My first week as an OCD Curator | Some info about OCD and OCDB

in #ocd5 years ago (edited)

This week I started my new Steem Job as an OCD Curator after being kindly invited by @acidyo who is the brains and heart behind the project. I thought I would spend my first week just lurking in the curation channels to see what kind of posts would get curated and picked for the daily compilation post, but impatient as I am I decided to jump in on day 2.

Now it's Sunday evening, a good moment for me to write about about OCD, its curation efforts, how it relates to OCDB - and which posts I was able to curate successfully this week.

ocdthumb.png

What is OCD?


In short: OCD stands for 'Operation Curation Delegation' and presents itself as a Curation Guild for undervalued, quality posts by newcomers. This means at OCD there are 1) Curators, who look for 2) Quality posts, that are 3) Undervalued (a guideline is the post is rewarded less than 5$ at time of curating) and preferably written by someone who has not yet/not often been curated by @ocd.

After someone shares a link to a post that follows these guidelines, other curators check the post as well and if they like it 'support' the curation. If enough curators like a post at the end of the day it will be published in the Daily OCD Curation Compilation post on the @ocd account, and followed by an @ocd upvote. Since @blocktrades has been so generous to support the @ocd efforts they will follow the upvote a while later... And that's when the average Steemian starts to smile, because suddenly your well-written post also has the rewards that reflect the time you have put in!

Read a bit about OCD's backstory.

OCD versus OCDB


While OCD is the original curation project, some might notice @ocdb first. Ever seen a big payout on a post and found out that the biggest vote came from @ocdb? Let me explain. OCDB is the OCD 'Bot', an alternative for commercial bidbots, and one that is mean to distribute STEEM to 'good Steemians'. OCDB is non-profit (yes, that means OCD/B makes no profit from running this service), and delivers high returns to its users. "The main reason why @ocdb exists is to help distribution of stake to quality authors."

Here's how OCDB works:

  • If you've ever been curated or otherwise selected by @ocd, you will be put on the Good Whales Whitelist, which you can see over here: thegoodwhales.io (site might be too heavy to load for mobile users)
  • If you indeed are on this whitelist you're considered a 'quality writer' or 'good Steemian' and are allowed to use the OCDB service: with a 10% ROI on your bid some really awesome Steemians have started using the service on their post so their Steem Power grows just a bit quicker than before.
  • If you were able to confirm that you are on the whitelist you can send the link of a less than 3 days old post in a wallet memo to @ocdb, and they upvote you with a certain percentage that is dependent on the amount of STEEM/SBD you send. The amount you can 'bid' varies depending on several variables, so check the wallet of OCDB first to see which amounts go through and which bids returned.

All of the curation rewards and bids gets sent back to the delegators - so even if you don't like bidding, you can still delegate and get a daily return :-)

If you want to see some Steemians' considerations regarding the use of OCDB please read one of the following posts:

Posts I curated this week


Now to the fun part: the posts I was able to curate this week! Some of these posts didn't even have a 1$ reward when I curated them, and now the payouts are quite decent :-) I thank @ocd and @acidyo for creating this opportunity to spread some of the reward pool towards under-rewarded posts towards newer users - for everyone else: enjoy reading!


@helgalubevi keeps her eyes open during her travels. Because the kids who sell these lovely souvenirs next to tourist attractions... What are their stories? In a very touching way she shows us portraits of young children who get sad when you don't buy their products, sometimes smile when you tell them they are beautiful, and sometimes, like when in Jordan... Seem to have such dark backgrounds at such a young age that nothing makes them smile anymore. Impressive read!

Read: The country where kids never smile


A mother and son working together on marketing her fashion boutique in Munich, Germany. @mcnestler describes which social media strategies he used to promote his mother's business - some great tips and a lovely history of a fashion boutique that already exists for 30 years! "Since she is a unique woman with a lot ideas, I was sure that creating content for the channels would be the least problem." - Sounds like a great son to have :-)

Read: Supporting my mother to market her fashion boutique - with first great results


"Not all mysteries are what they seem" - the closing words of a well-written and researched post by @xvickx. Where most people who ever thought about the making of the Egyptian Pyramids are still wondering how the Ancient Egyptians were able to carve these perfect pieces of stone to build them with, in this article a lot of evidence in both text and videos is offered that suggest an alternative idea. And the best part is: this alternative idea probably makes way more sense than most other ideas out there so far. A must-read!

Read: Egypt's Ancient Pyramids: Massive Stones or Massive Lies?


Do you know how you live somewhere but have seen less than the average tourist who comes to your city? This mum (@wendolinia) decided to take her teenagers to some San Francisco places they had never been to - so they became a little bit more 'local'! Read this post if you want to get some insider tips of this magnificent place.

Read: A Day in San Francisco with Teens


If you like what OCD is doing and want to support the project:

  • You could consider voting for the ocd-witness
  • You could consider delegating to @ocd
  • You can follow @ocd and upvote the compilation posts
  • You can upvote the curated articles (if you upvote before @ocd/@blocktrades this will give you nice curation rewards)

If you still have questions about OCD/OCDB ask them in the comments and I will try to answer them!

Sort:  

Cool 😊🙏🏽☯️

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think you are made for this job!
Best luck :)

Thanks! :D I like it so far :-)

Congrats on the new job :)

It's getting to the point where it's going to be 'sorry you got a new job' but for this one I'll quit another ;-)

:D I am a bit of a job collector myself but I am glad that @ocd have you and are up and running again. :)

This was interesting. I have seen this OCD stuff around Steemit forever but I never knew how it worked or what its curators were looking for.

That's what I assumed - many people knowing the name but not knowing all the details - hope you feel better informed now! :-)

I joined the team 2 days before you and was so pleasantly surprised when you arrived! Glad you're there <3

:D I love having you as my colleague! <3

Congratulations 😍
Working for ocd has been for me Like a dream I would like to fulfill.

Enjoy your work and continue to support those who support

A hug from venezuela 😘

And thank you - hugs in return from 'Holanda'!

:-) Keep an eye on the @ocd blog - we might need language (Spanish) curators in the future and if we do it will be announced over there!

Thanks, I'll be waiting,
It would be great to be able to serve one of the big projects to help with undervalued quality content ...

Absolutely - we have too much undervalued content and it is such a boost for newer users to receive the recognition :-)

Beautiful piece.
@Soyrosa, your description of the @ocd operations makes it seem as if I've never heard of it before.

:D Glad even though you already know OCD you still liked reading my post @uyobong! :-)

OCD clarification ta, i thought it was what i kind of have:)

Hey congratulations on the new job, hopefully we'll have a continual influx of new users - it'll make it easier for you!

Thanks! I really like it! The non-profit philosophy suits me well - we could have a little bit more of that on Steem, so everything I can do to support that I will do :-) Plus I'm a lazy curator apart from those I already follow, but finding one post a day with the knowledge I can really make a difference if I curate it is truly motivating.

A great addition to the team! I have also gotten in there but have been behind because of work. I hope to get more engaged soon and also try my first bid soon!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes - you've been doing the #introduction posts! Good stuff :D I'm glad some involved people are working hard to get posts seen :-) Thank you and hopefully you will have some more time soon.

I Love this Kind of Projects; it Shows that the community cares for itself and is Not Just about their own income.And you can learn about interesting stuff, too! I ll definitely Check Out the Post about Pyramids you were mentioning :)

Good luck on your efforts!

:-) Thank you @s0phos! I agree - these projects make me very hopeful as well :-)

Nice one Rosa <3

Hi @soyrosa!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.288 which ranks you at #778 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 186 contributions, your post is ranked at #5.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I am a little envious of the ocd curators (in a healthy way). Since I entered steemit I always wanted to be part of a big community with a power to care to value the work of others. With time I knew about @ocd and I was filled with admiration to see the reports of voted publications. Today I have managed to be the curator of a small but no less important community. I suppose you must be very happy, I would be too. I look forward to it when they are looking for Spanish speaking curators.

Congratulations, and many successes.

Hehe - yes, sometimes people have 'jobs' on Steem you'd want to have yourself! I love that you're seeing the value of OCD - there are a few great curation projects around and I've always thought that is one of the most important things we can do on Steem: to uplift others. So they will stay :-)

I hope you can join when Spanish Curators are needed! Thanks for your nice comment :-)

weird that i am not on the Whitelist, not that it matters as i am stupid like that so never used bots :)
and for the curation, you did a great job your first week. interesting stuff.

Huh? You've never been curated by OCD? That's interesting! I didn't know or I would have recommended you a few weeks ago when they had some 'open' recommendations :-) Well, good posts get curated at some point, so I'm hopeful it will happen for you too :D It's not just worth it for the bot you know!

i was kinda sure that at one point i was curated by them. or maybe i just seen them around and got it mixed in my brain. who knows. (i mean the blockchain knows for sure, but :D )

Congratulations, @soyrosa :D :D :D

You are a wonderful Steemian and I have zero doubt that you will be an awesome ocd curator <3 <3 <3 !!!

<3 Congratz to you too!!! Hahaha :D

Congrats on the new job @soyrosa! You sure are a woman of many trades.

Funny enough I've known about OCD since I started here, but never got involved (I might be doing something wrong) even though I've been following Acidyo and his work from the beginning.

