Beauty Pageants and How to Win Them

in #ocd3 years ago

My MBA classmate remarked, "Gail, you join pageants, I love your confidence. I'd rather get a gunshot than join one." Of course, she was just kidding, but to that I replied...

"I'm shy and reserved too, as hard as that is to believe right now." My elementary teacher said on my report card "She needs to talk more." Through my pageants, I have learned how to bypass these tendencies.

It was through beauty pageants that I learned, little by little, how to gain confidence. That even if the odds were stacked against you, with the right strategy, you might just end up winning.

Corporate creative.jpg
Let's get down to pageant business. Photo by: Jhonny Villacorta, Editing by: Richard John Pozon


People have different opinions about beauty pageants. Most event organizers would include a pageant in the program as a form of entertainment. Some say that it's ironic how pageants pit one woman against another and some say that they're just for show. Some would regard it as their life's work - dedicating most of their time in perfecting and crafting the pageant image. Where do I lie in that spectrum, you ask?

I see pageants as doors that will lead me to opportunities.


Ms. TC 2013
Winner, University of San Carlos Talamban Campus/Technological Center (TC) - our campus university



Ms. TC 2013 3.jpg
My first taste of the pageant life. Photo by: Jun Rosario


My pageant career started in 2013 when I was chosen to represent my department in the campus-wide search for the Mr. and Ms. TC. What got me there, I swear, I still don't know. But it was hugely because of the decision of our Council President then. It was my first experience and truth be told, I don't even feel that I was worthy of the title. My competitors were models, have the most perfect skin, hair and teeth while I, I had a sharp mind. That was my greatest asset then which turned out to be beneficial for me. Everything that I lacked in face, height and body, I will make up for it in the quality of my thoughts. And just like that, I won Ms. TC 2013.


Winning tip #1: Know the criteria by heart


Ms. TC 2013.jfif
This dress made me a winner!


My brother in the organization told me that I won because of the dress. I almost didn't get this one since this was reserved to another candidate. Luckily, it didn't fit her, so it was given to me. One of the roadblocks that I had to get over with was the fact that the pageant organizers had their favorites. I don't blame them though, their favorite was the best candidate among the bunch. She got the most number of minor awards and they even thought that she would be crowned the winner. What I did was asked for guidance from the previous candidates and they told me that I had to make sure that I aced my interview and the Q&A portion. I studied the criteria, and they were right! The most weight was given to the Q&A portion.


Ms. TC 2013 2.jfif
Can you tell? This girl was a beauty pageant noob.


I also had to battle through my insecurities and social awkwardness. I always compared myself to the other candidates and they had the most darling personalities ever. I shifted my focus from myself to my goal - I would get so many opportunities out of this. True enough, I gained new acquaintances, I got over my stage fright and my strategy worked!


Ms. MEPZ-HRA
First Runner Up, Mactan Ecozone Human Resources Association Inc.



Ms. HRA 4.jpg
The first time pole dancing was showcased as a sport in the competition. Photo by Kris Jaz


After college at around the year 2019, the pageantry contests spring out of nowhere and it was only me who rose up to the challenge to join. This was during my second year in the company, a sportsfest was to be held processing-zone wide. I was to represent my company, along with my partner. This time, the brains will be out of the equation since the criteria focuses on the athleticism of the candidate. Thankfully, at that time I was into pole dancing and rightfully so, I featured that as my sport. I won first runner-up in that competition.


Winning tip #2: Find a way to stand out


Ms. HRA.jpg
I got in JPark Island Resort for free because of Ms. HRA.


The rest of the candidates had boxing, car racing, beach volleyball and swimming as their sports. I wanted to be different. With the help of my pole sisters and mommies, we were able to pull it off. Logistics was a challenge! My company was very supportive as they assigned some of my colleagues to put the lollipole in place.


Ms. HRA 3.jpg
These were my team!


One of the most memorable parts of every pageant would be the pride and support that your team shows. Joining a pageant is exhausting and afterwards you just want to sleep. Knowing that you gave it your all and having your supportive team to cheer you on backstage, it makes all the effort worth it.


Ms. AMCHAM 2019
Winner, The American Chamber of Commerce-Visayas


Ms. AmCham 3.jpg
Did I achieve the look of Ms. Liberty?


My third pageant was still representing my company, but this time it was against all the American Companies in Cebu. It was hosted by the American Chamber of Commerce. The question and answer portion was also where I could draw my strength from. For this pageant I also had a partner and we were to prepare our talent number. We practiced aerial arts and presented lollipole doubles. Our efforts paid off as we won the titles Mr. and Ms. AMCHAM 2019.


Winning tip #3: Preparation is key


Ms. AmCham 2.jpg
My partner and I won the competition and Best in Talent because we prepared for it


We did a lollipole number and my partner and I had great cooperation. We made sure to attend practice every after shift and we sacrificed going home at 11:00 pm. We wouldn't want to let our company down especially when they've invested in us :) This was also the first time that we got featured in a local newspaper because of this feat.


Ms. AmCham.jpg
My mommy Anne Porter and our choreographer Arvin Bate made me feel like I already won even before they announced the winners.


Ms. ChE Ambassadress
Winner, National Chemical Engineering Convention


Ms. ChE Ambassadress 4.jpg
This was my last hurrah before the lockdown


My fourth pageant was representing the Visayas Chemical Engineering community. It was my first pageant outside of Cebu. There was one challenging aspect of that pageant that I haven't encountered before. My strength was also the strength of the other candidates as they came from the same educational background as I did. So, I had to think of another way to stand out - the talent portion. With the help of my team, I was able to go home with the title Ms. ChE Ambassadress and Best in Talent for that pageant.


Winning tip #4: Do not underestimate your competition


Ms. ChE Ambassadress 3.jpg
Don't worry, it's all healthy competition for us


I knew that my competitors were equally well-spoken. I remembered how nervous I was at the thought of being questioned with a highly-technical query so I had to ask for help. I consulted a PhD student and a sales veteran from my team about the possible questions that I'd get asked. They happily sent me articles that would aid my thought process in answering the questions. Believe it or not, I was able to use one of the learnings that I got from an article that they gave me.


Winning tip #5: Don't forget to have fun and make friends


Ms. ChE Ambassadress 2.jpg
These were my fellow contestants and we all shared a good laugh after the competition.


I'm an introvert. So through my pageants, I'm able to form new connections. I'm grateful to have met people that I know I wouldn't have the chance to meet if I didn't have the nerves to join pageants in the first place.


Ms. Sportsfest.jpg
It's the support that makes it all worth it.


It's heartwarming to celebrate afterwards with the people that were cheering on for you since Day 1. Thank you so much for supporting my ambisyosa stints! Wouldn't do half as good a job if it weren't for all of you.


IMG_8534.jpg

The Gaillery

She is on a mission to become better than who she was yesterday. A chemical engineer and a financial advisor, she hopes to give value to this space as a motivated individual. She found the perfect marriage of what she wants to do in life and her mission in financial advising. She balances her work and life at the comforts of her home. She loves to meet like-minded people and liver her life to the fullest. Watch this space for tales of self-improvement and self-acceptance, per Mark Manson, "the philosophical tightrope."

If you like her content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment and reblog if you can! She appreciates all forms of love!

Sort:  

Wow. All of their photos look absolutely stunning. I like that.

Woooh. Didn't know you are a beauty queen Ms. @thegaillery 😽☺️😻

The guy behind you sa 3rd picture grabi ka na pa wow nimo. He can't take his eyes away from you.Love the way he looked at you! Ka cute.

So Guapa, smart and talented.☺️😻😽🤗

untitled.gif

Nindota gyud ani imong mga gif uy! Hahaha, siya sad baya na ang nadaog sa Mr. TC sad. Gwapo! untitled.gif

Omggg! Karon pako nga tig join2x diay ka'g pageants @thegaillery! Ka amazing oy. Maybe we can see you in MUPH soon? I can be do your PR Aw hehehe 😉😍

Hahahaha! Sure! Thank you @patsitivity. Another level na gyud na ang MUPH. Di ko gusto mo-join unless sure ko na makadaog ko 😂 wa man nadaog si Ayn Bernos, so sure ko di sad ko madaog. In another lifetime and another height, ma Miss Universe gyud ko 😆

Lahi ra gyud, sure2x gyud ba. Daghan pa na mga contests nga hakuton nimo awards ba for sure hehe! Rooting for you @thegaillery 💪


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @thegaillery! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 1500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

grabeha. im amazed reading this! magsubay gyud ko imo next pageantry journey nya :)untitled.gif

Yes! You'd still be a part of it for sure. That is, if okay with you 😁

Woow you look so good @thegaillery 👑. I also have an introvert friend, but when it comes to pageants kay grabeee, daog pud siya 😍

Meanwhile, sa The Good B.I. kay si Teresa among pang Miss Universe 👸 😂.

Hahahaha , diba? Introverts can be queens.

Hi Teresa, kumusta si Beatrice Luigi dzae? Nganong imo man siya gipadaog? Ikaw ta to 😂

Give way lang sa mi kay nabusy pa hahahaha.

ka gwapa @thegaillery... MUPH na ni sunod?

Hahaha, in another lifetime and height 😂

Wow! That's amazing! Sunod ani kay Miss Hive na pd hahahhaha. Great tips Gail! Magamit pd n outside sa pageant world.

Hahaha! Tinuod! General man ang tips noh? Good catch @asasiklause!

Hehhehe. Thank you!!! Life is like a beauty pageant. Ahw. Ahahhaah

@thegaillery wow😱You look so beautiful. At first I was surprised to see you in all your photography. Also win at different times and your happy moments have given me more joy. I wish you more win in your future days. You can get more praise from everyone for your work. You are beautiful and intelligent.👌✌️

Thank you for your kind words @sumaiya777! I don't take credit for all of these though, I owe them all to my team!!

maka sana all man pod ta ani maam..hehehe

pretty with brains jd...

Looks like you were made for this and all of your effort paid off in each pageant. You look so beautiful in each photo.

hihi, kumusta? :) u look so great and have many different looks to u.. i was surprised. i don't know if u remember me, from the old steemit days. anyway, just wanted to commwnt on how good this post was. I'll try and learn these good posting ways.. :P

Thank you! I remember you in my early years in Hive. I don't remember you from Steemit though :)

yeah. I think u just got started right before I stopped steemit. Anne Porter is a friend i made on steemit and i remember u started to pole with her.

:)