From Cat Hater to Cat Lover Journey

in #ocd4 years ago

"There are two means of refuge from the misery of life — music and cats."
— Albert Schweitzer

I'd always hate pets, this is what I believe ever since I was a kid. Even now when we are starting my own family when my wife asked me if we will be getting a cat in our first few months in marriage. I always answer her with a smile and say yes. She knew that I am being a sarcastic those times and even if she requests it multiple times she will always get the same response from me.

But everything had changed, I guess I was forced to do so one day. My wife had a terrible day it was so bad that she is crying in tears the moment when she stepped outside our restroom and said that it is still "negative" and she has her regular monthly period. Honestly, I do not know how to ease her pain that day as I tried to hug her, I felt that she is really in pain. For a fact, we knew that it is not yet perfect timing to have a kid but we are expectant and praying to have one real soon.

What I did secretly went to a Facebook group and search for a cat ready for adoption. To my surprise, there's a lot of folks in our place posting about their cats open for adoption. I contacted one nearby and notified my wife about a new family member.

image.png
I called her Prototype A as this is just a testing phase for me if I will enjoy having a cat or not. Though this is intended for my wife, I would still be interacting with her.

First Few Days:

We are enjoying having a new living being in our apartment, she was so sweet and each time that we are rest she will stay in our room and gently massage us. At first it is scary as I can feel her nails on my shirt and my pants. I even wear jogging pants previously as I am irritated on what she usually do. Even during work hours, she will stay on our station and look us in the eye asking to pet her.

First Sickness:

She is usually playful and responsive to us but one day she became lame. As a first time cat owner ( my wife also said that this is the first time that she became a hands-on cat owner) we were so stressed on what we will do to help her get better. She was not eating any food and vomit every time. We tried to look for home remedies, articles and Youtube videos about cats and good thing she got better. She is not vomiting, but she is still not feeling okay and under the blue. We thought that she might be lonely and in need of another company.

Second Cat

Since we felt that we Proty ( that is her nickname) is kinda lonely in our home we decided to look for a new member of the family. Same procedure but different owner, at first they are not really doing well. They are always hissing at each other and almost every day there's a stare from them.

We gave Bet-bet ( Beta Test) a week to cope up with the new environment. It was a hard decision for us as we said that we will have them returned to the owner if incase that they will continue to fight. Few days have passed and they eventually stopped on hissing to each other and become good friends.

Having them around brings joy in our home. We just thought that we will have these pets as a past time to kill our boredom while we are waiting to have our own. But little by little we started to show more care to them especially I who was once a hater of animals.

I learned that they are not fearful as I can imagine before but rather they are so warm and reciprocate the attention and care that you throw at them.


We are supporting this page for their advocacy on adopting cats. If you are in Cavite area or in Laguna you might want to visit them on this Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/solaandsiblings to see more information about adopting stray cats.


This is my entry for today and I hope that you had enjoyed reading. Till next time!

Sort:  


Congratulations @tpkidkai!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports meetups of the Hive UK Community

Nabuhay ka ulit? kelan ka ba magiging active?

CONGRATULATIONS!

Your post has been curated and was included in the featured posts in Hive PH Curation post #44.

Please continue to create distinctive and informative write-ups and don't forget to include #hiveph on your tags.

Kindly subscribe also to the Hive PH community where you can co-exist with fellow Filipino authors and discover more of your passion in writing.

Chat and interact with our fellow Filipinos in our discord channel.

You can also follow us on Twitter and Facebook for more community and blockchain updates.