WHY I AM REALLY EXCITED ABOUT STEEMIT AND THE PRICE OF STEEM RIGHT NOW

in #optimism8 years ago

Since STEEM is only worth about $0.13 USD right now, what is there to get excited about?

I think that there are two great opportunities that exist.

  • Buying Steem

  • Post Payouts

BUYING STEEM

With STEEM currently so cheap there is really no time like the present to consider buying some. I have not yet, but it's getting pretty enticing, and I may be thinking about it. When we consider how new of a cryptocurrency STEEM is and how new of a platform steemit is, they have accomplished a lot in their short time of existence, and I think that the future is bright. Remember, we are only in BETA mode so far and lots of great improvements have already been made.

POST PAYOUTS

Obviously, post payouts are down as far as overall value goes. Of the three options for how author rewards can be received, SD, STEEM, and STEEM POWER, nothing is even currently being paid out in SD. Personally, I like this fact.

The only thing that I have ever cashed out was SD, so I've still got all my STEEM. With the low value of STEEM, the amount that is being paid out right now in STEEM and STEEM POWER is incredible!

Consider this recent post payout that I had. The total amount at the time of the first payout was $10.82. Nothing incredible, but a nice payout these days to be sure, and one that others are capable of receiving as well. On the surface, there is nothing too stellar about that payout, especially once we consider that the author rewards were only $9.88.

With no SD payout, the amount of STEEM and STEEM POWER received is impressive though. The opportunity to gain a lot of STEEM POWER right now is incredible, even if you do not choose to be paid in 100% STEEM POWER. By the time that things change, a lot of minnows will already have become dolphins. I just topped 7000 STEEM POWER myself.

When it comes to STEEM though, I am really excited about the payouts. SD is always going to be worth around $1 USD, so there is not a lot of room to make money by holding it (other than the 10% APR), unless you use it to buy STEEM.

STEEM, however, fluctuates more.

This image above is to demonstrate that STEEM, in the recent past, was once over $4.00 USD and it is now less than $0.15 USD. The amount of STEEM on each half of the image are about the same, when we consider that over 25 STEEM at the current price are worth about what 1 STEEM once was. My example post payout would have gained me about 1 STEEM maximum before; now it paid out over 30.

If STEEM rose to $1.00 USD again, that post was suddenly worth more than $30.00 USD just in STEEM, not to mention STEEM POWER. If STEEM reached its record price again, I would have made over $130 USD from the "$10 payout" on my post.

I hope that this makes sense to you.

Basically, steemit is like a company that is giving away free stock to those who post on it. I'm not sure how low, or high, it will go, but I'm glad that I am getting some right now. If authors seeking bigger payouts have left the community, it just makes it easier for me to succeed.

Overall, this makes me very excited about steemit and the current price of STEEM.

So, from my unqualified, uneducated point of view on the subject, I would liken STEEM to these two girls here:


What does the future hold for them?


That's my guess.

They sure do look better up there (when they are representing the value of STEEM), don't they?

CLOSING

In closing, I've been having a great time on steemit and I am really glad to be here. However, I would honestly not be here except for two people. If you appreciate @papa-pepper and all that he offers, you may want to take the time to thank these two users.

The first is @noganoo. He introduced me to steemit and has helped me out a lot along the way. Since I used to spend very little time online and have no real background in cryptocurrencies or social media, I would have never came to steemit if it wasn't for @noganoo. He struggles to get posts out sometimes, but he has had some great ones in the past.


If @noganoo is the one who got me to steemit, @pharesim is the one who made me stay. @pharesim took an interest in my posts very early on, and if it were not for the encouragement that his upvotes brought me, I can honestly say that I would not have stayed very long.

If you appreciate the fact that I am still here, consider thanking @pharesim by voting for him as a witness on steemit.

He's got my vote for witness, and he's been active in supporting the international community on steemit for a while now too.



FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation.)

Sort:  

You're absolutely right. I was getting down on myself about how I'll be lucky to generate around $10 in post rewards right now, but thinking about how much actual STEEM you get from that - versus how much STEEM you would get from a post with $10 in rewards back when the price was at $4 per STEEM - is incredible.

Think about how much your curation power will go up if the price of STEEM goes back up! I've got around 3k SP at the moment, and it's not really worth much of anything in curation rewards. Meanwhile when I had only around 1000 SP and STEEM was trading at $4, I could upvote a brand-new article and give it anywhere from $0.02 to $0.04. Pushing up your SP balance now means when that price goes back up, suddenly you'll be a swingin' Dolphin instead of just a measly little Minnow.

