summer ... something I would definitely visit if I were there!

Beautiful photos!

What a beautiful place. I would love to take a walk through there. I will bet Mr. Miyagi help create this park.