The Beginning: Planning

in #offgrid4 years ago

I am at the beginning of starting a new chapter, a new life with my kids as we embark on a totally different adventure, one that will change our lives completely.
I have been thinking of a life off-grid for some time now, giving deep thought of the hardships that come with it but also thinking of wonderful experiences that tag along with it all.

There is so much I look forward to in the next phases of this life but there has been a challenge when it comes to planning for it.

In a northern area of Ontario, time to build can be a challenge as summer is a short season, so that time frame presents as my first challenge.

My second challenge is I am limited to the number of people that can help. Although i have some good knowledge on doing renovations, this and that, I can't build a house from scratch, even a small one.

I was able to find a way to make things work without having to build from scratch which presents my next challenge.


image.png

This is my shell. This is what provides the shelter to build on. Yeah it is a bit rough looking but nothing I can't fix and it's minor details to what will happen to it. But for now I need to get this 10X40 into the bush on the property and the challenge for this is to find a company that can and will do it. I have asked one person that I know of that brings containers, loaders, heavy machinery in the forest but has refused to do it. Something about being too busy and something with his truck. I have been asking around and everyone has been telling me the only person they know that is hired to do things like that is the same guy I asked. I have found one company that specializes in forestry work, I have high hopes for this company as I don't know who else could help me in my area. I have lost a few days already waiting for a reply from them. This is where my patience is tested, I try to be patient and I know all good things come with time. Good Lord please help me wait for this good news to come.

And on to the next challenge. I have to clear some of the are where the house is going to be and I know I have to clear extra so that the big truck that will deliver the shell will have enough room to get in and place it, buuuuuuuuuuuuuuuut I need them to tell me if they can do it and if they can, we then go check out the land so they can tell me what they need for clearance.
It has been raining too and even though I can handle rain I still need to work on handling bugs, black flies and mosquitoes have a particular taste for my blood...

The other things on my mind is solar panels, solar lighting and this and that and an indoor shower for the winter. I have been doing some research on that and have found a few solutions to try. It's to see what do I need to buy first after building my house. Lighting for sure but is there something more important that lighting or just as? This is quite a learning experience and very much an exciting time.

My plan is to document the phase of my life and I hope I can connect with many of the other off-grid bloggers on this platform. So cheers to all of you! I hope to be back with some good news about the transportation by the next time I get a chance to blog ^_^

Sort:  

Good luck with your project, I am always fascinated at the Off Grid Tiny Home projects and enjoy watching vids on You Tube

will be interesting to watch your journey

#engageonhive

Thank you ^_^

I've seen what people can build off grid and I am amazed. I hope I can pull through and provide good for my children. If it were just me, I don't think I would care as much, which would mean less things to build. I wouldn't need as much space either. It will be all good in the end, for better and healthier living :)

Congratulations @foxyspirit! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 66000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 67000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @lizziesworld!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

A big move, I am sure you will enjoy the experience, it can be tough, at least you already live in the north, so you know the weather and the seasons. Next to lights for the winter, an indoor cooking stove. I've BBQ'ed in zero degree temperatures, while it is doable, it was definitely a different way of cooking. But I'm sure you probably already thought of that.

I live in a small town with a population of 300 people. We heat with wood and are surrounded by forest, so even though we have electricity and such I feel as though I am not too far from being off grid, well...compared to if I were in a city I mean. I do have a woodstove that I will be using for cooking for this winter. It's one of those (forgive me I don't have the proper name of the style) old fashion ones that has cooking spots, oven, top section to keep things warm or to dry mitts, hats and scarves, and the left side is where the wood goes in. I will have to get a bbq and a small propane stove for next summer though.

That must have been quite interesting to BBQ in cold temperatures. I could see myself doing that if I didn't have this wood stove. Next in line for building, apart my house is making a composting toilet. I looked for some online and the prices for those are insane! Like, 600$ for the cheapest one! I can't do that so I'll make one, I have been looking at some ideas and how to's so I can get it done.

Old wood stoves are great, I like the small towns myself, 300 though I would see as a tiny town. I live in an where the biggest town is just over 7,000, and the next large town is just under 5,000. To me those are small towns, less than 2,000 are kind of tiny towns.

The below 0 BBQ,ing actually came out pretty tasty, you just needed to get it indoors fast before it cooled off to much.

Tiny town it is :P

Turns out the wood stove deal fell through, I just found out, so I am now in search of one. I found one for 54000 BTU, but will keep looking in case I find a better deal.

I just started watching the Netflix series How To Live Mortgage Free--it's got a lot of stories of people who did their own renovations in unique spaces. :) All the best, hope you can find someone to move it for you. Do you own the land where you will be living?

I haven't heard of that show but I will look for it, I could use those ideas, especially if there are some where they can plan to put the most in a small space but all works out. The winters here are long and with the time that I have, I wont be able to make the add on to it, so there will be tight spaces. Working on getting rid of things now with what I can part with.

Something will happen soon I hope with moving the trailer. I'm hoping hard! I do not own the land, a friend of mine owns the land and is living off grid there right now and has for 5-6 yrs. She has given me a lot to build on :)

Oh, this is soooooooo exciting. I am sure it will come together. It already is, by the looks of things. I look forward to sharing the journey with you.

Definitely is excited and moving forward as it can. The weather is raining on and off and when it doesnt it becomes 30+ degrees celcius, that is a hot hot summer for us, and having to work in that is tough. I went out to the property yesterday to do some clearing, although I got out there late and I had a taste of that heat, working under the sun, woooooh! I had to stop a few times lol. I'm going back out monday for more work as it is raining this weekend lol. Will share every step of the way!

I am so glad that you have taken the big leap...🤗

Big hugs my friend!

Foxy! :) I'm kind of lost right now! Was checking on Steemit and just read about the hive blog today. I thought everyone's gone. lol

Hello dear friend! Yeah everything changed over. Some people still use steemit but not a lot. There are a few changes but it still works the same. If there is something you are unsure with and need help with, just ask ^_^

Most, if not all of us hived over. Just take your time and look around. The same peeps so helpful on the other side are helpful here. Just reach out...

I'm looking to do the same. Would love to just get the hell out sometimes 😄
Is that a shipping container? Would be great to get a tour. Looking forward to seeing where this goes, physically and metaphorically.

If you ca, do it! Or even just have it as a getaway place, it's so worth it. It's like the world stops and the nature around you takes care of you. Plus many other feel good things that come with it.
Not a shipping container but I wish it was almost as it is slowing the process down of getting this type of building in the bush. Shipping container would be pick up and go kind of style but this, even though the wood base is solid, it is not the same way for picking it up as it could break in half. I guess you would call a trailer of sorts. It was used for tree planters to stay in, so it is made to be transported. Just need a company that can do it.

So great to see the pieces of the puzzle slowly starting to come together! I'm sure there will be many challenges along the way, but each one will make the end result that much sweeter to enjoy. I would imagine you can make any little shell of a building a home. Sending some dry vibes your way so you can get done what you need to! And shoo mosquitoes!! 😜

I can't wait to get there and I'm not afraid to do the work for it either :P

Having a shell to start with cuts in time immensely and also cuts in costs. I wont need to buy the wood to build this part, only for the addition and a few extra things.

I think we all got your dry vibes because there isn't a rainy day this week! Woot woot! Although I'm not sure for those pesky mosquitoes but I'm praying! LOL

I can imagine that shell definitely helps a lot! Though you'll be plenty busy otherwise. Glad you have some clear days ahead! I went out in the garden this morning and got about 20 bites from mosquitoes...grrrr...

Uh oh, did I send those squitters to you? LOL