Sticking around now and stockpiling STEEM/SP will benefit you significantly in the long run when the price of the cryptocurrency comes back up. Will we ever reach $4 per again? Maybe, maybe not. Who knows - maybe we'll take after Bitcoin and get into the tens or even hundreds of dollars in terms of valuation. Even if we don't, though, considering how you can gain STEEM and SP without actually investing any of your existing funds means that whatever the price rises to, it's all pure profit. Unless you invested at $4. In that case, well, better hold on for a while. ;)

Yeah, you got the right attitude.

We are rolling with this and seeing where it lands.

Keep it up, @beowulfoflegend!

I'm afraid I'm completely lost, I can never seem to grasp all this Steem and Steem Power and what this means when X, Y or Z happens, all I know is my wallet hardly gets anything in it anymore... But the fact @papa-pepper is excited can only mean good things, right?!!! Ha ha. I will re-read this tomorrow when I'm less tired, perhaps I will understand more then

Im with you! Lol! I love it even though i dont understand it! I just keep powering up any steem i get! 🕷🍊🕸STEEM ON! 👍😉

We can only do our best and keep our hopes up, right?! :-)

Oh I am very optimistic when it comes to steemit! The future looks very bright indeed! Steeming on, and powering up all the way! ♨✌♨👌♨

I appreciate your honesty.

I hope my excitement only means good things!

Basically, we are all getting more STEEM and STEEM POWER because it is worth less right now.

If the value increases, it will be better for us that if we had gotten a little STEEM that was worth more right now.

Thanks, I have just re-read your post and think I understand it better now! I really hope you're right about things improving... Not only do I really enjoy blogging and being involved in this community, I desperately want to make a bit of money too and be a stay-at-home mama to homeschool my boy... All fingers and toes crossed for good things to come!!!

Stay at home, homeschool mama?

I'm married to one of those.

And as far as making money is concerned moms like you are priceless!!

:-) Thanks so much. I had gathered enough from the things you post about to realise your children have a 'proper' education and learn about real things that actually matter! Good on you both, I'm glad your wife is able to stay home with them

Sorry to bother you with another question about the rewards on here, but I just saw my last post made about 14 dollars, so 11 went to me, but there's no dollars at all in my wallet from that. What's going on, do you know? I can't seem to find any posts the last few days on similar issues

Great post

I like your thoughts and have notice the same in the payouts

Upvote and resteem

Thanks.

I like you agreeing with my thoughts!

LOL!

I couldn't have said this better myself. Very nice presentation. :)

When an @intelliguy says that, it's a real compliment!

Thanks!

I see you have a lot of STEEM that you're holding. I can't recommend holding STEEM because you're being significantly diluted on a daily basis. This is because new currency is constantly created. STEEM is currently in a distribution phase which means new currency is being created much faster now than it will be in the future.

I'd recommend one of a few things:

  • Convert your STEEM to Steem Dollars on an exchange
  • Power Up (You're diluted far less when you hold Steem Power, about 94% less to be more exact)
  • Sell your STEEM for Bitcoin

since it's @papa-pepper you are talking to, let me add one extra option to him for you ...

  • Transfer all your STEEM immediately to me or any friend whose name starts with d but not dan. They will be treated with ultimate care and 100% security by powering up. No need to worry at all. You get to see one 104th of them each week if you miss them.

how do you like this one, papa!? :-)

Excellent advice for anyone willing to listen.

Let me know if it works.

Thanks for the tip!

Thanks for the advice!

I like the analogy. Steem as a currency is indeed like a young child, young and full of potential! I am also amazed at how quickly my Steem Power is piling up: I just passed 3000 SP with my latest purchase from Poloniex. Never thought I'd get to this point so fast; when I joined in August I figured I'd be lucky to reach half this amount by the end of the year. Just goes to show what an incredible chance people have right now to improve their standing before the price goes up again.

My latest purchase on Poloniex was about 500 Steem for 0.1 BTC. That's only $70. Amazing, considering that I paid 1 BTC for 400 Steem to kick start my account back when I joined.

Yeah, I think that we are only getting started around here, and I want to be in it for the long haul.

No way I want to trade 10000 STEEM for 2 large pizzas, you know?

Amen to that! I bet the Bitcoin pizza guy still has bad dreams about that decision...

Yeah, hard choice to live with, but if it wasn't for those pioneers showing that Bitcoin had some value, it would have never gained more value, right?

Spectacular! :-) resteeeming

i resteemed as well :)

Thanks @steveo!

I'll follow you for that alone!

me too!

Thank you Papa Prepper. I just got some more steem. Great price.

Great price indeed!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Thanks again.

I keep making those lists, don't I?

Yeah, you do :D

Great advice!
I've been setting my posts to 100%SP because I believe that it's going to rebound and the ones with hefty vests are going to win out. At least that's my hope.
I believe @shenanigator is correct about the dilution of STEEM. Don't hold onto it! Power up or convert it to SBD. To my knowledge, STEEM does not earn interest, but SP and SBD do.

