Hey! Did you know? There's a weekly Steem Open Mic contest!

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Are you a musician? Singer? Rapper? Karaoke dabbler or GOD? Maybe even a spoken word poet? On its 34th week now, hosted and partially funded tirelessly by @luzcypher for the better part of a year, the Steem Open Mic contest has rewarded many talented musicians and artists.

But I realize that not everyone on the platform has noticed the contest. It could benefit from more eyeballs, and it would be greatly enriched by more participants!

Want to enter? Visit the latest contest post, week 34, to see the expectations for entry and then record yourself doing what you'd like to do!

This can mean your own original song, a cover of a song, or even just a jam. It's open ended, @quinneaker even won first prize for a didgeridoo jam! Be creative and feel free to experiment if you want. All genres welcome.

Way back when, @luzcypher started the Steemian's Open Mic Night contest, with the posts' rewards going to the winners. After seeing the success that @jamtaylor's Steemit Photo Challenge brought to promotion of photography on the platform, I offered to add funding to it in week 2. Not long after that, I started offering STEEM bonuses to those who recorded their original works.

Right now, I'm donating 200 STEEM (about $225 worth currently) weekly for the prizes. And I've been giving away at least 100 bonus STEEM weekly, distributed to those who share their original stuff. @luzcypher has generously added 100 STEEM to the pot weekly for as long as I can remember too. All SBDs earned from this post will go to @luzcypher to use or spend at his discretion. And the SP earned will be added to the pile that I send STEEM from.

Links:

Open Mic Week 34 - Record Your Performance On Your Phone, Enter And Win Steem

Open Mic (Micrófono abierto) Semana 34 – Registre Su Rendimiento En Su Teléfono, Entre y Gane Steem

(en español)

List recent Open Mic posts by Trending

List Open Mic posts by order of creation

If this contest is up your alley, please join in and participate! There are lots of ways to.

If you think it's cool, and/or you like the music, please browse the posts and upvote what you like!

Do you know a musician, on Steem or not, who might want to participate? Show them the contest post! Let's get some more of Steem's rewards going to some musicians :)

Finally, follow @luzcypher so you can see the winners and the new Open Mic Night posts! Again, all SBDs earned by this post will be given to him to use at his discretion.

Sort:  
There are 3 pages
Pages

Very cool of you @pfunk to help promote Open Mic as well as sponsor it for so long. People really seem to be having fun with it.

Here is what some people have said about Open Mic.

  • It's great to post in Open Mic again, it was one of the reasons I joined and stayed here on steemit. - @kuttmargo
  • I had no idea that the Open Mic Contest had even been created and had discovered it in the second week of its progress when @luzcypher had graciously reached out to me and invited me to join in. I was pretty excited since I hadn't had the opportunity to do open mics as of lately being so busy but now I had my chance to showcase more of my music on this wonderful platform as opposed to just posting up videos on Youtube, sharing them on Facebook, and not getting much feedback. - @verbal-d
  • oh man i love open mic so glad to be back over here listening to the fresh stuff, every entry was fantastic this week, loved the painted black sounded like a plane was about to crash at the very end in the back ground had me crackin up! @tfeldman that was a great performance and also @ik666 with the looper very cool. The green sleeves on the classic guitar was beautiful and I absolutely loved that pure vocal acoustic rendition of one of my favorite 4 non blondes songs. ! great line up - @soundlegion

So come on over and have some fun playing and singing music on Steemit.
And @pfunk you have been so awesome with your continued, enthusiastic support and as far as your generosity expressed in your post here:

All SBDs earned from this post will go to @luzcypher to use or spend at his discretion.

I will use it to pay it forward and increase the rewards to the Open Mic contest. Thank you.Upvoted, Resteemed, Tweeted, added to forums and added to the Open Mic contest post.

JUST IN: I started an Open Mic contest on Steemit and its in its 34 week. This week 4 time platinum recording artist Paul Carter, aka, @thisisbenbrick played a song for Open Mic. Awesome.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@thisisbenbrick/open-mic-week-34-benbrick-love-john-lennon-cover

Thank you for Having an Open Mic!!! How amazingly Steemit. I can't wait to see the past entries. SOOOOO much to catch up on.

Thank you -- you are appreciated

You guys are siiiiiiiiiiiic I am just digging into the good shit and its YOU. Dank

Thanks and welcome. Come play or sing something

I would love to... im soooo busy ive been on steem tooooooo much im loving it... https://soundcloud.com/kylewebster msg me on steemit.chat sometime ill check back w ya

RS and UPVOTED!

Thank you!

Very cool my son plays the saxophone .

Ask your son to play some sax for Steemit Open Mic

Nice ! I play saxophone too some times for the openmic conteste. I would be glade to hear him !

I second this MoonMod! Much wisdom that one has....

@pfunk thanks for the upvote in ben's post. I really appreciate it -- I love the concept of curation, but I would gladly give kudos, with no reward :) You rock!

Great Contest! Thinking on participating..hmm
but, is this open for different languages? We really have cool songs from our dialect. xD
Upvoted and Resteemed!

Yes! It's very open, any language, any genre. Do what you do best :)

Of course, music is the universal language. What language would you be posting in? Here are the rules in Spanish.

THIS is the reason I joined steemit. The open mic has seriously been so important to me as a musician! It's amazing to get to share my original songs with such a great supportive community.

