You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Beginning: Planning

in #offgrid4 years ago

A big move, I am sure you will enjoy the experience, it can be tough, at least you already live in the north, so you know the weather and the seasons. Next to lights for the winter, an indoor cooking stove. I've BBQ'ed in zero degree temperatures, while it is doable, it was definitely a different way of cooking. But I'm sure you probably already thought of that.

Sort:  

I live in a small town with a population of 300 people. We heat with wood and are surrounded by forest, so even though we have electricity and such I feel as though I am not too far from being off grid, well...compared to if I were in a city I mean. I do have a woodstove that I will be using for cooking for this winter. It's one of those (forgive me I don't have the proper name of the style) old fashion ones that has cooking spots, oven, top section to keep things warm or to dry mitts, hats and scarves, and the left side is where the wood goes in. I will have to get a bbq and a small propane stove for next summer though.

That must have been quite interesting to BBQ in cold temperatures. I could see myself doing that if I didn't have this wood stove. Next in line for building, apart my house is making a composting toilet. I looked for some online and the prices for those are insane! Like, 600$ for the cheapest one! I can't do that so I'll make one, I have been looking at some ideas and how to's so I can get it done.

Old wood stoves are great, I like the small towns myself, 300 though I would see as a tiny town. I live in an where the biggest town is just over 7,000, and the next large town is just under 5,000. To me those are small towns, less than 2,000 are kind of tiny towns.

The below 0 BBQ,ing actually came out pretty tasty, you just needed to get it indoors fast before it cooled off to much.

Tiny town it is :P

Turns out the wood stove deal fell through, I just found out, so I am now in search of one. I found one for 54000 BTU, but will keep looking in case I find a better deal.