Balinese Celebrate The 10th Fullmoon For A Whole Month! #BaliohBali

in #onartbali6 years ago (edited)

While I am hopping around in Vienna, enjoying spring and lots of electronic parties, my Balinese family is celebrating a very special Fullmoon at the Mother Temple Besakih with the view of Mount Agung.

"Good morning from Batur and Besakih", was the message I received today and the reminder of another incredible month long ceremony.

9b62d63b-0eac-49bc-85e1-a0056370a483.jpg

The 10th Fullmoon " Purnama Kedasa" is a good enough reason to go and pray from 9pm until the next day at 10am as I was told.

This special full moon is considered highly significant among Balinese Hindus. Known as 'Purnama Kedasa' in the local tongue, the day coincides with many major temples, celebrating in festive rituals, attended by thousands of devotees. The famous mother temple Pura Besakih, holds a unique ceremony known as 'Betara Turun Kabeh' on this special day, inviting the gods and deified ancestors for their blessings. A 'melasti' or purification pilgrimage usually takes place on the preceding Sunday, with processions carrying heirlooms and temple objects to sanctified water sources. - Source

I have been to many of those impressive, unforgettable happenings.

6cc3b7ef-4916-47b3-8a8f-689255ab9ea0.jpg

Procession of Betara Turun Kabeh ceremony which falls annually on the full moon (tenth month of Balinese calendar) sasih Kedasa at Pura Besakih is an expression of gratitude to the God, Ida Sang Hyang Widhi Wasa for the blessings of safety, health and prosperity that has been transferred to all creatures in the world. Led by 32 priests, thousands of Hindu devotees from Bali and other places in Indonesia will flock to Besakih Temple to observe the ceremony.

I was told that so many more people come out to pray than usual and the traffic total madness, to keep the Volcano calm.

eff62f35-f087-49c1-8597-05814dd6668f.jpg

Looking at those pictures, I feel truly homesick but some of you might know this by now. I will be back there October onwards again.

1a097c5c-061f-43dd-9ab0-c96e29a1a18d.jpg

I am a bit lazy those past days writing articles , so I keep also this one quite short and hope you love such impressions as much as I do.

I am out and about for another electronic fest here in Vienna :) celebrating SPRING!

Follow @onartbali as well because I will write many more stories about this fascinating island and its people and culture. There are many stories to tell after 16 years experience living there.

Yours @mammasitta

U5dsvACCa1QMKCy9WQ2KqVpKoWZcHAM_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

🙌🙌🙌

Amazing... That'd be such a cool thing to take part in! Never been to that part of the world I hope to make it one day. Hope you go back to Bali soon :D!

No life without Bali at least once :)

So I hear! Maybe at the end of this summer :D

That’s a great time to go! Not so hot
If you need help please ask me!
Facebook? Hahha

I like it hot and want to leave here when it starts getting cold! :D

What is facebook? haha!

I heard that crappy company makes us use the messenger service to keep in touch! Geeee! What a Data mess it is....anyways, After last freezing, grey winter I screamed out loud : NOOO moreeee 🙈

It was hailstoning here the other day, this is not supposed to happen on a Spanish island in April!

What good to See a post from you again! Even when it is short, I do appreciate it and it is important to know you are fine!

I’m in the mood again :) but just a little Bit

fantastic blog about a place I unfortunately missed going with my friends - but now it is on my bucket list! Too bad I caught this too late for resteem.

I get why you should be home sick....i'm also loving the view just starring at the pics.

I wish I would have more photos but I left a huge harddrive in Bali

A really beautiful and memorable celebration
You and the moon are the most beautiful thing
I wish you happiness

I love the moon!!!!! :)

Looks sooo fun! Absolutely amazing. I hope it keeps that volcano calm :) I would love to attend a festival like this

Volcano went to sleep again....I’m sure those praying Balinese helped to keep their Gods& Goddesses who love in that mountain very happy. They have been very angry they said

Hiii @mammasitta, Always Love to seee your article. What about your health, hopeful for your better health. nice shots taken about cultural festival. happy to listen about your happiness and enjoyment with family. Best wihes for you.

That’s sweet to see you again and matur suksama for all your wishes 🙌

Hello @mammasitta, nice festivities I can see from these pictures, most times such occasions reminds us of our roots, keep enjoying your spring.

Best wishes from your boy @royaltiesboss-eu

So beautiful photos! Following @onartbali too, from now on...

So toll wenn mir mein Ex immer diese Bilder schickt :)

Interested in experiencing this rare event and its cultural highlights in Bali? Don’t worry it last until April 21 or if you missed out this year’s, Next year’s Betara Turun Kabeh will fall on March 21, 2019 and April 7, 2020.

Amazing tradition, and the photos are just cool! Do you know anything of the significance of the 10th full moon?

This is Made’s message After asking
I also added more info in the article

The ceremony is usually started with Melasti, or the purification procession for ritual paraphernalia. The destination of Melasti is selected at a nearby source of holy water, Tegal Suci 14 km south of Besakih Temple.
Another prestigious ceremony, called Ngusaba Kadasa, will be held at Pura Batur in Kintamani, Bangli regency on the same night of the full moon, the ceremony has same meaning symbolizes the peoples’s desire to be free from the shackles of darkness, including the darkness of the mind.

