Sort:  

Someone contacted me by email to say they did not know why their post got flagged. I could not tell either. They said they had left a comment somewhere and got no response. I said to try discord and this worked and now they re not getting flagged. I do not know why the flag dropped in the first place or if they needed to change anything for future posts. I only know - problem solved by discord communication.

Seriously not interested in telling you. I have had a good 300 horrible conversations with little people in discord, comments and email since the fork and many have left. If that person wanted to be open about things it would not be in my email like so many others have sent me in the last two weeks. This is the downside of spending my STEEM life on minnow tips when so many are dying now.

I thought you've been living off Steem for quite a while now.

Also, I'm asking because like you, I'm a community oriented Steemian, so it's good to have feedback from the community. I'm also asking because I never heard of a minnow coming and raising an issue on our discord and us removing an unfair downvote, and without a name, this is just a story.

All I've heard about the newsteem is people saying how happy they are since a lot of previously delegated stake to bidbots is now manually curating. There are a lot, seriously A LOT of good content authors getting a lot more rewards than pre hardfork, so I find it hard to believe what you mention about hundreds of authors leaving.

I have a post coming about this topic - not outing anyone, but I have been told at least 20 times that people are afraid to post at all since they have not idea why flags are flying.

Yes we did lose hundreds, @nomadsoul. I enter contests on at least 60% of my posts. I am winning most of them now since no one else is entering. I'm winning contests I have never won before in a year+ of entering them.

I cannot even tell you how many minnows/redfish have thanked me for my minnow tips as they give up and leave out the door. The glee of the bigs (still all voting each other) is hard to take when your 50 cent reward dropped to 20 cents or less and your hard fought 1 cent vote dropped back to zero again.

A really good person told me today her rewards dropped again this week after already dropping last week, and she has no idea what to do.

I am a @freewritehouse "encourager." This means I go to the Sunday posts, read them and give the people the Monday prompt. I used to have 20-25 people to encourage each week. Last week I had 10. This week I had eight. Freewriters are dedicated bloggers with great work and who care. Now they are gone.

  • I do bounties - I am getting great payouts since no one else is answering.
  • I do dPolls - they are less than half of what they were.
    On and on the carnage goes...

This has been the hardest two weeks of my steeming life even though my personal rewards are up slightly.

I won 50 STEEM in a contest with my not-very-great posters since almost no one else entered. For a contest with that high of a payout - WTH?

@anomadsoul:
I would like to point out a general misunderstanding. The rules on this platform, contrary to the #newsteem, find no consensus. These are rules based on the acceptance of community drivers who have appointed themselves to improve the ruleset. Whether this is a good or a bad set of rules is irrelevant because it doesn't seem to be the whole audience behind it.

It would be as if the parties who have devised a set of rules in a democracy, of which they now want to assume that if a general mood is emerging that these will be accepted, would represent the confirmation of this set of rules. In so doing, they proceeded in such a way that they do not even allow themselves to be nominated for election, but prefer the affirmative voices to those who do not confirm them. An election without an election. But every educated person who grows up in a modern civil society knows and demands that there should be an official election that reflects in facts/figures what mood is supposed to be. Without this official mandate, which can be given by the user community to those who are the rulebook creators, there will be no consensus. One could, for example, declare the tag "ocd" or "steemstem" or other community tags as binding, to which the individual content producers commit themselves according to the rules, the moment they use this tag (though I haven't thought that through, just an example). Without this commitment, no one will agree to see their content down-voted. Negotiations in the back rooms (discord) are laborious, tedious and time-consuming.

So either a #newsteem team has to take the time to inform manually every single user about the downvote, to justify it and then to go into a possible, resulting dispute, which, if we are honest, exceeds the capacities of most of us here. Or the community management is officially running for office in order to retain the mandate of the individual and to avoid backroom debates or comment section debates.

In addition, no one will be able to assess individual actors: to whom do they belong? Whose minds child are they? Individuals who refer to rules that supposedly have found consensus here will never be taken seriously, no matter how much content is loved by one and hated by the other.

Yes, my question was aimed to who's that someone :)