Outdoor Gear: Stoves

in #outdoors6 years ago

There is a huge variety of stoves available for hiking, camping, bushcraft or bug out bags and each has pros and cons.

But the two I use are the Bushbox XL made by Bushcraft Essentials and the Pocket Rocket made by MSR. Both are very effective and very well made.

Bushbox XL

CB1CE4DB-E045-490E-BCB9-5575A0DC85ED.jpeg

I love this stove it comes with an attachable grill and two trivets used to hold a pot or move the stove as well as a carry case it also folds down flat so is easy to pack and takes seconds to assemble the downside is it’s a little on the heavy side.

23DA72AD-528A-4988-8F16-F25B75793C3A.jpeg

This stove is my preferred day hike, bushcraft and camping stove, it cooks fast, uses twigs as fuel and is great if you want an enclosed camp fire without scaring the ground its made to last and doesn’t warp under the intense heat.

It's also a good bug out option stove because fuel is readily available and it leaves very little evidence of a fire.

MSR Pocket Rocket

D5217F5E-E4ED-443F-9CF2-3FCC94C6A219.jpeg

This stove is also very good and is my preferred stove for long distance hikes simply because it’s lightweight and easy to use both are very good attributes after a long day hiking when trying to get a fire going seems like a hassle.

B77D1291-65A8-4185-B894-6D699C7E075F.jpeg

It also packs small and the canister can be carried inside a pot to maximise space the stabiliser is a worthwhile add on item as is a wind blocker I personally just improvise.

The downside is it’s difficult to tell how much fuel you have left and I find myself on long distance family hikes carrying a small back up fuel canister. It also has to be noted that in cold temperatures gas is very unreliable you can buy different mixes of gas that are better in cold temperatures but it’s still not a reliable option.

These are my two personal favourites but there is a huge variety of stoves so do a little research and find one that suits your needs.

Sort:  

I hadn’t heard of the bushbox before, thanks for bringing it to my attention. I use a Jetboil mainly which I have found to be excellent. It’s limited to the gas canisters for fuel though which makes it less desirable as a bugout option. Twigs and leaves, or other combustible materials, are almost always available. Gas canisters may not be. You make some great points in respect of the gas canisters too.

Good post. I’ve given you a follow.

Thanks for the comments mate very appreciated and yeah the jetboil is a very popular choice I’ve looked at them myself. I have also looked at the MSR liquid fuel stoves for colder conditions but they seem to be more prone to problems and in some cases dangerous.

That bushbox looks awesome when it's lit up. I can see how the gas would be handy, I didn't know it could be finicky in colder weather, I'll remember that.

Yeah I found out the hard way about gas and minus temperatures when my stove and lighter failed me on a solo camp luckily I took the Bushbox and fire kit as back up but having to prep a fire in the dark while freezing was a lesson learnt lol

Congratulations @albaoutdoors! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @albaoutdoors! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!