Mount Agung in Karangasem regency in East Bali closed for hiking and other activities starting from March 12 through April 13 to make way for one of the most special Hindu rituals in Bali.
During the ceremony, Balinese Hindus will invite Ida Betara (deities) to descend to the Pura Besakih complex, which consists of temples Pura Kiduling Kerteg, Pura Ulun Kulkul and Pura Batu Madeg.
However, both foreign and domestic visitors are able to visit Pura Besakih to witness one of the most elaborate and important Hindu rituals.

Amazing!

Good question! I could write another article about this but first I need to doublecheck with my Ex what he has to say. He could always explain it so well but to be honest sometimes they don’t even know why hahha.....it’s a “culture” not a religion

I like to enjoy fullmoon also.
I just spent one night with fullmoon in my whole life.
I wish to spend another fullmoon night with my girlfriend.
Thanks for the post @mammasitta

How sweet!!!! Thats a good way to celebrate Fullmoon indeed!

Have fun at the electronic fest @mammasitta!
It's one of the first beautiful days over here as well. Happy Spring!

Yes yes!! Finally getting warmer

Interesting event, it is good that in our time, honored customs and rituals. The photos are very beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

I miss those festivals!!!

Wow that’s really amazing. I hope I can go to Bali one day.

Are you originally from there?

No! I am originally from Vienna Austria but left at very young age to move around in circles. Ended up in Bali to raise my daughter for 16 years after New York City and a few European towns.

Wow that’s awesome. So your like Austrian with a Balinese Heart ;)

Hahha! Oh well my heart collected many pieces of the world :)

A travelers heart.
Klingt auf englisch schöner als auf deutsch ;)

Wow amazing blog post great work dear,awesome work as usual.

Thanks much

wow this is really amazing

this is a great festival. Which come once a year. This is very beautiful

Wow that's so magnificent to watch out so cool pics :D amazing day

In my opinion, the environment is so lively and i hope you'll enjoyed this festive time and it have epic essence and the add on value of this post is the mountain view which is really breathtaking to watch. Thanks for sharing and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

Coole Tradition! Was sind diese langen gebogenen "laternenartige" Objekte am Strassenrand?

Hmmm...wie erklären? It’s a very special style of decoration, typically handmade offerings, created by women as well as men of each village. They make those for each house & their temples to welcome Gods&Godesses

Very interesting photos and fascinating story, @mammasitta

I haven't even heard of Pura Besakih now thanks to your photos I've even looked at this miracle. Thank you very much!

It’s the Mother Temple and largest one in Bali

Thank you, now I'll know.

Hello dear @mammasitta! Did not this holiday take place in March? It seemed to me that he was before our April Easter(s)?

its not a holiday....its a celebration for the 10th Fullmoon. Every month they pray for Fullmoons but this one is very special.

Perfectly! You make me an enlightened man!

In my language, the words holiday and celebration have about the same value. I hope you did not think that I'm ignorant? )

Oh nooo :) I did understand

This pictures are awesome......
..indeed a joyous celebration
You know this thing's are actually necessary and they contribute to human wellness and happiness.
The different colors shows that the culture is rich, I need no one to tell me that.
You really had good times...
Thanks for sharing with us.

Such a unique island with wonderful traditions to respect and appreciate our universe

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Please check the new rules of the Daily Spotlights!

Good morning @mammasitta
It seems like you're enjoying a great festival there.
That was really awesome and your photgraphy was cool too.
Have a nice day : )

I think you did not read my article :) but thanks anyways!

Yes I read your article. I knew that people have to pray for that festival from 9 pm to 10 am .
But i told you that cause here was morning . I'm sorry for saying that . Please don't mind, cause i didn't meant that actually.
Thank You.

I wrote that I am enjoying spring in Vienna,Austria while my Balinese family celebrates :) No worries

The amazing your posting, thankyou to sharing in steemit,

Matur Suksama!!!

it's an amazing celebration, and a great culture, good luck

wonderful indeed!

Yes,thanks

Well I was not aware of such a tradition :)

It sure seems pretty nice by the way and the way it seems it sure is a popular occasion around .
The belief of people and their prayers so that the volcano stay calm that is indeed great !I respect that .

While have some great time out there !

Much more reasons! This is only one!

A series of rituals were held at Pura Besakih prior to the Ida Betara Turun Kabeh ceremony, including the Tawur Agung Kesanga exorcism rite held on the black moon, or Tilem Caitra, of the ninth month in the Balinese calendar, and Tabuh (Tawur) Gentuh.
Ida Batara Turun Kabeh normally offers rituals at the ceremony, such as mapeselang and ayun widi.

I added more info also in my article to explain better

its just awesome cultural celebration

fentastic celebration of your program in your community,,great

before I ask. first I apologize.friend @ mammasitta it is where the origin @mammasitta karna I see the mountain of Merapi itu.saya also missed the same hometown @mammasitta good post

I am originally from Vienna Austria but lived in Bali for many years ( 16! ) Now I am back to take care of my mother but I still have family on the island

the scenery on the mountain batur is very beautiful. and i am very amazed.postingan bagus sahabat @mammasitta.

matur suksama :)

Thats very different!!! Has nothing to do with Fullmoon ceremonies :) but nice!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!