That's awesome to hear!

Hi all! just started on Steemit and the first thing I see is this open mic post! Seems exciting so I'll be entering for fun. also I RS and upvoted.

Wwlcome to Steemit and come play us a song.
Here are the rules for Open Mic

Welcome to Steem! Looking forward to it. Thank you for the resteem.

Love open mic, I steemed and then I steemed again.

Thank you for the resteem!

resteem!
and I'll try again! :D

Thank you much! Looking forward to your next entry :)

Just steemit, steemit, steemit, steemit
No one wants to be defeated
Showin' how funky and strong is your fight
It doesn't matter who's wrong or right
Just steemit, steemit
Just steemit, steemit
Just steemit, steemit
Just steemit, steemit
Bad-Tour-Beat-IT-michael-jackson-7627503-600-401.jpg

upvoted and resteemed best of luck to all participants.

Thank you very much for the resteem

Upvoted and re-steemed! This is a great concept, and the first I am seeing about it.

Awesome news... thanks for the update. Upvoted and resteemed!

Hey @marketexpert and welcome to Steem! Thank you very much for the vote and resteem

Awesome! My friend and I are workin on some original music to release very very soon. We would love to bring it to steem and see what people think!

Hi all! First time on steemit and this open mic post is the first thing I saw. It seems very exciting and I will be entering for fun. RS and upvoted. can't wait to see all the awesome entrys

Awesome, thank you for the resteem :)

Thanks for all you do for openmic @pfunk! RS'd...

Thank you, I really appreciate it! Your first resteem :)

openmic is great fun here on steemit and encourages community bonding through music. great great stuff. Im a huge fan and enter every chance I get. Massive ups for this post to @pfunk and for all you do for openmic and the open mic community

Big fan of your music @soundlegion.

BIG ups its good to hear a language I speak on here @soundlegion im following @tfunk follow @luzcypher +followed up Bellingham WA is watching

I did know it existed, but had not seen a post for a while, so I was wondering if it was still going on... Now that I know, maybe I should post one of my drumming session on a Pan-Art Hang tuned with a Chinese tone called Yu-Diao, or the jam on a propane tank tuned to a Balinese scale?!?

They don't have lyrics, per se, but they sure sing... Namaste :)

Fresh performances are encouraged but that stuff would be cool to see anyway. :)

I recorded everything this weekend?!. :)

Namaste :)

This is a great contest,
I am gonna invite some musician, and show them this contest :)
this contest is much appreciable !!

Please do invite your musician friends

@luzcypher is the best! :)

Man ... you guys are freakin' awesome! ... Thanks guys for running openmic :)

Love your music.

Let me know if you want a translation to German or Spanish of this post! I translated his Open Mic contest post to Spanish already :)

Congratulations @pfunk!
Your post was mentioned in my hit parade in the following categories:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 3 with 700 upvotes
  • Comments - Ranked 7 with 93 comments
  • Pending payout - Ranked 2 with $ 981,64

OpenMic Baby!🎤
Major reason I'm hooked on steemit!
Thanks @luzcypher @pfunk...yall rock

Was skiming through steemit teaching my coworkers about it. Should have seen their faces when they saw this post's earnings. Thanks for converting about three new steemians!

Wow, fucking awesome! Welcome @swolesome's coworkers :)

I do have some friends that can sing. I'll try and show them the contest!

I AM GOD!! Or so the voices tell me...

Has this happened on one of the open mics yet?

Awesome idea, can't believe I didn't know about it til now. Will tune in

Lmao I really need to watch more of this show.

Great news. Thanks for this article :) Stay tuned! @pfunk @luzcypher

Amazing sharing.. :) @pfuck .. going to resteem or upvote. keep going

wow i did like and enjoy your report, it was very good

That is so rad man! Thanks for the share need to create a steemit song! Maybe in the coming weeks.. it will be fun.

I didn't know,
but now I know.
Nice to hear this :)

too cool... you're going to turn me back into patsy bisco

Se ve muy interesante, ya que las personas que quieran aprender música pueden hacerlo por este medio.

Music in my country is dangdut. What do you like?

I'd love to see you share it with us!

Yes i will try to do my best

I like it :)

I wish I could be there!!!! :(

I keep meaning to enter this but my one take magic I had when in a band seems to have deserted me long ago!

I'd love to see an entry from you! Maybe a few practice runs will shake off the rust :P

I'm practicing. I will do it definitely at some point!!

Wow, didn't knew these kind of things also happen on Steemit. Power of the community, eh!!!!

Awesome :) might have to finally get around to uploading some spoken poetry! Thanks for the motivation..

Mission accomplished :)

Wah, this contest is in great demand by music lovers and also to compete to show each talent. Unfortunately, I'm not talented in the music world.

To the participants, show off your talent ...
Good job @pfunk ^_^

a really nice job done by you

I sing but I don't know why I can't get myself to participate :p

Give it a try, you don't have to put your face in it.

Okay. Maybe I will.

I didn't know. But I'll check it out now! Cheers :)

Mission accomplished!

Yeah, that worked out well! :O

Cool contest! Sanchez will enter one soon...

Awesome, that's great to hear

Thanks for the post

You're welcome @geegitravel

Putting on my thinking hat and working hard on this ....

Ill win this.

Good spirit, and good luck!

@encryption you need to check this out.

There are 3 pages
Pages