You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lessons Learned Living Off Grid for Beginners

in #offgrid5 years ago

This post deserves a huge upvote from Curie! At least for the amount of information you shared in here! Many years ago I was tempted to go live off the grid somewhere in a country with a milder climate than Canada, but not as hot as the tropics as I knew that growing food was going to be a hassle.
My first idea was to go see Jacques' Fresco houses in the Venus project in Florida and see if it was something I could have done. Then I looked into earthships and lately the domes and the adobe houses. I read as much as I could on permaculture and whatever I could find on living off the grid, though I never took the step because somewhere in between moving to Ecuador my health went down the drain. Later on I found I had Lyme disease. I might have given up on being a pioneer due to my Lyme, but my heart still enjoys reading from others' experiences. Thank you for a wonderful post!

Sort:  

Thank you for supporting my post, it took me a while to compile the information and really hoped the time invested would be helpful to someone. The tropics makes it much easier than I would assume areas in Canada. I've always liked the idea of the Venus Project and we were very interested in earthships also. I hope to give you some more of our experiences off the grid and if you ever have any questions, please feel free to always contact me! Thank you again for such kind words and I wish you all the best!