Sort:  

It's been fun to watch you figure this out over the last few years. You have answered many of my questions about solar and other off grid questions many times. Eventually I'll get that houseboat i always talk about and try to survive a couple winters to see how it goes.

This is a really well written post, I enjoyed reading it!
I'm one of those people who lives in a part of the world that is cold and cloudy for half the year, so reading about what you have to deal with in a hot climate is really interesting to me. Some of it is the opposite of what we deal with here. You need to cool your house, we need to heat ours.

Thanks sharing this first hand information.

My pleasure, glad you enjoyed it.

This post deserves a huge upvote from Curie! At least for the amount of information you shared in here! Many years ago I was tempted to go live off the grid somewhere in a country with a milder climate than Canada, but not as hot as the tropics as I knew that growing food was going to be a hassle.
My first idea was to go see Jacques' Fresco houses in the Venus project in Florida and see if it was something I could have done. Then I looked into earthships and lately the domes and the adobe houses. I read as much as I could on permaculture and whatever I could find on living off the grid, though I never took the step because somewhere in between moving to Ecuador my health went down the drain. Later on I found I had Lyme disease. I might have given up on being a pioneer due to my Lyme, but my heart still enjoys reading from others' experiences. Thank you for a wonderful post!

Thank you for supporting my post, it took me a while to compile the information and really hoped the time invested would be helpful to someone. The tropics makes it much easier than I would assume areas in Canada. I've always liked the idea of the Venus Project and we were very interested in earthships also. I hope to give you some more of our experiences off the grid and if you ever have any questions, please feel free to always contact me! Thank you again for such kind words and I wish you all the best!

Wow!

Nice article! And great points!

Thank you, I'm happy you enjoyed it! Love your profile name ;)

This is a most excellent post @volksdraggin thank you for sharing your lessons learned with us steemians. I'm looking to start my journey homesteading and living off grid. I really appreciate the information you presented here and what you will bring in the future!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the nice comment, I'm happy to know that some of my info might be helpful to you. I will post more stuff in the future on simple tricks of going off the grid and ways to generate a living while being so far away from normal hustle and bustle society. Have a great day!

Hey there, excellent article, thank you. I love Mexico, go there every year but I save my offgrid adventures for the houseboat on Arrrow Lakes in BC. We will actually be in Puerto Morelos for Christmas, not that far from you...hmm

Thanks for the nice comment! Puerto Morelos is really nice, let me know if you plan to head into Playa and maybe we can hang out. Take care and have a great day!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Amberyooper from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.