Origami - Omega Star Tutorial

in #origami6 years ago (edited)

Untitled.jpg
Decided to put up a better looking picture on top :)

0.jpg

The two stars on top seem structurally the same but one is made of 6 units(designed by Philip Shen) while the other from one(designed by John Montroll). In the last steps the two are almost identical since the difference is acquiring the structure which you shape in the end and the single sheet one can't completely close. These units are a bit more complicated to conceptualize but aren't that difficult to fold.

Here's the instructions for the simpler 6 unit model:

Fold the diagonals and halves
1.jpg
Fold towards the center from all four sides
2.jpg
Turn the paper around and pinch the corners to make this table-like thing.
3.jpg
Push the middle in connecting the four points.
4.jpg
Push to opposite corner inwards
5.jpg
Make five more
6.jpg
The idea is that there should be one on every side and the flat ends go into the pointed pockets
8.jpg
Lock in by pushing the flap
7.jpg
All six
9.jpg
Last step is the shaping which is done by pinching the corners over the diagonals(be careful no to rip the paper)
10.jpg

Here's the more complex model:
Diagonals and divide paper into an 8x8 grid
11.jpg
Fold corner diagonal
12.jpg
Towards the middle
13.jpg
Second square from top, repeat on the other three sides
14.jpg
It will look like this
15.jpg
Waterbomb base
16.jpg
Fold the left corner towards the right side flattening it out
17.jpg
Push across the middle diagonal(top right corner will go down)
18.jpg
Flatten the bottom flaps and cover with front layer and repeat on remaining three sides
18.5.jpg
Now we have to collapse the top
19.jpg
You'll have to spread the model out a bit to make the square top and the push it in collapsing the model again
20.jpg
This is a tricky part, you'll have to hide the bottom corners, you push them up reversing the folds
21.jpg
Open up the flap and insert
23.jpg
Lock down just like in the six piece model (repeat on other three sides)
22.jpg
This is what it looks like when the last steps are done, looks alot more like the dix piece one now, just push the top corners in
24.jpg
Repeat the crimping like in the 6 piece model
25.jpg

I decided to make a video of the more difficult model, making the setup was a bit complicated, I used around 10 books to lift my phone up, metal ruler to keep my phone in the center, a book on top for counterweight, tape everywhere. A sheet on the side so the book isn't seen in the video. There's a bit of shaking since the table isn't very stable and on a carpet.
Music is by Eric Satie, gymnopedie & gnossienne
26.jpg

27.jpg



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

This was a really fun project with some hardships to overcome but I'm glad I finished it. Thanks for stopping by :)

Sort:  

This is soooo cute and pretty!! Think I will try it too (the simpler model 😜). Thank you for the step-by-step tutorial pics. And I like the name Omega Star (to win against Death Star!).

Good luck with it :D

IMG_2462.JPG

my first attempt :P

Good job :D

Thank you :)

This is very inspiring @ivan-g.

I will definitely give it a go... The description is really clear. Thank you so much for making these accessible!

Thank you, good luck :D

Helloo @kristyglas @ivan-g this post is so instructitive and very clear. I made the 6 piece star.

IMG_20180608_195936.jpg

IMG_20180608_195914.jpg

Thank you and well done :)

Sweet! Thank you for joining ^^
I'll send you sbd soon

This is an incredibly sturdy model. It also spins nicely. I tried the single sheet version however it didn't work out so well and my paper size and thickness left a lot to be desired. This version is a lot of fun though.
20180608_220112_20180608220419836.jpg

It's a really interesting model, tbh the single sheet one is cool just because of the idea that something like this can be made from 1 piece, it's very flimsy and needs thin paper though. And using 2-3 colors looks awesome (completely forgot about that).

When you pair the colours so that they are facing each other you get a ring of that colour so that you have three intersecting flat planes which is interesting as it lets you see that the blue and yellow are kind of higgly piggly to each other not as flat and even as the picture shows. Thank you for the fun model. I'll definitely be making more at Christmas time in gold and silver.

Your omega star is very neat :)

Thank you.

Hi @ivan-g and @kristyglas thanks a lot for this post, i really liked this Omega Star!! this is the one that i did...hope you like it!!

IMG-20180607-WA0000.jpg

Awesome work!
I'll send you sbd in an hour, sorry have something to do first :)

Great job, really precisely done :D

This is really cool. I literally just went to Michael's to buy square craft paper so my kids could make these. Super excited for another fun summer activity.

Awesome, do the six piece one though, way simpler :D

First 3 (not counting @jamethiel) who post a photo of your result based on this tutorial will receive 0.5sbd from me (each) :D

I'll add 0.2sbd to anyone who makes one ^-^

Wow! I will have to try the smaller one, it almost looks possible...

Sweet! If you make it and share a photo, I'll send you 0.5 sbd ^^

If you get stuck tell me, gl :)

You are the star here👏

Wooo that great tutorial, I liked a lot, is well explained. I really liked

Thank you :)

These are so pretty and amazing! Wonderfu job, and it's great that you're bringing more beauty and art to the blockchain! 😊

PYPT-GOLD-ThanksForSharing.png

Thank you :D

I don't get the directions. Are these two different ways to do it? It seems like the video uses one piece of paper, where the top part of the directions uses 6 different pieces. I'm not sure how to link them togther. That step is a bit foggy....

It's two ways to do it, I made the video for the single paper one because it's harder.

here's a good video (linking at 3:40)didn't really know how to take photos of the linking :/

OK. Here's the grand finale! My 11-year-old daughter actually did this. She is apparently more talented in the paper folding department than I am....

Really well done, interesting paper :)

I like your daughter's work and choice of paper :) Pink is the color of passion!

Wow, thanks! This was really helpful. I will give this a try and send you photos when I'm done.

I wish I had the patience to build that Omega Star.

You can do it (^.^)/