A delicious Barbeque with friends.... Always good.....

in #ocdlast year

It's summer again and what do you do? (at least, we) right, a nice barbeque. I like to put a few things on the barbeque other than the sausages and burgers (although those are also very tasty.)

My wife went to Ibiza with a friend of hers for a weekend, which was the perfect time for me to invite my brothers, some friends and some of my son's friends for a nice barbeque.

I got some good meat from our local butcher,

  • Spare ribs
  • Picanha
  • Pulled porc

They are 3 types of meat with different techniques, also in time. So it was a bit of a challenge to cook this at the same time, but it turned out perfectly in the end and there was no meat left.

We have had a kamado barbeque for a year now, we first had a pallet barbeque (Treager) but I find this less suitable for a really hot barbeque. Fine for low-and-slow, but if you want a nice bark on the meat, that's not really possible.

WhatsApp Image 2023-07-01 at 09.13.27.jpg

The first piece of meat I started with was for the pulled porc, that needed the most time to be wel cooked. First of all I made my own rub to rub in the meat with some nice flavours. After that I put it on the barbeque with a temperature of 110 degrees celcius untill it reached an internel temperature of 60 degrees. Then I wrapped it up in aluminum foil with some apple cider and caster sugar. Then it went back on the barbeque for a few hours. Finally, it was removed from the foil and cooked to a core temperature of 95 degrees Celsius. The meat has rested for a while and then pulled and mixed with a delicious barbeque sauce.

WhatsApp Image 2023-07-01 at 09.13.27.jpg

The result was delicious.

WhatsApp Image 2023-07-01 at 14.15.32.jpg

While the pulled pork was on the barbeque, I started preparing the spare ribs. I chose two different rubs to have a little variety. I first skinned the ribs and then rubbed them with the rub. The method I have applied is the 3-2-1 method, which means:

  • 3 hours on the barbeque with just the rub
  • Wrapped in foil for 1.5 hours with butter, a little barbeque sauce and sugar.
  • Rub 1 hour on a higher fire with barbeque sauce to get a nice crispy tasty crust.

Rub One
WhatsApp Image 2023-07-01 at 09.13.27.jpg

Rub two
WhatsApp Image 2023-07-01 at 09.13.27.jpg

The result was delicious tender ribs with a lot of flavor.

WhatsApp Image 2023-07-01 at 14.15.32.jpg

At one point it seemed as if the barbeque was too small for the amount of meat, but with a rack (from Ikea) that problem was solved :)

WhatsApp Image 2023-07-01 at 09.39.57.jpg

It was a fun and delicious evening, worth repeating.

Take care,

Peter

Sort:  

Heerlijk. Laat Serge het maar niet zien hahahha
Wat lekker ibiza dat is iets dat ik ook leuk zou vinden hahahah
Fijne woensdag

Serge ziet het ;) Heb hem op FB :) Als ik mijn vrouw goed begrijp, gaan we volgend jaar samen naar Ibiza haha

Not much for a veggie like me then :) That's a funky BBQ. I hope all enjoyed it.

!BEER


Hey @verhp11, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

We love your support by voting @detlev.witness on HIVE .