When Everything Breaks

in #ocd4 years ago

I've had a couple days now where I keep breaking things.

First I dropped my PC speakers on the ground so many times they finally stopped working.

Then I washed off a cutting mat and put it in the countertop drying rack, but it fell out and took out my glass french press that was beside it on the counter.

Then today I woke up to find the VOIP phone isn't working. I've been trying to reconfigure it.

I drove over to one of my family's houses to drop off a vegetable and cheese puff pastry I made last night, and drove with incredible attentiveness, realizing I was in a breaking streak and not wanting to be in a car accident.

As Above So Below

I think sometimes we just have unconscious patterns at play affecting how everything goes. Call it astrology, or karma, or hormonal shifts... whatever the reason. But things seem to go in patterns. Right now I'm in a break things pattern. So today I will be doing not much of anything, though I do hope I'll get the VOIP working today.

I wonder if it may be a broader pattern I'm tapping into, not just for my life.

Isn't there a way we could look at much that is happening now as a period in which everything is breaking?

Our economic systems are breaking.

Our political systems are breaking.

Our educational system is breaking.

Our medical system is breaking (at least here in the US).

Our community systems are in some places breaking and in others existing breaks are starting to be repaired.

And that is the point of it, isn't it?

What breaks does so in order to be repaired in a new and better form.

We are growing. We are improving. We are evolving.

Along the way, things have to break.

As a Buddhist teacher wisely instructed me once:

The path of awakening is the path of disillusionment. We must let go of all our illusions, especially our illusions about awakening.

How's your letting go doing today?

Are you fighting it or dancing it?

spiral1037508_1280.jpg
Image Source

Sort:  

I dropped my phone which has well outlived the usual lifespan of a smartphone.

nothing broke EXCEPT the volume control slider. It only goes down now.

You're lucky! You've got a phone with 9 lives.

My headphones now have hockey tape holding them together...

But I'll be alright.

LOL 😆 right!

Evolution!

Not comfortable for us anymore than it probably is for the caterpillar, alas....

Times are changing very fast and with the current situation seems like the changes have accelerate even more.

It feels that way to me too, for better and for worse. LOL

They say things come in three's (whoever "they" are?) so fingers crossed your wave of destruction could be over:)

😆 Yeah, I hope so too. I got the phone working again today by going by to scratch and reconfiguring it as if just bought.
Still staying away from any large machinery!

Good idea, no flying planes or operating excavators for a few days, best to air on the side of caution:)