You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 4 Months on Steem Performance Review! #7

in #oursteem7 years ago

Being a witness will ultimately become like being a politician. It will be necessary to sell to compete if Steemit becomes a more mainstream-like social media platform.

Whether this is good or bad is irrelevant; it just is.

Sort:  

@lexiconical, I've been avoiding using that word - policitian. I'd love Steemit to work. I really would, and I hope it doesn't need to sell to a mainsteam-like platform. If the whole witness thing just becomes like being a politician and Steemit is just a miniature world with it's own currency then yeah we're fucked. Of course it's a community now, and of course it sucks you in but it should be for the right shit - ie the content being fucking great. If it's not that then the platform is dead. While it's a community, it's not really a place for this bullshit, it's a place for photography, poetry, homesteading, advice, stories...whatever...creativity, not drama, bad vibes and bullshit content.

There's some great content on here, but let's be honest, that is regularly overshadowed by the absolute quagmire of shite. It's not often that I'm finding a host of articles to read. Is it because I'm not finding them? Maybe. Or is it because there's isn't enough? Yes. So we need new people to get creating! And good people, not just people here to spam and get bullshit money.

Someone will create something better with the same logic if things don't change course...

"hope it doesn't need to sell to a mainsteam-like platform."

Unfortunately, doesn't success for a social media platform almost always entail being somewhat mainstream? The more people I know on Steemit, the more awesome it is. I hope it supplants Facebook completely, and I will take the idiots on board happily to get them out of censorship and into the loving arms of Rationality (tm).

"the content being fucking great. If it's not that then the platform is dead."

I realize this sounds great to say, and I want to be true in real life, but Facebook and Twitter utterly destroy this line of logic. Can you support this claim in any way? All evidence points to the exact opposite.

"There's some great content on here, but let's be honest, that is regularly overshadowed by the absolute quagmire of shite."

Yeah, the article-finding interface is terribad. You have to follow specific authors and that is a LOT of work.

"Someone will create something better with the same logic if things don't change course..."

Here's to communies and HF20...

Thanks for a great comment!

There's some great content on here, but let's be honest, that is regularly overshadowed by the absolute quagmire of shite. It's not often that I'm finding a host of articles to read. Is it because I'm not finding them? Maybe. Or is it because there's isn't enough? Yes. So we need new people to get creating! And good people, not just people here to spam and get bullshit money.

Someone will create something better with the same logic if things don't change course...

It is because you are not finding them. I get that there is a lot of shyte posts on Steemit. I do manual curation and can literally spend hours finding good posts some days. Others
days I can find them through other sources. I don't like returning to the same sources as I'd end up sharing the same authors a lot. Even if they deserve to be shared, I want to help other less noticed authors too.

About the only way to avoid the shyte and spamming is through a system that approves articles, which means human eyes on them before they are released. That means labour intensive setup and takes away from decentralized and uncensored (except via community flagging).

Sometimes we have to take the good with the bad.

Couldn't agree more. Hopefully the "Communities" update foes something for the bad interface. At this point, you have to kinda just follow specific authors or slog through the junk. Bummer.

Thanks for explaining @lexiconical- I understand that in general, but have some concerns I might outline later or via direct chats. You are a good commenter I have to say @lexiconical - politically skilled too if that is the witness direction - thought the witness required different skill sets like tech knowhow but I am wrong it seems.

"but I am wrong it seems."

You're not wrong, I just think it may be that the role is changing as Steemit gets larger. I'm only commenting on what I see, not what I think should happen.

I personally think it would be better to have some witness diversity. A programming company isn't all developers, they need someone who can market too.

for real

Yes, there are rumors that some Witnesses are selling Witness information for cash. Very political imo.

I think these "rumors" were already confirmed.

Jerry will make streem great again. I think he is able to offer a lot of new ideas.

I think there's room for one trying out internet marketer witness. He got me here, at least, and he pledged most of his rewards away.