Glad you're excited too, and thanks for the advice.

I attempt to post four times every twenty four hours.
I attempt to vote forty times during that same time.
I attempt to comment frequently...
Problem is...my comments re-power my vote stream.
My vote power seems to be infinite.
I have to vote like crazy to bet below 90%...which, it turns out, is NOT a bad thing.
A .001 vote here...a .002 there...some times a whole. Every vote is worth a little bit even thought it is not evident.
Some times a post garners a whole $1.00...it all adds up.
I'm attempting to gather up all the loose change that I can.
When the price goes up I'll be ready.

Gather up all that loose change and prepare for lift-off!

Well, let's thank @noganoo and @pharesim, for sure, then! In turn, I thank you for your posts that enticed me to join and your support while I've been here. Steemit has a great community and it will be fun to look back at this time, say in 2020.

You are truly such an excellent member of the community here, I'm glad that the stuff I was posting at the time you were looking at steemit helped convince you to join.

I almost forgot about that!

Keep doing what you're doing my friend!

I just need to do more posting, lol!

Yes, please do.

They are excellent!

Nice article, thanks for your thoughts about this topic!

I'm glad you think so.

I think that it is a good perspective to have!

@papa-pepper this makes absolute sense to me. Good work. Resteemed and I will now be following you!

I am glad it made sense!

Thanks for the follow, I'll follow back!

very creative. And good advice. Don't panic for the price.

Thanks so much!

I am glad that you enjoyed it!

You are amazing, a great Papa!

Thanks @reddust!

Nice to know that I have your encouragement!

keep on steemin!
thanks for sharing this and trying to keep people engaged/optimistic and from leaving the platform - we're just getting started folks!

That's right, we are just getting started!

Great post @papa-pepper. Although, I think that those two "girls" are really squirrels you dressed up like girls. No human could climb a tree that fast.

Dude, I played that in slow-motion so you could see them!

I don't think STEEM will just jump that high overnight, do you?

It did before, when it ran up over $4. But I would rather see the slow motion climb back up. Much more stable.

Good point!

I was wondering why it was paying out so much! Certainly not complaining though! Lol! But i still dont quite understand it, im very happy about! I just got a nice 56.00 and 57.00 payout! That was around a 20.00 payout! I almost get it, but not quite! Lol! Thanks for all the info! I just keep powering up! STEEM ON! 🕸🍊🕷 upvoted and reblogged!

Yep, keep it up.

I think it's all good!

resteemed of course!
hopefully you found your rocket.chat password :P

Yeah, you were right.

Riverhead helped me out and I'm back in.

BIG THANKS @steemitqa!

Very inspiring! I'm resteeming! Cheers

Thanks, and you just keep doing what you're doing!

We're about to be rich my friends, no joke. I see STEEM at $10 before the end of the year, and at 7.4 shares on the dollar, you'll be getting $74 for every $1 you invest right now. Penny stocks like this are very rare opportunities. Woop woop!!

I like your motivation!

Steem is like a young child, ready to grow and climb!

I've noticed the same thing recently, its super cool to be able to grow your account so quickly right now. If Steem continues to work out it is an incredible opportunity that may never come again!

Absolutely!

Take full advantage of that right now and build this community up!

Few days ago I bought Steem for the first time, selling 10 ETH I had - by now it looks like the first good move I took since I learned how to create a crypto-wallet!

Excellent.

Hopefully it'll pay off for you big-time!


Nice post
(Nice mustache, beard needs some work).
ahem
All seriousness aside.
IF I had any disposable income (beyond what I spend on whisky and ceegars)...I'd seriously consider spending it on Steem. I'm about half convinced that the value of Steem will skyrocket enough to make the previous $4 value seem insignificant.
.
But...I have no monies... and the FIRST rule of investment is to NOT invest anything that you cannot LOSE! I can't afford to lose anything ,so I PowerUP all the Steem that I get from Writing and Commenting. That will have to do.
.
I went from 0$ to $2100(SP) in two months.
IF the value of Steem was $4 then my account would be worth almost five grand. That would be good, but that's not the best that I heard. I've read that Steem is set to EXCEED BitCoin ($750 I think I heard?)
.
do the numbers....750 x 2100?
.
(faint....fall on the floor)

Simple math! A little on the speculative side, but I think you may be right my friend! Followed and ReSteemed!

I have a couple questions. I, too, am new to "blogging" and crypto, so I have a lot to learn. First of all, what is Beta? I see that a lot and wonder what that means.

And second, how do you vote someone as a witness, and what does that really mean? Thanks! I am trying to educate myself on terminology so I can be more proficient here on Steemit.

I need to answer this from my computer, not the mobile, but I'll respond.

Just be patient.

Thanks.