You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's What's On The inside That Matters

in #outofthinair3 months ago (edited)

In August, after covid allowed me to come home and work in March (thank you covid(says nearly no one ever) for making it possible for me to work from home).....I climbed a ladder to change the burned out lightbulbs in my kitchen ceiling fixture. The ladder was very sturdy, but me being older and weighing more than I should AND the fact that I had a sometimes gimpy left knee already.... and the rungs were too far apart, I found the next day that I had further gimpified my left knee and worse than ever before. It also did not bounce back in a few days like through the previous years. D'oh !!!! Anyway, I had to adapt because for a while I could barely stand on it and definitely not for long. Part of my dilemma was cured by my rolling office chairs that were already here, in the parts of my house that have non-carpeted floors, which is all but the bedrooms, one of which I work in. Blah blah blah.... why the long story and ALL of that...?? LOL.....but I told that to say that in the mornings especially, when I wanted to bring my coffee and water and snack or breakfast back to my work desk, what a chore ! So, I bought one of the below rolling trays normally used by tattoo artists or nail salons that I could put my "stuff" on and roll ahead of me as I rolled my chair along with my feet.... and then across the carpet as I gimped the rest of the way to my desk. I have to say I considered myself a genius for thinking of such a thing and it has worked famously for me. Now, years later, I still use it every morning to push all my "stuff" from the kitchen and anything else along the way to sit beside my desk, even though I am getting around much more famously now. I put anything I use back on it during the day and when I get off of work, I push it back to the kitchen and unload it. It rolls really easily, barely any effort. There are probably cheaper versions than this, but this is what I have. Maybe if you don't think this sort of thing is for you, it might help you brainstorm another good solution.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07Z1WLGL8/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&th=1

Sort:  

Oh hell yes. Big shout-out to Covid for pioneering delivery. I can hardly remember what it's like to have to go get take-out.


F'ing genius. Never would've thought of it. Ok, so, I searched portable tray, remote control just now cuz only thing cooler than that would be a pushless one and I got a buncha TV remote control holders. For the couch cushion, a tailgate, arm of the chair, kitchen counter. I had no idea there's so many different ways to set a remote control down.

Talk about ME being spoiled ....I even have my groceries delivered ! I have been in a store or two for a quick one thing, but not for a full grocery order since the first few months after covid began. Working at home saved me money in other ways, so I used some of that to have my groceries delivered.... driver's tips and all that. I've grown quite used to it.

I didn't think of hunting a remote rolling tray. Do they exist? I have used this for so many things like when I wanted my labtop at my art table, safe from spattering paint and really.... so many things it can be used for along the way. Who knew I would ever need one of the rolling trays and would find it so useful at home?

My fav is Hormone Depot. That's what I call Home Depot cuz you know how all the chicks who work there wear tight ass pants and push their boobs out for the nearest general contractors.

Delivery, this is still Covid talk, serious.

Don't even need a truck anymore and it's all free. 16 foot lumber, a pack of thumb tacks, doesn't matter, delivered to the door.


Only thing is produce. Fish, too, I guess. You have either of those delivered? What's the trick? No one takes the time to find the good ones, understandably.

I don't buy much fish from the regular grocery, but sometimes some frozen. There is a small garden market and butchery not too far from my house, no bigger really than a convenience store and if I want fresh fish, I will go there. The produce I still let the grocery store bring me. I admit I get something that is not as good as it should be once in a while, but I can go online and put in for a refund and they have never given me any hassle over it. I then go online to do reviews and complain that they have not trained their shoppers to give delivery orders the best produce available (while I wonder if that is the best they had) and I then do their survey they send after each order and make sure and complain there too ! LOL.....That's what it's there for ....right?

I know that means I still don't have what I wanted, but there is another store closer (a little more expensive) that I can have a small order brought in or shopped for pickup and if it was really important, I will do an "after" order there. The second store uses insta-cart and those folks get rated on their shopping and delivery and their job depends on it, I have had generally good luck over all.

I figure that is just part of getting groceries delivered. It's almost hard to complain when I haven't lifted a finger except to bring the food in from my front porch. How spoiled is that ????

I feel bad coming back with this character count after that explanation but you, young lady, I don't know if you need any new parts but should you need to, you're prepared.