You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: So I Recently Began This Thing Where I Take

in #outofthinairlast year

I don't care what the health benefits are, but I'm a ninny when it comes to a cold shower, even in the heat of summer!
But like you say @dandays, there are many who don't have the luxury of running water!
No wonder you feel out of sorts with all the moves!
But... the photo are simply stunning!

Sort:  

Oh sweetest Lizelle, again I begin by apologizing. Sorry I put you through those curse words.

Thanks for keeping an eye on me. I hope this finds you well. How's the Air B&B'ing these days, are you having guests often?

It seems most everyone agrees with you on this one and I'm nuts!

Thank you.

I don't blame you one little bit about using curse words when it comes to atrocities like that, seems like some governments want to take us back to the dark ages!
As for the bnb...I must apologize on behalf of your airbnb hosts in Portugal ...wink wink...could not resist that...for the cold water! We aren't getting many leisure guests since the natural disaster of April, the sea water at Durban's main beaches had/still have high e-coli levels because of sewerage spillage following mudslides... We had a short lull but are now being kept very busy with guests coming for weddings, birthdays, illnesses, sadly sometimes followed by funerals, business, the reasons are endless but what is keeping us really busy, is the local training centre, a huge blessing!
We have a massive energy crisis so have 2-hourly outages called loadshedding, thankfully the water stays hot, for now, but the forecast is that this is going to become a disaster, not just an energy crisis! Younger skilled people are running across the waters as government corruption has drained the coffers!
Our son leaves for Netherlands in Jan, wants us to follow once he's settled but our roots are planted very deeply here...we'll see what the future holds!
You take care of yourself and your Pura @dandays xxx

I'm the biggest liar on the blockchain if I said I expected that.

Not sure if I should admit it or not but apparently I'm spending so much time paying attention to other worldly noose I haven't caught a single piece about e-coli and corruption where you're at. I had no idea.

Bad enough your son has had enough.. That's a tough decision to leave your family, conditions must be terrible. I hope it works out for him. Does he know people there? Anyone? How interesting.

The surfers all go up or down the coast as the city beaches are affected. Those mudslides were just hectic, our road is still not repaired, our neighbours cannot rebuild their garden cottage as insurers don't cover reinstatement of land, so they've had to use the money for building retaining walls, fencing etc. Their cottage is no more, only the foundations are left so it may just be paved & become extra parking. Their neighbours cannot rebuild their house, also insurance shortfall, so are selling it as is & plan to move to their daughter in Ireland, once she's settled (she only moved there last year)
Our son's employers (Israeli based) are slowly moving out of SA, so he's going to their Utrecht branch. Has spoken to some of the guys there.
That's my Friday story xxx

You know anyone who reads that will wonder why you're staying, right? Right. Bleak picture. I hope things change real soon. Unfortunately, one thing life has taught me is things only get gradually worse.

Utrecht. Pura and I had such a great time in Amsterdam. Has he ever been to Netherlands? Such a nice community. And tall, too!! Anyone ever mentioned that to you? I'm a little over 6 foot so all through EU and UK especially, I feel particularly tall. We'd often mention it out loud to each other how maybe it's the lack of Vitamin D but for whatever reason, the men are short.

Not Netherlands! I'm not making this up, even urinals in public toilets are a little higher than most in Netherlands. = }

Now that I think about it, @thebigsweed is Nordic and he's like 6-4 if I'm not mistaken.

My son won't have a problem with the urinals then 😜, he's much taller than his dad. His great grandpa was German & great grandma Norwegian, he must have inherited more of their genes as he was a tall man.
He's never been there before, is flying us over in May for my beeeg birthday so we can see the tulips, if things go according to plan.
It's pure greed by those in authority that's brought our country to this state.
For now we still have our little haven, & it's not all bad, but basic services like power, water, sewerage, roads and health and...and...are all falling down. The tourist destinations are still great, but getting there one is faced with roads that at are in a poor state. The big resorts all have costly electricity backup and water supplies. It's the poorest of the poor who suffer the most with unemployment. I'm painting a bad picture but things have just gotten worse ever since covid!
But we still have much natural beauty around us, for which we are thankful,
Have yourselves a great weekend @dandays!

..my beeeg birthday

Happy 40th!