How We Cook Breakfast On the Rocket Stove

in #offgrid7 years ago

DSCN2992.JPG

We have had our rocket stove for a few years now. We bought it for the main purpose of having another back up cook source. Patrick used it on a fishing trip for cooking up a pot of chili but that was about it for the first couple of years. Last summer, I decided it would be a good idea to pull it out and get more familiar with it, just in case. Well, I became hooked and found myself wanting to do everything with it and I even did a bit of canning on it.

The thing that makes the rocket stove so great is its efficiency. You can use just about anything as a fuel source. Typically for us, it is wood scraps from Patrick's shop, but I have used twigs, leaves, and other garden waste, one can also use tree cones, charcoal, or whatever. The trick though is that you do have to keep feeding it so watching it closely and constantly is important to keep the fire going.

This year, we had to put a finish on our deck so I could not get it out as soon as I would have liked but it is set up now and Patrick came up with a new, rather temporary idea, for setting it up to make it more user friendly and safe. We do have plans for a more permanent outdoor kitchen set up but for now, we are keeping it simple.

So on to breakfast, I started the day off by brewing a pot of coffee and heating the water and milk for the "Jet Fueled Latte" (my own recipe) that we like to have first thing in the morning while I was watering the garden and tending to the chickens.

Then it was on to making the biscuits and gravy. Mr. Rain took over tending to the food on the rocket stove after I had it made up as I was busy doing several other things, plus taking some photos.

DSCN2995.JPG

How I cook biscuits on top of a wood stove or rocket stove is to simply use a cast iron skillet with a lid and half way through the baking process, we flip them to get them browned on each side. We bought the cast iron griddle you see the pans sitting on for the sole purpose of extending the cooking area on top of the rocket stove and it really works great. Patrick also found a thick chunk of steel in his shop last year that we use as a trivet for putting under the things we simply want to keep warm like the coffee or the pan of gravy seen to the right.

DSCN2996.JPG

We did cook up some beef bacon but I did not get a photo of that, however, you get the idea. The eggs here were some I had bought from some locals a year ago, scrambled up and froze to see how they would turn out. It is a decent way to store extra eggs for baking but not the best in flavor for cooking like this. But hey, we tried! haha

DSCN3003.JPG

Here is a link to the rocket stove we have. Note, it is made right here in America:
Stovetec Rocket Stove: http://amzn.to/2r8ZJQX

Thanks for dropping in and I hope you enjoyed this post. Have a great day all! ~Heidi

Contact
Email: [email protected]
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RainCountryHomestead/
Hand Crafted Goods: https://www.facebook.com/heidiscrochetedart/

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

Yummy Think I can be there in time for dinner? it's just now 6:30 EST lol.. Love you guys. God Bless

at first ti thought the biscuts next to the gravy was the egg's you mentioned but they turned out to be in the next shot below :D I guess once I look at a picture I should scroll more before reading :D live and learn right ? are you sure that's not your hand in one shot ? nope it's got a mark like it got banged has to be Mr Rain :D thanks for sharing

Yeah, I noticed the mark on the thumb nail too. A definite ouchie!

He is always doing stuff like that to himself that he cannot remember where he got that one! haha! He thinks it was when he was replacing the hydraulic pump on the backhoe

These are great. I found some firebricks last year here in Detroit in a building that was falling down and want to build something for outdoor cooking like this later this year. It won't have the portability of yours but cooking outdoors is just as magical as showering outdoors to me. :)

I love the firebrick idea too. If we decide to create something more permanent I would like to have one of those as well, I certainly would not mind having another!

Don't forget the pergola! Goals, dreams, we've all got 'em. ;)

Is that a Revere Ware coffee pot? :-)
That's a really nice setup, and it gives me an idea of what to do with the cast iron flat griddle I rescued from the scrap bin last year.

Yes, it is Revere Ware and get this, we got it at a garage sale for $1!!!

OOH, you got a good deal on that! :-)
I had one a long time ago, but it disappeared, probably during one of the times that I moved.

Sweet set up and I'm totally envious of that cast iron griddle! Great idea for expansion. Can't go wrong with cast iron.

Absolutely! Thank you aunt-deb :D

Great idea using the griddle! Resteemit for others!

Pretty nice story and I guess the breakfast was awesome and yummy! Thanks for sharing

What a great use of the griddle! That gravy looks really good.

I think its something good to have when the power goes out, I also have a solar oven