However, it's good to see they're still around and that you're working with them now. I hope this doesn't mean you'll be quitting DaVinci though.

Hey hey - are you crazy?! I would NEVER quit DaVinci, or I would miss out on translating GitLab! :')

Yes, I've been following OCD/B for a while too, and as a new Steemian 'saw them around' quite early :-) It's great to see these projects that really leave a trace within the community and are consistent in doing so.

Cheers dear @misslasvegas! I might just send you some work over tonight :') Have a great weekend!

Congratulations @soyrosa! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 55000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Sixteen days ago there was an OCDB post asking for recomendations for the whitelist.
I answered that way:

[-]ronaldoavelino (65) · 16 days ago
I would like to nominate myself, @ronaldoavelino.
I have been writing daily posts (one in English and another in Portuguese) for a little more than a year, about my coin collection.
I am part of #steemsilvergold community and all my articles are made by me, using, of course, my coin library and some internet coin sites as a primary source of information.

$0.14
2 votes
Reply Edit
·

[-]jznsamuel (70) · 16 days ago
I support this nomination for posting original content!
However do consider the size of your bids if/when added, according to your content length.

$0.00Reply

I checked the whitelist today and my name is not in it. May I still hope to be whitelisted soon or the dream is over? Thank you.

Hey @ronaldoavelino - I have not written that post nor decided which of the applicants got on the whitelist or know the reasons for approval or rejection, so I can't answer your question :-)

Thank you for your kindness in answering my question.

Hey, I must've somehow missed your comment + vouch. Looking over your account I see you have some cool niche content of collectibles. Adding you to the whitelist now! :)

Thank you very much. I am very happy to be part of this family.

Glad to see you’re in! Thanks Acidyo!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey @soyrosa, first of all thank you very much for the support :)
Furthermore, congratulations on your new job. I think that you fit well in there :) Have a lot of fun :P
Cheers,
Max

Hey @mcnestler! Thanks! Glad you shared your lovely post and got rewarded for it as well - your mum is lucky she has you to help her :D Cheers!

You are always so busy in our community @soyrosa and such a good worker. Sometimes I feel lazy in that sense, though I do try and create good content, but I feel like maybe I'm not involved in this end of the Steemit world, but I'd no time to do it even were I asked I suppose :/

I am sure that OCD is very happy to have you.

We all have different things to do in life, and as long as I can contribute in more than 1 way I will do so @donnadavisart :-) Don't feel bad, your content is great and we need that kind of content on Steem!

Congratulations on your new position as an @ocd curator @soyrosa!

As a woman who is highly perceptive and intelligent, I'm not the slightest bit surprised to see you awarded this position.

Excellent choice @acidyo! 👍

:D Thanks for your lovely words @futuremind! They are appreciated :-) It's great to be on this job now, and I'll do my best to honour it :D Cheers!

Great work and great choices 😀

Thank you :-)

you are perfect for this job @soyrosa
OCDB is doing great work for new bees.....

Thanks!!!

congrats on the new job! i've been curating for msp for a while now and i know what it feels when you find that awesome post you want to curate that has a payout of 0.1 and then you curate it and boom! they will have a more decent payout now! is so rewarding to help authors reach a little more exposure and make sure their hard work is well value!

Haha YESSS! That's amazing indeed @victoriabsb - I'm glad to hear you have a similar job at MSP <3 I love these initiatives :-) Cheers!

Thank you for participating in the "cheers" fun post by @jaynie

The @theluvbug has given you a 100% upvote and a resteem.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Thank you :D

Good explanation. I didn´t know all this.
I will take a look to @ocd. Is there a discord group to join?

Hi @reyvaj - here's the OCD Discord channel! :-) https://discord.gg/k2Hu77b See you there!

You got a 49.97% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @soyrosa! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Congratulation @soyrosa ...a perfect place that suits you👍 ....one clarification required...you mentioned about delegation....so is it delegating to OCD or ocdb??

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for your comment and congratulations @steemflow!

Delegating can be done to both, but if you want a daily return you can delegate to OCDB :-) If you want to support their curation efforts you can delegate to OCD :-)

Thanks for so fast clarification....there are few who does that👍...is there I need to inform ?

Posted using Partiko Android

No need to inform anyone :-) You can just delegate and it will be registered automatically! :-) And glad I could help out!

Super awesome 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh! How great, to do what you like and enjoy it. I share your emotion and I know what it feels like to be able to help others, appreciating their work, I share a hug and my best wishes. Good vibes.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well done... you will be a great curator!!!! And thanks for explaining the whole ocdbcdefgh to me, I keep meaning to explore more but keep getting distracted. Xx

Posted using Partiko Android