On winning the @dapplovers review a featured DApp contest

in #oracle-d5 years ago

My recent review of Steem Monsters was one of five winners in the latest @dapplovers review a featured DApp contest. This was an open contest run done in conjunction with @oracle-d.tasks and we were invited to write a post about our experience so I thought I'd focus on providing some advice that I've picked up from going through this process, in case anyone else fancies a go.

Screenshot 20190522 at 09.05.41.png

ONE - Follow the right accounts and post your entry link under the right account.

You need to follow @dapplovers to get the competition announcements, but you need to post the link to your entry under the corresponding @oracle-d.tasks post. Same competition, two posts from two different accounts you need to interact with. For example for this task...

I've now entered three of these competitions, and it's taken me three goes for this to feel normal. You'll also want to upvote and resteem the @dapplovers announcement post.

TWO: Read the @dapplovers competition post carefully - there are typically several specific requirements

For example for this competition (this is non-exhaustive) there were the following requirements...

  1. A word limit (although I ignored this for my winning post, probably not best practice)
  2. There's a recommended structure which suggests headings - e.g. 'how it works', 'pros', 'room for improvement' and a 'conclusion'.
  3. You must use high quality images
  4. You need to use certain key words and tags for SEO purposes
  5. You need to tag your images using the ![key words] function for SEO purposes
  6. There were social media sharing requirements
  7. You need to include a disclaimer
  8. You need to link to certain web sites.
  9. You need to include a star rating.
  10. Your grammar and spelling need to be good!

NB - there were more, this is non-exhaustive, and these may change for future competitions.

Three: Watch the @oracle-d requirements video

Watch this video and take notes on how to write an @oracle-d post. Probably the most crucial piece of information that many of the entries ignore is NOT to mention @oracle-d in any @oracle-d related post! This video will also give you a disclaimer example and tell you how to tag photos.

Four - check out some other winning entries and do what they do, but better

Check out the winning entries mentioned in the latest 'winner announcement' posts by @dapplovers - look for the ones with the highest %upvote from @oracle-d - the higher the vote, the better the quality, as a general rule.

Five: Write with a positive focus

This DApp review competition was all about reviewing a DApp AND PROMOTING that DApp - which means writing a generally positive review that people are going to want to read and which also which attracts them to the DApp. It follows that for this competition I wasn't going to do a negative review of something.

In fact this is something I've noticed in all three competitions - winning entries tend to review something with 4 or 5 stars, and reviews are generally positive, with criticisms being constructive. This doesn't mean you can't criticise, but there does seem to be a 'positivity requirement' to these reviews.

I would normally now put in a snarky comment about it thus not being a good idea to review a certain game I've been playing that's just a bit rubbish, but I won't mention it by name to keep up the positive vibe!

Six: Review something you know!

I actually started off with the intention of reviewing Decentraland, another featured DApp, because (funny story) I accidentally bought some MANA 18 months ago thinking I was buying something else, so thought this would be a good chance to get to know the platform. However, after 30 mins of digging around I realised that I couldn't really do anything on the platform, so I dug around for something else.

Thankfully @steemmonsters was on the list of featured DApps and I've been playing this for months, and I've got about $300 worth of cards, so it was quite easy to do the review because I'm confident I know how it all works.

Seven: Expect it to take you 5-6 hours to wrtie a decent review

Not much to say on this, but this is probably how long it took me in total (it was overly long). This includes all the tagging and Social Media work and proof reading.

I imagine the next one won't take as long. In fact, now i have access to the 0D closed tasks my first review through that didn't take 5 hours, so you do speed up once you've got the hang of it!

Eight - A final word on form

it's worth spending time making the posts look pretty. i actually write mine in WordPress because this allows me to make all the pictures the same size, I then cut and paste into a Steem editor and make a few further adjustments.

And spelling and grammar are part of form - double check these - for example it's Steem Monsters, two separate words! That's something else I learned during this process.

Final Final Word

Better than the always welcome OD upvote I received on the SM review post is being accepted onto the closed tasks writers list - I think @oracle-d is one of the best things on steem and they've absolutely got the correct focus on trying to get businesses to invest in steem and to get them to pay content creators on steem to write for them, happy to be part of that!

Congratulations also to other winners @dmilliz, @dedicatedguy, @ireneblessing, and @tanbay

Also, special thanks to @daan for encouragement and advice, you might like this post of this on how to improve your OD article quality (it's good!).

Image source -

https://www.flickr.com/photos/nlireland/6078681751/in/photostream/ (ticking the labelled for reuse box does limit one somewhat!)

Sort: