The Beginning: Hard Work

in #offgrid4 years ago

Even though my shell of a house is not yet on the property and I have no word from the company to see what they can do for me, I still have to prepare the land to be ready to build upon.

The weather has held me back to do many things that needs to be done. It's been a streak of rainy days and with rain comes mosquitoes. If it were just for the rain, I would be out there doing what needs to get done. Yesterday there was a break and the sun started shinning through which gave a perfect opportunity to head out.

I got to the property late, afternoon to be exact which is not ideal for I was working under the hot sun, but it is what it is and I have to make each chance count.

The spot I will be using needs to be worked at a bit. There is a cleared area already and the plan to use the most of what I got requires me to clear some more brush and trees.


image.png

There are 6 posts like this already in place from previous people that were going to build a log house here. They decided to not go with the plan after all but it gave me a great beginning. These are tamarack logs that have been put 6 feet in the ground, placed on top of cement slabs and gravel. All 6 posts measure out 12 feet wide and 28 long. My houses dimensions ( 10x40) don't fit on these posts but I can use these to build a deck on and next summer build on it for the extension, so I have to clear 10 feet and then some beside these posts and make sure there is clearing of 40 feet in length. I also have to clear space in which we think the big truck will need to be able to get through and place the "house".

image.png

This is a section, what it looks like before I started clearing. I got a good part cleared before having to take a break from overheating. What sucked the most is I cant undress, need long sleeves to protect against bugs and it is not so nice to put bug spray on the skin.

I had do snip away at these plants by hand with clippers as it's the only tool I have on hand.


image.png

And this is what I was able to get done with the short time I had. The day got hotter which made it worse for working in so I had to stop with that.


image.png

This is also another place that I have to clear more but there isn't a whole lot to do as it's more "weeds" as it is young trees. This is the place where we think the truck will be coming in to drop off the house so with the few trees that are there, those too will have to go down.

And that is all the time I had for clearing yesterday. It was definitely enough as I was ready for bed at 8:30pm.

Fun fact as I end this blog, butterflies like dog poop. I don't know if it's dog poop in particular or just poop in general, but here's a picture to show that poop is a delicacy :P


image.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @foxyspirit! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 7750 replies. Your next target is to reach 8000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @lizziesworld!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Manually curated by blacklux 💡Ice cream slayer 🍦 from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much ^_^

That's going to be a great spot once it's set up. (minus the dog poop of course)

HAHA! Ya, those can be a bit further away LOL. They bring pretty butterflies though 😂