So you want to live off the grid eh

in #offthegrid6 years ago

image.jpegDandelions, the weed everyone hates The weed everyone tries to kill! image.jpeg

The amount of money must reach the kazillions on how much the product roundup makes , you know that noxious poisonous weed killer everyone buys every year each summer! Stop it, just put down the noxious poison and stop it. There are alternatives. Dandelions are bee's first stop for nectar, they rely on it heavily. Every part of the dandelion is edible and healthy. Honest!! Google it for some recipes and is health benefits
image.png
image.jpeg

Here's one I myself have tried and been pleasantly surprised.
While at a local market in town they were giving out samples of a dandelion jelly/honey. Holy shit it was soooooooo good. First thing I did was grab the recipe and start planning on making this in my canning list for this year. I would never have imagined, it is that good, make some, trust me just do it!
image.jpeg
https://teaspoonofspice.com/make-dandelion-jelly/
While your in Google , check and see how many dandelion recipes there are, the greens, fried as a vegetable, made into wine , tea, lotion bars, salves, root juice and more ....
Now for the funny part, for every person that is buying round up trying to kill this noxious weed, there is an off grider selling dandelion seeds on Amazon, so that you can harvest this wonderful herb and get every drop of health benefits from it.
The Ying and yang of our beautiful earth 🙂 I think I'm going to be harvesting and selling some dandelion seeds this year as well..... Just sayin'........😘

Sort:  

I am so much in agreement with you about dandelions! I never kill them - the bees need them, and it's basically their first nutrition in the springtime. Also, I grew up in rural Ontario, and picked the young, tender leaves to add to salads (yummy); and my parents made dandelion wine, which I only got a few sips from but enjoyed immensely.

There are so many natural ways to get rid of pests and "real" weeds - why would anyone use such noxious pesticides that also kill good bugs and plants? I will never understand or go along with that.

Good to see you back! xox

Sort of back, but working my damndest to get back 🙂 I miss you guys lol. I've heard about the salad leaves have yet to try them, but excited to do so. And dandelion wine will definitely be on the list, it will be added to quite an eclectic batch of homemade wines and fit right in lol

Congratulations @miryana! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @miryana! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!