Ouija-2014

in #ocd4 years ago

I recently watched a 6 years old movie called Ouija, most of you might have watched it, it is supernatural horror movie.
Considering the fact that it included a game board which many must have played with , at least once. I did too during my teenage.
If you still can't relate let me show you the board-

image.png
Image Source

Yup, that's the board you may have slightly different one but somehow the format is similar.
On one fine night of summer, my cousins and I took this board out in a room with dim lights and all five of us sitting around the board started the game as instructed. We felt nothing, but yea I still believe in it and as our grandma (maternal) caught us playing, she gave us a lesson that we should not play with such things whether we believe or not some things should be left undiscovered, universe hold so much more than mankind have ever discovered.
She is not with us now but her ideology is and will always be with us.
Now. talking about the movie, It wasn't much scary to me but yes the story was quite typical I could predict at some parts that what would happen next. That's pretty normal in typical horror movies.

image.png
Image Source

The movie was a hit but critics ripped it apart in every way possible. The next part was considered to be better than the first one, As I couldn't find it on prime so I didn't watched it.
Anyways instead of being of a predictable nature I just didn't liked the character's acting too. They couldn't just reflect the terrified look. I wasn't invested into the film while watching. But yea my brother found it interesting who is like 6 years younger than me.
This shows people have different taste. But considering mine I would give a 2/5 rating to the film. But not to forget the concept of bringing the board which many could relate to was appreciable.

Did you used that board? Would be interesting to read your experiences in the comment section.

Sort:  

i think this movie has been remade a number of times. Ouija boards were actually sold in the children's section of general stores when i was a kid. IT was considered a board game which is dumb because all it is, is one person cheating and moving the plank. If ppl were honest it would just sit there and never move. It isn't a game but I'll admit, we had one!

Yes it did, these boards were lot more common in 90's than now.
I agree usually one mischievous guy of the group moves it, in our case no body did so it stood still.
Thanks for your attention.